StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 60,990
Products 3,219
Reviews 20,718
Views 6,524,397

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« March 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_660SM.jpg
Ming Shui Double Ed

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]


boldformen.jpg
Gillette 1958 'TV S

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]


thumb_SUPREME-CREAM_lg.jpg
Merkur 39C Slant Sl

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]

· more ·
 



thumb_bellag.jpg














  • Pin It

Poster Info

The Lime Traveler
Posts: 1,219
Registered: December 2010
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

 

Edwin Jagger DE89

Reviews Views Date of last review
8 16036 Sat April 19, 2014

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $36.83 9.1

 

Description:
Price:

Got mine at Best Grooming Tools for $34. Great price.



Quality:

What can I say? Its an Edwin Jagger. They make beautiful stuff. And the chrome is b-e-a-utiful!!!



User Friendly:

Pretty straight forward. Changing the blades is a little annoying, but then again most 3 piece razors are in that area.



Grip:

For a smooth chrome finish, its pretty easy to keep a good grip on. If everything is all wet and covered in lather, it gets a little tricky, but I've never really had a problem.



Ease of Blade Placement:

Okay, I have to admit, its not that great. I love my TTO models, and my 34C/HD is a lot easier. Just be careful.



Aggressiveness:

Despite everybody saying that this is on par with the 34C/HD, I have to say that for me that is not he case. It does feel better in the hand, but its way less aggressive. If I'm doing an ATG pass, or a more agressive XTG, I have to change the angle so more of the head is on my face so the blade can cleanly clean up the remaining stubble. This is not the case with other razors that I have used, where a normal 30 degree will cleanly remove all stubble w/out needing to change the angle that much. I can still get DFS/BBS, but it requires more clean up passes.

This is the perfect razor if you want to learn how to shave with some of the sharper blades such as the Feather.



Adjustability:

Not an adjustable.



Balance:

Very well balanced razor. Doesn't feel too top heavy, but has a nice substantial feel to it so I don't feel like I'm running a Bic on my face.
Keywords: Edwin Jagger DE89
<<
DE89_Barley.jpg

 

Author
salazch12
The Lime TravelerRegistered: December 2010Location: Salt Lake City, UtahPosts: 1219
Review Date: Wed March 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:
Price:

Got mine at Best Grooming Tools for $34. Great price.


Quality:

What can I say? Its an Edwin Jagger. They make beautiful stuff. And the chrome is b-e-a-utiful!!!


User Friendly:

Pretty straight forward. Changing the blades is a little annoying, but then again most 3 piece razors are in that area.


Grip:

For a smooth chrome finish, its pretty easy to keep a good grip on. If everything is all wet and covered in lather, it gets a little tricky, but I've never really had a problem.


Ease of Blade Placement:

Okay, I have to admit, its not that great. I love my TTO models, and my 34C/HD is a lot easier. Just be careful.


Aggressiveness:

Despite everybody saying that this is on par with the 34C/HD, I have to say that for me that is not he case. It does feel better in the hand, but its way less aggressive. If I'm doing an ATG pass, or a more agressive XTG, I have to change the angle so more of the head is on my face so the blade can cleanly clean up the remaining stubble. This is not the case with other razors that I have used, where a normal 30 degree will cleanly remove all stubble w/out needing to change the angle that much. I can still get DFS/BBS, but it requires more clean up passes.

This is the perfect razor if you want to learn how to shave with some of the sharper blades such as the Feather.


Adjustability:

Not an adjustable.


Balance:

Very well balanced razor. Doesn't feel too top heavy, but has a nice substantial feel to it so I don't feel like I'm running a Bic on my face.
----------------------------
--Christian
This user is offline
pymmdcp
Wing Man for StanRegistered: March 2012Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $31.00 Rating: 9 
Pros: Price, performance
Cons: None
Price: 10
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
My first and it's doing the job very well. The price makes it a perfect intro to safety razors, but it's performance allows for a permanent place in your rotation. I have no complaints; only praise.
----------------------------
Poraso...the R is silent and dropped if you live west of Texas.
"...Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost."- 1 Tim. 1:15
This user is offline
mongo1958
Beard PreppieRegistered: April 2012Location: Newnan, GAPosts: 81
Review Date: Tue April 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $39.00 Rating: 10 
Pros: My First DE: Well Made, great quality.
Cons: It makes me want another one
Price: 8
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 2
Adjustability: 7
Balance: 10
I'm New to the DE world of wet shaving. I'm very happy with this first time DE razor. I've been reading how much others love this razor too. The razor is easy to use and I got the hang of it quickly, even for a Newbie like me. It shaves very well and I will not go back the plastic cart razors, ever. B&B was very instrumental in my decision to go this route (thanks B&B). Iíve tried several different blades and so far the Astra blades work best but I will still go back and retry the other blades to see if it was my technique and not the blades. One thing that I learned right away was not to wash the razor under a stream of HOT water (like I did with the plastic razors). It caused me to flinch when the super HOT razor made contact with my face. Thanks for reading my review.
----------------------------
Mongo only pawn in game of life~Honored Member of the BOTOC~Muhle R41 Grande,EJ89 Barley
This user is offline
nvpliers
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrowRegistered: August 2012Posts: 135
Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 Rating: 9 
Pros: Baby Smooth Shave without the aggresiveness
Cons: I liked it so much, I ended up getting a D89L model!
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
A great choice for a beginning DE shaver, or anyone wanting a baby soft shave without using an overly aggressive razor. I found this razor to be forgiving. While I attempt to perfect my technique, I know it excused a few times where I would have otherwise created a weeper if using a more aggressive razor. Summary: Smooth and forgiving shave. As close as it gets, with much less risk.
----------------------------
You know what they say: "A bloody shave is better than a good day at work!"
This user is offline
Wayne1963
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrowRegistered: February 2012Posts: 120
Review Date: Sun January 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 10 
Pros: Mild but efficient
Cons: dey ain't none
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
If you can't get a great shave with this baby, you probably should put a cork on your fork. Some times a mild razor is actually more effective, as you can use more aggressive tactics with it. This is just such a razor. I use it for travel as my Ikon Bamboo is my "at home" standby. When I call the DE89 mild, I don't mean like a Feather( total piece of junk....a 12 year old girl scout could use it to shave her legs!) The DE89 will be a classic.
This user is offline
McJAGGER
This is Manly, But that's not!Registered: December 2012Location: MinnesotaPosts: 172
Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 Rating: 7 
Pros: Affordable, solid, chrome
Cons: Slippery when wet
Price: 8
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 6
Grip: 4
Ease of Blade Replacement: 5
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 4
Balance: 7
This is a great starter razor. The weight and shape of the razor allow a user to fine tune their techniques. I recommend it.
----------------------------
If you're a girl and participate in no shave November, prepare for dateless December
This user is offline
KCee
With the Grain WannabeRegistered: December 2012Location: Hartford, CTPosts: 894
Review Date: Thu February 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 Rating: 9 
Pros: Easy to use; very good looking
Cons: slippery handle
Price: 9
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 8
I can see why so many recommend this razor as a starter. It's got great quality and it's so easy to use. This razor seems pretty mild to me. It takes me 3-4 passes, but I get a great shave and it seems nearly impossible to hurt myself. The plating definitely does look a bit nicer than on my Merkur as others have said. I prefer TTO to 3-piece, but I really like the size and shape of this head. The smooth handle is a bit slick if soapy, but ok if just wet.
----------------------------
Kevin...or KC....or Kev....whatever
This user is offline
Blitzkrieg
Chairman of the BoarRegistered: April 2014Location: Eugene, OregonPosts: 146
Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 Rating: 10 
Pros: Beautiful, good price, good shave
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 9
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10
This is the third safety razor I have used. I have had a Merkur 47C and a Parker 71R. I really liked my Merkur, but I gave it to a brother-in-law when I got the Parker for Christmas. I didn't realize at the time there would be such a drastic difference between the two. I didn't like the Parker at all. Thus I began a quest for a new DE safety razor. After a couple weeks of serious research (this is also how I discovered B&B), I settled on this EJ DE89. I love this razor. I got it from leesrazors.com. It looked beautiful right out of the box, and it gives me the perfect balance between "not too aggressive" and "I still need to respect this razor before I create a bloody mess all over my bathroom". I have been using this guy for about two months now and I haven't had any problems with the grip, although I can see how it could be a problem potentially. Its lighter than my other two razors. I enjoyed the weight of the Merkur, but the Parker unnecessarily heavy to me. The DE89 is lighter than both of those. The blade placement is somewhat of a pain compared to others, but its not like its a 30 minute ordeal that leaves my fingers nicked up and needing to restock my bandaid supply weekly. Further, if this is the only complaint I have with this razor, then I think I found a pretty excellent product. Definitely worth the $40 I paid. Great value, as I may not buy another one for as long as I live.
----------------------------
* Stefan * "Now I am become death, destroyer of worlds."
This user is offline


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.