SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 53,677
Products 3,170
Reviews 20,481
Views 5,813,747

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« September 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_blanchepunch.gif
Gilette HD Rocket


Fatip_G_C_1.jpg
Fatip Grande [Chrome


r41.jpg
Muhle r41 (2011 mode


default.jpg
Parker 98R


thumb_10008325.jpg
Merkur Vintage Slan


thumb_simple.jpg
Muhle R41 open comb

· more ·
 



thumb_bellag.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

The Lime Traveler
Posts: 1,219
Registered: December 2010
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

 

Edwin Jagger DE89
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 14071 Sat April 19, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $36.83 9.1

 

Description:
Price:

Got mine at Best Grooming Tools for $34. Great price.



Quality:

What can I say? Its an Edwin Jagger. They make beautiful stuff. And the chrome is b-e-a-utiful!!!



User Friendly:

Pretty straight forward. Changing the blades is a little annoying, but then again most 3 piece razors are in that area.



Grip:

For a smooth chrome finish, its pretty easy to keep a good grip on. If everything is all wet and covered in lather, it gets a little tricky, but I've never really had a problem.



Ease of Blade Placement:

Okay, I have to admit, its not that great. I love my TTO models, and my 34C/HD is a lot easier. Just be careful.



Aggressiveness:

Despite everybody saying that this is on par with the 34C/HD, I have to say that for me that is not he case. It does feel better in the hand, but its way less aggressive. If I'm doing an ATG pass, or a more agressive XTG, I have to change the angle so more of the head is on my face so the blade can cleanly clean up the remaining stubble. This is not the case with other razors that I have used, where a normal 30 degree will cleanly remove all stubble w/out needing to change the angle that much. I can still get DFS/BBS, but it requires more clean up passes.

This is the perfect razor if you want to learn how to shave with some of the sharper blades such as the Feather.



Adjustability:

Not an adjustable.



Balance:

Very well balanced razor. Doesn't feel too top heavy, but has a nice substantial feel to it so I don't feel like I'm running a Bic on my face.
Keywords: Edwin Jagger DE89

<<
r41.jpg 45f76b5cf346dfbd305d6f09f668d9ad.jpg

 

Author
salazch12

The Lime Traveler

Registered: December 2010
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 1219
Review Date: Wed March 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
Price:

Got mine at Best Grooming Tools for $34. Great price.



Quality:

What can I say? Its an Edwin Jagger. They make beautiful stuff. And the chrome is b-e-a-utiful!!!



User Friendly:

Pretty straight forward. Changing the blades is a little annoying, but then again most 3 piece razors are in that area.



Grip:

For a smooth chrome finish, its pretty easy to keep a good grip on. If everything is all wet and covered in lather, it gets a little tricky, but I've never really had a problem.



Ease of Blade Placement:

Okay, I have to admit, its not that great. I love my TTO models, and my 34C/HD is a lot easier. Just be careful.



Aggressiveness:

Despite everybody saying that this is on par with the 34C/HD, I have to say that for me that is not he case. It does feel better in the hand, but its way less aggressive. If I'm doing an ATG pass, or a more agressive XTG, I have to change the angle so more of the head is on my face so the blade can cleanly clean up the remaining stubble. This is not the case with other razors that I have used, where a normal 30 degree will cleanly remove all stubble w/out needing to change the angle that much. I can still get DFS/BBS, but it requires more clean up passes.

This is the perfect razor if you want to learn how to shave with some of the sharper blades such as the Feather.



Adjustability:

Not an adjustable.



Balance:

Very well balanced razor. Doesn't feel too top heavy, but has a nice substantial feel to it so I don't feel like I'm running a Bic on my face.

------------------------------
--Christian
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit salazch12's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
pymmdcp

Wing Man for Stan

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $31.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, performance
Cons: None
Price: 10
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
My first and it's doing the job very well. The price makes it a perfect intro to safety razors, but it's performance allows for a permanent place in your rotation. I have no complaints; only praise.

------------------------------
Poraso...the R is silent and dropped if you live west of Texas.
"...Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost."- 1 Tim. 1:15
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mongo1958

Beard Preppie

Registered: April 2012
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 83
Review Date: Tue April 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $39.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): My First DE: Well Made, great quality.
Cons: It makes me want another one
Price: 8
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 2
Adjustability: 7
Balance: 10

 
I'm New to the DE world of wet shaving. I'm very happy with this first time DE razor. I've been reading how much others love this razor too. The razor is easy to use and I got the hang of it quickly, even for a Newbie like me. It shaves very well and I will not go back the plastic cart razors, ever. B&B was very instrumental in my decision to go this route (thanks B&B). Iíve tried several different blades and so far the Astra blades work best but I will still go back and retry the other blades to see if it was my technique and not the blades. One thing that I learned right away was not to wash the razor under a stream of HOT water (like I did with the plastic razors). It caused me to flinch when the super HOT razor made contact with my face. Thanks for reading my review.

------------------------------
Mongo only pawn in game of life~Honored Member of the BOTOC~Muhle R41 Grande,EJ89 Barley
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
nvpliers

Chairman of the Boar

Registered: August 2012
Posts: 137
Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Baby Smooth Shave without the aggresiveness
Cons: I liked it so much, I ended up getting a D89L model!
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
A great choice for a beginning DE shaver, or anyone wanting a baby soft shave without using an overly aggressive razor. I found this razor to be forgiving. While I attempt to perfect my technique, I know it excused a few times where I would have otherwise created a weeper if using a more aggressive razor. Summary: Smooth and forgiving shave. As close as it gets, with much less risk.

------------------------------
You know what they say: "A bloody shave is better than a good day at work!"
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wayne1963
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 117
Review Date: Sun January 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mild but efficient
Cons: dey ain't none
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
If you can't get a great shave with this baby, you probably should put a cork on your fork. Some times a mild razor is actually more effective, as you can use more aggressive tactics with it. This is just such a razor. I use it for travel as my Ikon Bamboo is my "at home" standby. When I call the DE89 mild, I don't mean like a Feather( total piece of junk....a 12 year old girl scout could use it to shave her legs!) The DE89 will be a classic.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
McJAGGER

This is Manly, But that's not!

Registered: December 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 174
Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordable, solid, chrome
Cons: Slippery when wet
Price: 8
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 6
Grip: 4
Ease of Blade Replacement: 5
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 4
Balance: 7

 
This is a great starter razor. The weight and shape of the razor allow a user to fine tune their techniques. I recommend it.

------------------------------
If you're a girl and participate in no shave November, prepare for dateless December
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
KCee
Weeper from the Black Lagoon

Registered: December 2012
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 746
Review Date: Thu February 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use; very good looking
Cons: slippery handle
Price: 9
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 8

 
I can see why so many recommend this razor as a starter. It's got great quality and it's so easy to use. This razor seems pretty mild to me. It takes me 3-4 passes, but I get a great shave and it seems nearly impossible to hurt myself. The plating definitely does look a bit nicer than on my Merkur as others have said. I prefer TTO to 3-piece, but I really like the size and shape of this head. The smooth handle is a bit slick if soapy, but ok if just wet.

------------------------------
Kevin...or KC....or Kev....whatever
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Blitzkrieg

Beard Preppie

Registered: April 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 82
Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, good price, good shave
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 9
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
This is the third safety razor I have used. I have had a Merkur 47C and a Parker 71R. I really liked my Merkur, but I gave it to a brother-in-law when I got the Parker for Christmas. I didn't realize at the time there would be such a drastic difference between the two. I didn't like the Parker at all. Thus I began a quest for a new DE safety razor. After a couple weeks of serious research (this is also how I discovered B&B), I settled on this EJ DE89. I love this razor. I got it from leesrazors.com. It looked beautiful right out of the box, and it gives me the perfect balance between "not too aggressive" and "I still need to respect this razor before I create a bloody mess all over my bathroom". I have been using this guy for about two months now and I haven't had any problems with the grip, although I can see how it could be a problem potentially. Its lighter than my other two razors. I enjoyed the weight of the Merkur, but the Parker unnecessarily heavy to me. The DE89 is lighter than both of those. The blade placement is somewhat of a pain compared to others, but its not like its a 30 minute ordeal that leaves my fingers nicked up and needing to restock my bandaid supply weekly. Further, if this is the only complaint I have with this razor, then I think I found a pretty excellent product. Definitely worth the $40 I paid. Great value, as I may not buy another one for as long as I live.

------------------------------
* Stefan * "Now I am become death, destroyer of worlds."
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.