StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 65,493
Products 3,229
Reviews 20,789
Views 6,795,980

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« May 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_Gillette_Thin_Blades.jpg
Henckels Rapide

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]


64slimhandleadj.jpg
Gillette Aristocrat

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]


R89TWIST2_2_1.jpg
Muhle R89 TWIST

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]

· more ·
ontheroadagain, jameschoonglw, srhardy, m a g and 106 unregistered users
 



DE89_Barley.jpg














  • Pin It

Poster Info

Went Back to the Futur
Posts: 107
Registered: November 2011
Location: Pickering, On, Canada. Home of the Atom Smashery

 

Edwin Jagger DE89BA Barley Chrome

Reviews Views Date of last review
8 9432 Mon February 16, 2015

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $37.60 8.9

 

Description:
This classic safety razor by Edwin Jagger has an exquisite barley patterned handle in a chrome-plated finish. The neck of the razor is emblazoned with the Edwin Jagger brand. The shaving head is outfitted with a precision closed comb with a classic straight guard to help you avoid irritation, for a perfect shave. Compatible with all standard double-edge blades.



Weight: 2.2 oz (63 g)

Length: 3 1/4" (8.25 cm)

Made in England
Keywords: DE89BA Barley Chrome
<<
ejb.JPG Gillettte_Blue_tip.JPG DE89_Barley.jpg

 

Author
Mad Man
A quick rinse in the dunny bowl and she's bonza mate!Registered: September 2011Location: Melbourne, AustraliaPosts: 4218
Review Date: Thu January 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 10 
Pros: Quality engineering, gorgeous chrome finish, balance & shave result
Cons: 3-piece design requires care when blade changing
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
If my tech and my slim are a Ford and a nice convertible Chevy respectively then this EJ Barley is an S500 Mercedes. By that I mean that even though the Gillettes are classics that are workmanlike (tech) or a little sportier and classic (slim) then this EJ is the best of German engineering built for comfort and ride. The Barley arrived in the standard EJ black box, wrapped in tissue and with a sampler of Derby blades. First impression? Gorgeous hard chrome finish, exquisite balance focused in the head and the fine barley finish ensures a safe grip. Ok, the 3-piece design requires a duty of care when blade changing but the upside is the blade is held much more "stiffly" than my other razors. So what does she shave like? Comfortably. In terms of aggression it "feels" like the slim on a 5-6 setting but different, dare I say, BETTER. I don't get BBS in one pass but I don't get irritation either. Go figure but the EJ just don't shave me the same as the others. It's not as close as the slim opened right up but it's aggressive enough for me. These days I chase comfort over closeness and if I can get BOTH but without the burn then I'm a happy chappy. So can I recommend this? Sure. It's cured my RAD and the slim and tech just get the odd "Sunday" drive these days. The build quality and feel in the hand put the old Gillettes in the shade and for the first time make me question the degree of "fanboy" love these razors get (and yes, I was guilty too!).Get one.
----------------------------
Paul aka Mad Man. M&F Chief Grouo Buy 2013. Former steward of the Newbie forum.
This user is offline
Mad Man
A quick rinse in the dunny bowl and she's bonza mate!Registered: September 2011Location: Melbourne, AustraliaPosts: 4218
Review Date: Sun February 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 10 
Pros: Smooth, ergonomic, effective
Cons: Nil
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
A month of shaves with the 89 Barley.Loaded with feathers she gives close, comfortable and easy shaves daily (exec types understand that a truly great tool has to deliver every day, not every 2-3 days). Despite the beautiful barley finish any lather on your fingers will lead to some slippery situations. In this regard my vintage slim still reigns supreme in grip.Blade flex is non-existent and a major reason why this razor shaves so well. The head geometry is outstanding.Balance is superb with weight biased toward the head.Verdict? A modern classic.
----------------------------
Paul aka Mad Man. M&F Chief Grouo Buy 2013. Former steward of the Newbie forum.
This user is offline
Kostas1
Man of a Thousand WeishisRegistered: January 2012Location: Chicago SW Suburbs & Levidi, Arcadia, GreecePosts: 1127
Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 Rating: 10 
Pros: Smooth, Well Made, Great Shave, Pretty to Look At
Cons: Not adjustable
Price: 8
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
Wonderful Razor. Easily my new favorite. Yeah, the handle still gets a little slippery, but better than the previous EJ89s.
----------------------------
What? Over? Did you say "Over"? Nothing is over, until we decide it is!
This user is offline
Lucidor
Blade Buffing BerserkerRegistered: February 2012Location: SwedenPosts: 352
Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $32.00 Rating: 9 
Pros: The great finish, the great balance, the smoothness, the luxurious feeling of quality
Cons: Sometimes you could wish for a little more aggressive shave
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 9
I got this razor wanting to see if the Merkur 34c could be beaten as an introductory razor. I also wanted a razor that was smooth and easy on the face. My Futur tends to give me one or two nicks along the jawline no matter how carefully I treat her.


It's a wonderful shaver. The 34c is perhaps a tad more aggressive, but what really strikes me is how beautiful it is. The finish is beyond perfect. It feels as if the grip is always there, while at the same time it looks elegant, compared to the industrial roughness of the Merkur 34c.


This will definitely be a staple in my rotation.
This user is offline
snowman
The Lime TravelerRegistered: February 2014Location: Frostbite FallsPosts: 1211
Review Date: Thu March 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $36.00 Rating: 9 
Pros: Well designed, beautifully finished
Cons: none
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 9
Great razor. I love the grip of the handle. Of course the head is classic EJ. Well made, well designed. Much better build quality than comparable Merkur models.
----------------------------
I only drink to make YOU more interesting.
This user is online
bobendoh
In M3 RemissionRegistered: February 2014Location: Wpg. Mb. Ca.Posts: 15
Review Date: Thu January 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 Rating: 8 
Pros: barley lined handle and quality
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: 5
Balance: 9
My 2nd razor purchased and my favorite.

I have 9 razors in my arsenal and this is my go to razor.

Have used 9 brands of blades, 10 brands of soaps, creams, gels and foams in different combinations in this razor.

And only one blade I threw out and never used again.

This razor is forgiving and gives a good shave every time.

The weight of the 89 is balanced and helps you

gain a good technique.

It was easy to use from day one, I chose the barley handle because it slips less during shaving.

Remember you still have to be careful when shaving, to much pressure can hurt, go slow when changing blades .

If you want to buy just one razor for life this would be it.

I recommend this razor as a starter and a long life every day razor.
This user is offline
chansta
Barbicide BarbarianRegistered: July 2014Location: Winston Salem NCPosts: 497
Review Date: Sun January 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 Rating: 6 
Pros: beautiful chrome finish
Cons: very mild
Price: 7
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 1
Ease of Blade Replacement: 5
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 1
Very mild for me. The handle had a poor grip with soapy hands, but that's easily fixed by running water on the handle. This is a good starter razor. Hard to cut yourself if you're new to shaving.
----------------------------
haslinger schafsmilch, semogue boar, EJ kelvin.
This user is offline
Mostho
Wow! The mess hall is really tidyRegistered: January 2015Location: ItalyPosts: 1048
Review Date: Mon February 16, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 9 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 9
This is, as the smooth brother, an unbelievable quality reazor. For experienced and starting wet shavers either.


The fit and finish is stunning, thick plating.

Well balanced for my uses, I love it.

It's my go to shaving tool and since it's a three piece razor it's easy to toss in my bag for traver.


The grip is not that much improved with this pattern on the handle, from his smooth borther.


Yet it's overall well balanced and comfortable.

Not too thick, not too thin.


It's made in zama, but at this price tag I doubt to find anything better.
----------------------------
Proraso Society - ClubCella - PannaCrema Users - Boar Bro - TOFLAC-U - SABRE - BOBS
Multum in Parvo
This user is online


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.