SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 56,183
Products 3,201
Reviews 20,607
Views 6,182,445

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« December 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


R89_Rosegold.jpg
Muhle R89 Rosegold S


thumb_BadgerBrushes1.JPG
1904


thumb_001.JPG
King of Shaves Azor


thumb_bigbenblue.jpg
Gillette Sheraton O


thumb_bulldogasb.jpg
Gillette Tech Early


R89TWIST2_2_1.jpg
Muhle R89 TWIST

· more ·
 



self_heat_mask1.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Beard Preppie
Posts: 81
Registered: September 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO

 

Feather 'Popular' Safety Razor
Reviews Views Date of last review
31 8351 Tue April 15, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $17.49 7.0

 

Description:
I have both all metal D/E razors and the Feather Popular which is composed of both metal and plastic. I kept going back to the Feather and now use it exclusively.



The general consensus is that the quality is poor. I feel that "quality" is a relative term. You can not really compare this particular razor to all metal razors because it is not all metal. For what it is, being both plastic and metal, it feels like and looks like it is well manufactured. The base of the head is plastic and this includes the safety bar. The silo doors and hinges are all metal. The doors open and close smoothly and tightens the blade down frimly. The blade is properly set and aligned.



The weight, though it is light, makes the razor feel well balanced between the head and the handle. The handle is also plastic and long and has a good grip. The handle feels like maybe there is a metal rod inserted inside the handle but can not comfrim this.



My only question would be the "durability" of the razor. These sell on the internet anywhere from $10-$20 with an average price around $15. For $30 one can buy a decent all metal razor that could last several years. It is hard to say how long a Feather Popular razor will last.



So I would not recommend this razor so much as an economical choice as I would because of the smooth and close shave I get and no razor burn. Keep in mind that I have a medium to light beard. This may not work as well on heavy beards.
Keywords: Feather 'Popular' Safety Razor

<<
R41a.jpg DSCF2816_red-tip_small.jpg

 

Author
jimk2000

Beard Preppie

Registered: September 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 81
Review Date: Tue September 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 8
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
I have both all metal D/E razors and the Feather Popular which is composed of both metal and plastic. I kept going back to the Feather and now use it exclusively.



The general consensus is that the quality is poor. I feel that "quality" is a relative term. You can not really compare this particular razor to all metal razors because it is not all metal. For what it is, being both plastic and metal, it feels like and looks like it is well manufactured. The base of the head is plastic and this includes the safety bar. The silo doors and hinges are all metal. The doors open and close smoothly and tightens the blade down frimly. The blade is properly set and aligned.



The weight, though it is light, makes the razor feel well balanced between the head and the handle. The handle is also plastic and long and has a good grip. The handle feels like maybe there is a metal rod inserted inside the handle but can not comfrim this.



My only question would be the "durability" of the razor. These sell on the internet anywhere from $10-$20 with an average price around $15. For $30 one can buy a decent all metal razor that could last several years. It is hard to say how long a Feather Popular razor will last.



So I would not recommend this razor so much as an economical choice as I would because of the smooth and close shave I get and no razor burn. Keep in mind that I have a medium to light beard. This may not work as well on heavy beards.

------------------------------
"When you have two competing theories which make exactly the same predictions, the one that is simpler is the better."

Occam's Razor
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Areler67

Styptic Addicted

Registered: November 2006
Location: Luxembourg but Belgian (Walloon)
Posts: 1937
Review Date: Fri October 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 8
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 9
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
I bought this Feather razor last May in Antwerp but yesterday I decided to give it a try.

Mine was 20 Eur which I think was a bit expensive but It was so difficult to find that I decide to pay the price

Even It's a plastic razor, the quality is there : mecanism, quality of the plastic, elegant razor....Anyway you are often happy with Japanese quality.

This razor is not so heavy but perfect for have a quick shave or a slower shave, It's as you want

It's all black and the long handle is perfect for my face + It's not aggresive at all ( I used a Derby blade with it and It's a perfect conbo)

If you want to try something else, try this Feather and you won't be disappointed !
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Hobbes

Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: November 2007
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 10
Review Date: Sun November 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
I bought one of these just after finding this forum. It was one of two DE razors available in my local supermarket, and I liked the opening mechanism for loading the blade. It reminded me of a razor my Dad used to have.



Using this, along with the Feather blades it came with, I've been getting great close shaves, and no nicks so far. I've been wet-shaving for years, but I'm new to DE razors. I like it very much, although I now have a Merkur on order, and, like a previous poster said, I'm looking for a durable razor to grow attached to. For me, that really means all metal. Having said that, the Feather razor is quite solid-feeling, and it seems like it will last for a long time to come!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lamina

Floris Gump

Registered: January 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 947
Review Date: Tue June 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 9
Adjustability:
Balance: 9

 
What we have here?? A nice razor, of course!! Just as all plastic objects (handle and guards) some guys have the tendency to judge it before using it...there is lack here, yes, but not of quality but of public image and advertising. This product have twice the work to do:first to fight general prejudice then to impose on the markets of DE shaves because not widespread on the shelves.



Anyway that said, the razor delivers a nice BBS shave with a Feather DE or even a Derby. No pressure on it and it will do an wonderful job.



Quality: very good on his league of course. First, i do not compare it with a metal razor. On plastic razors is superior to any Mach, Sensor and so on.



Non agressive on me.Light as a Feather.



Grip: nice too. Non slippery even with soap on my hands. But who cares, i wash the soap and dry my hands as all other razors when i shave myself.



Blade replacement: nothing to say, as any TTO.



Aggressiveness: none, daily shave on the morning.



Balance:perfect for a razor of its weight. Smooth, well balanced on head, it glides naturally.



I will recommend it to a newbie or expert wetshaver!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BoldSpice

Beard Preppie

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 82
Review Date: Thu June 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
Can't fault the build quality. The blade alignment is spot on, unlike what I've seen with Parker and Merkur razors.



I like the long handle; it has a good grip. It's even longer than my Merkur open comb long-handle. Recommended for other people with big, clumsy hands!



I tend to nick myself with razors from time to time, but never have with this. It gives a close shave, yet always feels quite mild. I tend to use Chinese Dinosaur blades and Flying Eagles (both are smooth blades = very like Derbys).



I bought it for my girlfriend to use, but she prefers the Merkur open comb that I mentioned. Even so, I think the Feather has all the properties you'd look for in a lady's razor.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
groomingguru

DE Envious

Registered: May 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Review Date: Sat June 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 8
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability:
Balance: 7

 
Now I know what everyone means by short strokes, NO-PRESSURE and go slow.



Today was the first time using a double-edge razor (Feather Double-Edge "Popular"), coming off of a Gillette Fusion. I did manage a couple of nicks, nothing bad though.



I must say, after finishing the shave I noticed that I actually did get a closer shave than with the Fusion without irritation or bumps. I used less pressure and let the weight of the razor work for me; I must say though, even though I am new at the DE razor, this one could use a little more heft to it. It was good and I was impressed but more weight would be nice. I also used Edge ActiveCare Deep Hydrating Shave Cream and liked it very much (lubricating and moisturizing).



For a beginner razor it worked just fine!



This razor will probably be my go-to razor and the one I use most often (until I try out both of my Merkurs - HD and Futur).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Obsessed

"It ain't all muscle"

Registered: June 2008
Location: Sitting in the catbird seat
Posts: 6153
Review Date: Wed June 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability:
Balance: 10

 
This is my first posting, but I've vacillated in and out of DE shaving over the last couple of years. It seems that a lot of people don't take the Feather all that seriously, maybe because it's partially made of plastic and sells so cheaply, but I have to say that I am very happy with it. I tried a couple of Merker's a while ago, with Merkur blades, and was just not pleased with the results. I decided to try DE shaving again recently and bought the Feather precisely because it's cheap and I didn't want to spend a lot of money in my first foray back. I have very sensitive skin, and I've now tried the Feather with Dorco, Swedish G, Red Pack Israeli, and Derby blades and its done well with each. It gives a pretty good shave without too much irritation. (I wasn't that crazy about Derby, personally, and will probably buy some more of the Dorco or Red pack, for whatever it's worth.) I also tried one shave with a Feather blade that went pretty well, but as a relative newbie I didn't want to press my luck. I'll probably try them again at some point if I continue to experience good results with this razor.



I think this razor works for me either because it's relatively light weight, and thus useful for developing the "don't apply too much pressure" technique, or because the plastic safety bar is gentler on my face than the metal ones on the Merkurs. I also strongly prefer the butterfly head to unscrewing the top.



So, it's definitely worth a try. It would certainly be a good travel razor because it comes in a hard plastic clamshell case with a place to keep some blades.



BTW, I've been using Proraso shaving cream and liquid cream after shave with the Feather, in case that helps put my comments in context.



(To be clear, my score of "5" for aggressiveness is intended to be a good score. As someone with sensitive skin, I want something that's not too aggressive. And multiple passes? Forget it!)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pedroso268
In M3 Remission

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 12
Review Date: Thu August 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
this is a perfect razor, not heavy at all, so no need to put pressure on it. it can be driven easily (remember, it is not heavy and akward), is not aggresive, however, can cut your whiskers fast and well. at the end of the shave you will have to do some touch ups, but nothing time consuming. if you loss it, it is cheap enough to get replaced easily. you must use a really sharp razor blade( i use feather razor blades). no razor burns with this razor, unless you put pressure on it. as anything japanese, not expensive looking and luxurious, but well built and functional ( think about toyota ). amazing grip, yes, it is not aggresive, so, at the end of the shave you will have a "sexy" ( a la george clooney type ) dark shade on your face, don't expect a hair free face, but a manly face .
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tim613

Fusion Flunky

Registered: March 2008
Location: Trenton NJ
Posts: 93
Review Date: Wed September 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 3
Adjustability:
Balance: 5

 
I expected more from Feather. My first pass was cautious, but after many passes, I could not get close enough. It seems that the design does not expose much blade, and the outer edges of the blade are blocked by plastic tabs apparently to help center the blade.



I would rate this as a very mild razor.

------------------------------
Big LOSER and BOTOC. I am a grandfather, so I should smell like one.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit tim613's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Dave12345
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: December 2007
Location: London , UK
Posts: 136
Review Date: Mon December 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
Hi

Took delivery yesterday. I currently have a merkur 38, a 39c and a cheap Wilkinson black plastic razor.

I did a good prep, oiled my face and brushed on some Bodyshop cream (a great cream if you havnt yet tried it). I loaded the feather blade and off I went.

The razor does rattle a bit without the blade, and doesnt feel as substantial as my cheaper Wilkinson and absolutely nothing at all like the merkurs (all metal of course).

It is a light razor but I like the long handle and the grip is ok. The blade sits tight and even and is easy to replace.



The shave................... superb with no irritation. I went WTG,XTG and ATG (ATG only on the neck and cheeks).



I was looking for a light razor that was mild and something that I could shave with every morning and possibly in the evening if I was going out, but didnt want to irritate the skin too much. I did shave again in the evening but just went once lightly WTG.



This is a smooth,light medium razor thats gives a fine shave. I like it and will use it regulary.



All the best.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Boyextraordinare

I found a dead Badger

Registered: December 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 503
Review Date: Tue January 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
I picked one of these up in Dubai for about 4 USD and I think it's spectacular.



This is the only TTO razor I own and the mechanism is a bit flimsy and finicky - is this how all TTOs are?



Otherwise I see no fault in the razor. It looks nice, performs admirably, has a long handle and is well-balanced.

------------------------------
Kaveh

"Take it off, take it all off." - Noxzema
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JdB

Surreptitious Brush Sniffer

Registered: March 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 327
Review Date: Sat March 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 7
Balance: 7

 
I chose the Feather Popular as first DE safety razor.



I like the low profile of it as well as the reasonable price of 17 (US$ 21). The Feather weighs 6 grams (0,4 oz) less then my Gillette Fusion but it's more compact so it dampens my newbie-uncontrolled movements a bit

The black, hard-plastic checkered grip feels/grips good, a bit vintage 70's old-school but I like. This kind of plastic will last for a long time.



The steel head is mounted on a plastic base and holds the (Derby) blade firmly in place imho.



Her black+steel somewhat industrial looks appeal to me. She's here to stay!



JdB

------------------------------
--You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows--
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Gilgamesh2003

I'm in the Hall of Fame!

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 211
Review Date: Wed March 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 6

 
Price: Just about the cheapest razor around. Comes with a very nice travel case, too.



Quality: This razor is inexpensive and plastic, but it's of very high quality. Everything works smoothly and precisely. The metal parts are thick and well finished, and the plastic is substantial and not in the least chintzy feeling. This doesn't feel like a disposable razor or a lightweight toy.



User Friendly: It's not rocket science to shave or load a blade with this razor - no surprises here.



Grip: A little slicker than I would like - a Merkur is much grippier. It's not going to fly out of your hand, but a little more texture would be appreciated.



Blade Replacement: Simple, fast, perfect.



Aggressiveness: With non-Feather blades (Israeli Personnas for instance) this seemed a tad more agressive than my Merkur long-handle. A nice close shave without the feeling that you've cheated death.



Balance: Quite head-heavy - not great.



I haven't tried all that many safety razors, but this Feather seems every bit as good as my more durable and more expensive Merkur. Nothing to dismiss just because it's plastic.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
The Nid Hog

Celluloid Hero

Registered: January 2009
Location: Just beyond Devil Reef
Posts: 8999
Review Date: Sat July 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 8

 
I picked this razor up on a whim when I was shopping at a big department store in Tokyo. I paid about 800 for it--around $8 (USA) these days. It comes in a nice hinged plastic case that would probably work well for travel.



My first thought was, with all the plastic, it was going to be like a kid's version of a long-handled Gillette. I couldn't have been more wrong. I've looked it over and it feels pretty rugged. The TTO mechanism works smoothly and the blade locked down tight and secure. It's exceptionally light and requires only the softest touch. So far, I've used it with a Feather blade and MWF soap and it gives an excellent shave. It isn't terribly aggressive, but it gets the job done.



I wish that I had bought a handful of them--it would be a great razor to get somebody interested in wetshaving. If you are thinking about trying out a DE razor or you want a reliable travel razor, the Feather Popular is just what you've been looking for.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
paton

I'm in the Hall of Fame!

Registered: May 2009
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 217
Review Date: Tue July 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 8

 
Always looking for a smooth razor, I thought why not try the Feather Popular. It's a very smooth razor, in comparison to the Merkur 23c.

With the Feather blade it's nearly my every day setup.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.