SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 54,827
Products 3,189
Reviews 20,527
Views 5,952,502

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« November 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_W1A.jpg
Gillette Ball End T


thumb_shave_cream.jpg
Matador De Luxe


thumb_Glenmorangie_Quinta_Ruban.jpg
Gem Micromatic with


3-28-2013_10-26-46_PM.jpg
MÜHLE R41 2013


thumb_HPIM0183.JPG
New Version Muhle R


thumb_Polo_Cologne_by_Ralph_Lauren_for_Men.jpg
LORD 'Click' Razor

· more ·
 












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Beard Preppie
Posts: 86
Registered: May 2011
Location: Yellowknife, NWT

 

Gillette 1930 NEW style open comb
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 6866 Tue March 19, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $21.50 8.8

 

Description:
The Gillette "NEW" came on the market in 1930. It continued the drop-shoulder profile of the out in the middle Gillette "NEW" Improved from 1921, but with a straight bar that required blades with a slot cut in them and for a while, only Gillette had those blades.

The "NEW" can be found with two different handles, one a hollow handle and one a solid handle (of smaller diameter)with a ball at the end.
Keywords: Gillette, 1930, open comb, NEW style

<<
DSCF2819_flare-tip_small.jpg DSCF2815_blue-tip_small.jpg

 

Author
santamariasteve
No title at all

Registered: September 2011
Location: Santa Maria, California
Posts: 1108
Review Date: Mon November 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Outstanding shaver and good appearance
Cons: None
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 5
Balance: 10

 
The Gillette NEW is a highly recommend vintage razor from the Great Depression years of the 1930's. It was manufactured in 1929-1940. If using a super sharp blade such as a Feather, one might receive an occasional nick or weeper. But paired with a slightly milder blade, the shaves are outstanding with my moderately coarse beard. My razor has the more common and slightly thicker hollow handle, which I prefer. The engineering and the build quality of the Gillette NEW are remarkable.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wil Dorenbos

Forever the Bald-Faced Baron

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 3954
Review Date: Sun November 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smooth and effective
Cons: Vintage, not adjustable
Price: 9
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 9
Adjustability: 10
Balance: 9

 
I was looking for another razor in my closet and found this English Empire set. Decided to try it again.

I was pleasantly surprised. With a Thai Super Thin blade I had a very good shave. The shave was very smooth, and effective. 4 hours after the shave I can not feel any stubble, which means the shave will easily last 6 hours. Which makes it a good/very good razor in my book. Balance and weight are fine (I have the solid handle), changing blades is as easy as with any other 3 piece razor. After some 80 years this razor still looks like new. For me it is clear: when it comes to DE shaving I will stick with vintage . Recommended.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lasse

Beard Preppie

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 86
Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $16.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: 10
Balance: 10

 
I have been shaving with a lighter version (47g) with a hollow smaller handle. Amazing that even after all these years it still works like a charm. Aggressive yet light shaving performance have not received any nicks so far (fingers crossed). If you are engaged in manual labor and have to maintain the functionality of your wrists for long periods of time this would be a great thing to have in the cupboard.

------------------------------
a beard floating in mid-air
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Lasse's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Cheapo
Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: January 2013
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun January 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Classic, unique, aggressive
Cons: Very old, can clog with hair.
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 7

 
I inherited two of these from my great-grandfather, both of the hollow shaft variety. I started out with an open comb, long handled Merkur (forget the model number). I was a very good razor and forgiving. Then I started using The NEW and found that I could get a closer shave in fewer passes without any irritation. Then I switched from Feather to Astra blades and found my ideal combination. If I'm careless, I can get weepers on the back of the neck, but other than that it's a very good combination of aggressiveness and smoothness. I find that where the Merkur was vague feeling and not aggressive enough, the Gillette NEW is precise and lets you know exactly what's going on during your shave. I dropped one on the floor, and one of the teeth bent inwards. I tried to bend it back, but it proved too difficult. This doesn't effect the shave in any way, but it does show the softness of the metal used to make the head, which is probably brass. Some of the finish has worn off, but once again no effect on the shave. I'll use this razor for the rest of my life. I still have another one on reserve at my parent's house if my apartment should burn down again. Take that Gillette.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
KCee
Weeper from the Black Lagoon

Registered: December 2012
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 768
Review Date: Tue March 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple; mild but efficient
Cons: tarnished, thin handle
Price: 9
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: 5
Balance: 7

 
I was lucky to snag a nicer than expected razor on Etsy. For an old razoe it's in pretty good shape and I like it enough that I may get it replated and swap in a meatier handle. I find it mild, but efficient. With an average blade like an Astra it's pretty much bulletproof for me, but with a Feather I can have some problems if I get sloppy. It's not as pretty as my Ikon OC, but it shaves just as well if not better.

------------------------------
Kevin...or KC....or Kev....whatever
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.