SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 48,655
Products 3,103
Reviews 20,234
Views 5,153,359

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


DSCF2815_blue-tip_small.jpg
Gillette Super-Speed


thumb_godrej_shaving_cream.jpg
Edwin Jagger Georgi


thumb_SCS001LARGE.jpg
Wizamet Junior P1


thumb_clickrazor.jpg
Parker 89r Razor


thumb_070.jpg
Rooney DE Razor


aristocrat.jpg
Gillette Old Style

· more ·
 



DE89_Barley.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Proraso Pirate
Posts: 72
Registered: November 2011
Location: Pickering, On, Canada. Home of the Atom Smashery

 

Edwin Jagger DE89BA Barley Chrome
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 7564 Thu March 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $36.00 9.6

 

Description:
This classic safety razor by Edwin Jagger has an exquisite barley patterned handle in a chrome-plated finish. The neck of the razor is emblazoned with the Edwin Jagger brand. The shaving head is outfitted with a precision closed comb with a classic straight guard to help you avoid irritation, for a perfect shave. Compatible with all standard double-edge blades.



Weight: 2.2 oz (63 g)

Length: 3 1/4" (8.25 cm)

Made in England
Keywords: DE89BA Barley Chrome

<<
ejb.JPG Gillettte_Blue_tip.JPG DE89_Barley.jpg parker48r-1_1535_detail.jpg
>>

 

Author
Mad Man

A quick rinse in the dunny bowl and she's bonza mate!

Registered: September 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4193
Review Date: Thu January 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality engineering, gorgeous chrome finish, balance & shave result
Cons: 3-piece design requires care when blade changing
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
If my tech and my slim are a Ford and a nice convertible Chevy respectively then this EJ Barley is an S500 Mercedes. By that I mean that even though the Gillettes are classics that are workmanlike (tech) or a little sportier and classic (slim) then this EJ is the best of German engineering built for comfort and ride. The Barley arrived in the standard EJ black box, wrapped in tissue and with a sampler of Derby blades. First impression? Gorgeous hard chrome finish, exquisite balance focused in the head and the fine barley finish ensures a safe grip. Ok, the 3-piece design requires a duty of care when blade changing but the upside is the blade is held much more "stiffly" than my other razors. So what does she shave like? Comfortably. In terms of aggression it "feels" like the slim on a 5-6 setting but different, dare I say, BETTER. I don't get BBS in one pass but I don't get irritation either. Go figure but the EJ just don't shave me the same as the others. It's not as close as the slim opened right up but it's aggressive enough for me. These days I chase comfort over closeness and if I can get BOTH but without the burn then I'm a happy chappy. So can I recommend this? Sure. It's cured my RAD and the slim and tech just get the odd "Sunday" drive these days. The build quality and feel in the hand put the old Gillettes in the shade and for the first time make me question the degree of "fanboy" love these razors get (and yes, I was guilty too!).Get one.

------------------------------
Paul aka Mad Man.
M&F Chief Group Buy 2013.

Support B&B - become a contributor
B&B Forum Rules | Getting Started | Tutorials
Forum Etiquette | Acronyms | FAQ | What is a PIF?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Mad Man

A quick rinse in the dunny bowl and she's bonza mate!

Registered: September 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4193
Review Date: Sun February 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smooth, ergonomic, effective
Cons: Nil
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
A month of shaves with the 89 Barley.Loaded with feathers she gives close, comfortable and easy shaves daily (exec types understand that a truly great tool has to deliver every day, not every 2-3 days). Despite the beautiful barley finish any lather on your fingers will lead to some slippery situations. In this regard my vintage slim still reigns supreme in grip.Blade flex is non-existent and a major reason why this razor shaves so well. The head geometry is outstanding.Balance is superb with weight biased toward the head.Verdict? A modern classic.

------------------------------
Paul aka Mad Man.
M&F Chief Group Buy 2013.

Support B&B - become a contributor
B&B Forum Rules | Getting Started | Tutorials
Forum Etiquette | Acronyms | FAQ | What is a PIF?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kostas1

Wow! The mess hall is really tidy

Registered: January 2012
Location: Chicago SW Suburbs & Levidi, Arcadia, Greece
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smooth, Well Made, Great Shave, Pretty to Look At
Cons: Not adjustable
Price: 8
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
Wonderful Razor. Easily my new favorite. Yeah, the handle still gets a little slippery, but better than the previous EJ89s.

------------------------------
What? Over? Did you say "Over"? Nothing is over, until we decide it is!
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lucidor

Method Maniac

Registered: February 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 372
Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $32.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The great finish, the great balance, the smoothness, the luxurious feeling of quality
Cons: Sometimes you could wish for a little more aggressive shave
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 9

 
I got this razor wanting to see if the Merkur 34c could be beaten as an introductory razor. I also wanted a razor that was smooth and easy on the face. My Futur tends to give me one or two nicks along the jawline no matter how carefully I treat her.



It's a wonderful shaver. The 34c is perhaps a tad more aggressive, but what really strikes me is how beautiful it is. The finish is beyond perfect. It feels as if the grip is always there, while at the same time it looks elegant, compared to the industrial roughness of the Merkur 34c.



This will definitely be a staple in my rotation.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
snowman

Is reformulated better?

Registered: February 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 176
Review Date: Thu March 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $36.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Well designed, beautifully finished
Cons: none
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 9

 
Great razor. I love the grip of the handle. Of course the head is classic EJ. Well made, well designed. Much better build quality than comparable Merkur models.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.