SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 55,463
Products 3,194
Reviews 20,561
Views 6,060,101

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« November 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Random Products -
[Aftershaves (Reviews)]


b000c0nb7m.01-aduvtloqliaee._aa280_sclzzzzzzz_.jpg
Nivea Extra Soothin


roo1.jpg
Purpose Moisture wi


ASOrig_large.jpg
Sampsons All Natural


http://badgerandblade.com/reviews/data/42/thumbs/default.jpg
Pinaud Clubman Clas


t_461_03.jpg
Burt's Bees Natural


thumb_BarbasolBeardBuster.jpg
Master Lord & M

· more ·
 



logo1.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

"Every product a 10"
Posts: 2,734
Registered: May 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada

 

Aqua Velva Original Sport
Reviews Views Date of last review
13 2489 Mon July 21, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.5

 

Description:
So, I finally decided to get some Aqua Velva ; I was going to grab the original one, when I noticed a GREEN version , named " Original Sport ".

I don't think it's similar to the " Ice Sport". I couldn't find a pic of the Original Sport on the Internet, so It might be a new product.

I sniffed both the original Blue and the Green one, and I prefer the Green ; not that the Blue smells bad, but it's a little " GranPa".
The Green one is more modern, very citrusy, fresh.

I bought it for on sale for 2.99 $ Cad.

As I have dry skin, I wanted to try a cheap alcoholic splash that has some glycerin. Plus, it's very humid here in Montreal during summer (thanks to the St-Laurent river.)

How I used it : I tried the Traderjoe's method (to avoid the drying effect) ; I applied it on a wet face (cold water, shaven area only) ; wow, refreshing, super cooling .
It didn 't leave my face dried out (due to the heavy weather + TJ's method + added glycerine) ; however, once my face was matte, I followed with an alcohol-free balm, just to be safe.


Ok, stop reading, go buy some !!!!!

DISCUSS HERE
Keywords: Aqua Velva Original Sport

<<
Aftershave11.jpg Aftershave1.jpg

 

Author
rafikz

"Every product a 10"

Registered: May 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2734
Review Date: Sun July 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 9
Cooling Sensation: 9
Scent: 10
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 6
No Alcohol Burn: 7

 
So, I finally decided to get some Aqua Velva ; I was going to grab the original one, when I noticed a GREEN version , named " Original Sport ".

I don't think it's similar to the " Ice Sport". I couldn't find a pic of the Original Sport on the Internet, so It might be a new product.

I sniffed both the original Blue and the Green one, and I prefer the Green ; not that the Blue smells bad, but it's a little " GranPa".
The Green one is more modern, very citrusy, fresh.

I bought it for on sale for 2.99 $ Cad.

As I have dry skin, I wanted to try a cheap alcoholic splash that has some glycerin. Plus, it's very humid here in Montreal during summer (thanks to the St-Laurent river.)

How I used it : I tried the Traderjoe's method (to avoid the drying effect) ; I applied it on a wet face (cold water, shaven area only) ; wow, refreshing, super cooling .
It didn 't leave my face dried out (due to the heavy weather + TJ's method + added glycerine) ; however, once my face was matte, I followed with an alcohol-free balm, just to be safe.


Ok, stop reading, go buy some !!!!!

DISCUSS HERE
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Rufus
Method Maniac

Registered: April 2007
Location: Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 384
Review Date: Fri September 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 10
Cooling Sensation: 9
Scent: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 10
No Alcohol Burn: 9

 
As is the case with the other AV aftershaves, an excellent product. I don't know why I waste my time and money on more expensive aftershaves when the AV lineup covers the waterfront; what AV doesn't have Booster does. A truly remarkable product and at the price why wouldn't you buy a vat full.

------------------------------
Bryan
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SilkySmooth

I love close to the Mason Dixon Line

Registered: August 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 4185
Review Date: Sun June 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 6
Cooling Sensation: 4
Scent: 9
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 7
No Alcohol Burn: 6

 
This stuff is great. Is it just me or does AV Sport smell just like Cool Water by Davidoff?



Awesome scent. It has a cooling effect, but not as much as Ice Blue AV. I wish it had just a little more menthol. Very nice anyway.









==Tom

------------------------------
Tom
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bman40

RADdicted

Registered: January 2008
Location: Richmond BC Canada
Posts: 1317
Review Date: Tue November 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 8
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 4
No Alcohol Burn: 0

 
I picked up a bottle yesterday - $3.59 at the local Shopper's Drug Mart. How can you argue with the price?



The scent is nice - very different than the Blue, but still pretty good.



I found my face felt a little tighter with this than with the Blue. Surpising, as I would have thought the only difference would be fragrance? Still has that excellent cooling sensation and a bit of an alcohol bite. I love this stuff!



All in all, I like the Aqua Velva products. Which I must admit surpises the heck out of me - I had always associated them with a certain 'element' that I found unpleasant to deal with.



Perhaps its becuase I'm 30 years older, I appreciate them more?



If you can find this, the Green is a good addition to your AS stable.

------------------------------
There's something about an Aqua Velva man.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DUQ

Proraso Pirate

Registered: November 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 77
Review Date: Tue December 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 7
Cooling Sensation: 7
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 7
Moisturizing: 0
No Alcohol Burn: 4

 
I also picked up a bottle of Aqua Velva original just last week. This is the third AV product that I've used. The Original is great. Less cooling than AV Blue but works just as well. I couldnt quite figure out the scent but now that I've read the reviews; it does have a citrus base. Great product and an even better price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gootses1

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: December 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 128
Review Date: Thu January 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 3
Fights Razor Burn: 3
Cooling Sensation: 3
Scent: 3
Efficacy: 4
Moisturizing: 2
No Alcohol Burn: 5

 
Not as good as the orginal!

------------------------------
The Silver Fox
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sonicmonkey

DE Envious

Registered: April 2009
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 28
Review Date: Sun April 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 7
Cooling Sensation: 9
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 0
No Alcohol Burn: 4

 
This is great stuff, I found my skin nice and tight after using it. It has a nice cooling effect and I personally like the smell better than the blue. After searching the local drug stores and box stores Walmart had the best non sale price of $4.42 (CAN) for 200ml
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Duncan Hill
Wing Man for Stan

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 158
Review Date: Sat May 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Fights Razor Burn:
Cooling Sensation:
Scent:
Efficacy:
Moisturizing:
No Alcohol Burn:

 
Where do you buy this at?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bearbear

Weeper from the Black Lagoon

Registered: April 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 808
Review Date: Tue May 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Fights Razor Burn:
Cooling Sensation:
Scent:
Efficacy:
Moisturizing:
No Alcohol Burn:

 
wallmart, shoppers drug mart etc. Its readily available in Canada.

------------------------------
The 'd
Battle-forged warior of The Czardom of Chedddar
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
salisburyyates

Gillette Tech-nician

Registered: July 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 590
Review Date: Mon July 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 8
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 8
No Alcohol Burn: 5

 
I found this for 4-something dollars at my Shoppers drug mart. A pretty decent price.



I used this AS after hearing great things about the classic. This particular brand is widely available in pharmacies so I tried it out. It seemed to refresh, and the scent is not overpowering, however after drying the odor lingered, and was more overwhelming than I would have liked.

------------------------------
-Ivan.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Day Tripper

Fusion Flunky

Registered: August 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 90
Review Date: Sat August 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Fights Razor Burn: 7
Cooling Sensation: 8
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 6
No Alcohol Burn: 0

 
This stuff is very good for people who have either tough skin and/or oily skin. I don't have tough skin and tend to get at least some razor burn, so when I apply this it stings like a whip. However, my face and neck tend to be rather oily so the alcohol factor helps to reduce the greasiness.



You can get this product rather cheaply at any drug store or supermarket for $2.99CN or as much as $4.99CN, depending on the store.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TonyJoe

The Lime Traveler

Registered: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1237
Review Date: Wed October 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice scent. Just the right amount of menthol. Glycerin keeps dryness from being too bad.
Cons: Not available in the US. Alcohol tends to dry the skin somewhat.
Price: 1
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 7
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 7
Moisturizing: 5
No Alcohol Burn: 4

 
I got a bottle of this in a PIF from B&B member inspiringK. It has a nice fresh "sporty" scent that is more modern than AVIB. While I enjoy AVIB, I admit it has a little bit of a "sleazy middle age guy" vibe to it thus making it a guilty pleasure. Original Sport does not have this problem. Even my wife (who is pretty particular about fragrance) likes the smell. I'd say it makes a good match for the Palmolive shave stick. It's not terribly sophisticated but quite pleasant.



This aftershave has the classic Aqua Velva blend of alcohol, menthol, and glycerine that leaves the skin feeling refreshed if the shave was a good one. If the shave was a bad one, it burns quite noticeably, but that's how all the alcohol based splashes work, which is fine by me. It doesn't moisturize like a balm, but the glycerine helps keep it from being totally drying. If you have dry skin like me, you'll want a balm or lotion after this to keep your skin hydrated.



If this was still available in the US and priced the same as other Aqua Velva products I would definitely buy it.

------------------------------
AJ - Huge buzz!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
imcndn

I used more product..... and it worked!

Registered: June 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 294
Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Scent, cooling, price
Cons: availability
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Fights Razor Burn: 9
Cooling Sensation: 9
Scent: 9
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 8
No Alcohol Burn: 3

 
This has become my go-to after shave. I love the cooling sensation. I love the scent. I love the moisturizing effect. I love the scent. Itís a great aftershave.



There is a bit of a burn when first applied (which is nice) but it fades quickly. The scent lingers throughout the day. The only downside is availability. It can be hard to find. Definatley worth picking up if you can find it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.