StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 65,565
Products 3,229
Reviews 20,790
Views 6,803,405

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« May 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Random Products -
[Shaving Soaps (Reviews)]


thumb_DSCN9337_20_28Large_29.jpg
Pirate's Cove Mentho

[ Shaving Soaps (Reviews) ]


2Img326.gif
Mama Bear's "M

[ Shaving Soaps (Reviews) ]


IMG_8462_400x300.JPG
Seagrapes Studio Tal

[ Shaving Soaps (Reviews) ]

· more ·
burry1, docjude, danielrhall, Adke, GoneRetroInOH, phillip and 196 unregistered users
 



thumb_DSC03717.JPG














  • Pin It

 

Van Der Hagen Luxury Scented Soap

Reviews Views Date of last review
21 8871 Mon February 2, 2015

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $3.86 8.5

 

Description:
Van Der Hagen's new Luxury soap is NOT like their regular versions! Even though it is glycerin based, it also has shea butter, mango butter, and cocoa butter, which definately adds to its slickness. I shaved with no additional additives to my lather, and it performed as if I had.



It quickly builds into a VERY slick, protective lather. It's scent is lightly masculine, with a hint of cucumber. Very nice and refreshing. My Merkur 1904 with Derby Extra blade, danced over my face quite smoothly. If you think this soap is like their older versions, you'll be pleasantly surprised... I know I was.



I'm very pleased with VDH's new offering here.
Keywords: Van Der Hagen Luxury Scented Soap
<<
IMG_8462_400x300.JPG IMG_4691.JPG

 

Author
Review Date: Sat March 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 10
Scent: 8
Lather: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 10
Van Der Hagen's new Luxury soap is NOT like their regular versions! Even though it is glycerin based, it also has shea butter, mango butter, and cocoa butter, which definately adds to its slickness. I shaved with no additional additives to my lather, and it performed as if I had.


It quickly builds into a VERY slick, protective lather. It's scent is lightly masculine, with a hint of cucumber. Very nice and refreshing. My Merkur 1904 with Derby Extra blade, danced over my face quite smoothly. If you think this soap is like their older versions, you'll be pleasantly surprised... I know I was.


I'm very pleased with VDH's new offering here.
This user is offline
OUFINNY
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrowRegistered: October 2010Location: HoustonPosts: 123
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Scent:
Lather:
Efficacy:
Moisturizing:
Where can you get this?
This user is offline
salazch12
The Lime TravelerRegistered: December 2010Location: Salt Lake City, UtahPosts: 1219
Review Date: Wed March 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 5
Quality: 9
Scent: 6
Lather: 10
Efficacy: -1
Moisturizing: 10
Price:

Amazon.com keeps screwing with the price on this soap. It was about $9.99 for a 3 pack on pre-order, now its up to $14.51 for a 3 pack ($4.84/puck). For that price it might not be worth it since this is still a basic/economy soap. Hopefully they will lower the price so its closer to the VDH Deluxe price.


Quality:

Very good quality soap. It does tend to lather very quickly, but it also seems like it might not last that long because it dissolves more quickly when wet or when the brush is working on it than other soaps I've used.


Scent:

Not too big on the scent. Its kind of reminds me of an experiment that I did where I melted down an unscented puck of soap and added aftershave/cologne to add some scent. They could have done a better job on the scent.


Lather:

Wow, the lather just explodes when loading the brush, and very quickly at that. You do not need to have a lot of water in your brush, use less than normal or you will make a bowl of lather rather than loading.


Moisturizing:

My skin felt so nice after my shave. It was smooth and felt hydrated.


This soap will give some serious competition to some of the other brands.
----------------------------
--Christian
This user is offline
joshgambit
Weeper from the Black LagoonRegistered: January 2011Location: Des Moines, IAPosts: 789
Review Date: Thu April 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 9
Scent: 7
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 7
Moisturizing: 7
I love this soap. I was walking in downtown Ames (Iowa) with my daughter. She wanted to go down one more block, so I humored her. Lo and Behold! The first store we see? The Groom Room. And what do I see on the shelf??


Van Der Hagen products! The owners were quick to point out that the Luxury (Scented and Unscented) are very good quality products. I bought a puck of the scented.


That night, shaving was a new experience! My Gillette Ball End Tech with a Dorco 301 was ready to go. This soap lathers VERY quickly. The scent is different from the "Deluxe" line from VDH. Good, but different. It's not overpowering, either.


I didn't have to work the puck very long to get a lot of good lather. I usually use Shave Secret on my face but decided to just try the soap by itself. WOW! Nice and slick, wonderful lather.


For the price, this stuff can't be beat. I'm also VERY lucky to be somewhere close that I can actually buy this local!
----------------------------
Do not meddle in the affairs of Mods, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.
This user is offline
Deltaboy
Blade BufferRegistered: August 2009Location: South of Fort Worth TXPosts: 6475
Review Date: Tue April 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Scent: 7
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 10
It is the slickest lather I have ever put on my face! No weepers and my face felt like I had done one of those facial treatments on it.


It is a hard puck but it fits in a Old Spice Mug with no problem.
----------------------------
I'm a ole Minister who loves the Ole South. I am an Arko Acolyte.
This user is offline
Zarba
Weeper from the Black LagoonRegistered: December 2010Location: AtlantaPosts: 750
Review Date: Wed May 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 8
Scent: 3
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 8
Love this stuff!


Lathers well, very slick and cushiony, and hangs in there for 3+ passes.


Count me in as not thrilled with the price increase on Amazon, but it's still a great soap.
----------------------------
This is one of those days that the pages of history teach us are best spent lying in bed.
This user is offline
BeeSeeDub
WWNDRegistered: January 2011Location: Rochester, NYPosts: 1819
Review Date: Sat May 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 7
Scent: 8
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 7
Moisturizing: 8
I picked this from Amazon as part of the VDH Luxury kit (included brush, stand, soap and bowl).


My only complaint about the soap is that, while shaving, the areas where I have already shaved in a pass are quick to get sticky. I didn’t cut myself, but I can see where that could happen if you’re perhaps a bit careless with your technique.


I like the light fresh/cucumber scent. The soap easily makes enough lather for 3+ passes.


**pricing remarks removed...thx for the correction joshgambit
----------------------------
Ben
This user is offline
joshgambit
Weeper from the Black LagoonRegistered: January 2011Location: Des Moines, IAPosts: 789
Review Date: Sat May 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 9
Scent: 7
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 7
Moisturizing: 7
Quote Originally Posted by BeeSeeDub View Post
I picked this from Amazon as part of the VDH Luxury kit (included brush, stand, soap and bowl).


The kit was about $23 – now the soap is selling for $13 with shipping which I think is a bit too much.


VDH has priced this soap in the same league as some top-notch players. While this is a good soap, it’s just not in the same league as that competition.



With all due respect, the VDH is priced at $12.87 (with free shipping for $25+ orders). And that's for 3 pucks. Which drops the price down to $4.29 each.


Quite a reasonable price for a very good performer.
----------------------------
Do not meddle in the affairs of Mods, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.
This user is offline
RayH
Peer of the TallowRegistered: May 2008Location: Phoenix, AZPosts: 2332
Review Date: Mon September 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 10 
Pros: Slick, easy to lather
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Scent: 7
Lather: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 10
I bought this soap as part of the Luxury set when it was first offered on Amazon. Nice set by the way. But as for the soap, this is an excellent soap. VDH is known for the high quality of it's shave soaps. This one lathers easy providing a slick and lubricating lather for the razor. And it's also moisturizing too. It performs with the best of them. Just not all that hot on the scent per se. Cucumber is fine I guess, but bay rum would have been better. This is one of those soaps that if this was all you had, you could be happy with it.
----------------------------
RayH
This user is offline
Steveareno
The Dunhill (1934) HorrorRegistered: March 2012Posts: 259
Review Date: Tue March 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 Rating: 9 
Pros: Very slick, high volume lather
Cons: None
Price: 8
Quality: 9
Scent: 7
Lather: 10
Efficacy: 1
Moisturizing: 8
I've used lots of domestically available shaving soaps, and this is the best I've ever used. Great lubrication and lather. I'm not crazy about the scent -- it's light, somewhat floral -- but it's not bad. I can get mine from a local barber shop, two for $10. But here's an online source, $5.99 each, but free shipping in the U. S. http://www.razorsdirect.com/shavingsoap.html
This user is offline
IA_Cabby
Surreptitious Brush SnifferRegistered: January 2012Location: Iowa, USAPosts: 311
Review Date: Thu March 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.97 Rating: 9 
Pros: value, scent, lots of slick lather
Cons: not the most moisturizing - but not bad either
Price: 10
Quality: 10
Scent: 9
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 8
This is a great soap. Much better than deluxe. Like others have said, it does smell a bit like cucumber, I can also smell the mango. My gf LOVES the scent. Lots of slick lather. Best glycerin soap I've used to date. this will stay in my rotation. Highly recommend you try it.
----------------------------
I'm addicted to placebos. I could quit, but it wouldn't matter.
This user is offline
The Count of Merkur Cristo
A Title is a Sign of Success!Registered: July 2010Location: DeRidder, LAPosts: 6922
Review Date: Tue April 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.25 Rating: 9 
Pros: Lather, Lubercation, Cushion and ease of Glide aspects.
Cons: None Noticed
Price: 9
Quality: 9
Scent: 8
Lather: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 9
Price: Rating 9

Moderately priced at $9.74 for 3 pucks plus shipping.

Quality: Rating 10

These very light white color pucks are 2 ¾ inches in diameter across, 1 inch in depth and weigh approximately 3 ½ ounces each (much bigger than the Deluxe [by 1oz in weigh]). "These hypoallergenic shave soaps are produced one small batch at a time using a unique kettle process. Each shave soap contains over 10% glycerin as well as emollient shea, mango & cocoa butter to help soften the beard and improve razor glide for a close, comfortable shave that leaves skin feeling soft and smooth".

The three butters produces an incredible lather and each puck is made with high quality ingredients...no harsh chemicals to irritate my face.

Scent: Rating: 8

Faint 'fresh' and floral scent.

Lather: Rating 10

Wow!!! This Soap really generates a lot of incredible lather and this lather is nice and thick. Water retention of this Soap is wonderful and this soap produces a rich, lightly scented and dense 'stiff peak' lather. Here is my drying test (got this idea from Scotto's past post), I lather my face and leave it on for at least 10 minutes and "hey, hey, hey", no problem with the lather drying out on my face.

Efficacy: Rating 10

Throughout the shave, the lather provided a lot of cushion and glide. I just have to say that this is the best shaving soap that I've ever tried.

This Soap lathers so easy and quickly and seems like it never dries out and doesn't dry out my face either. I find that I get a much closer shave and a better lather with Luxury's vs. Deluxe's. Also, this soap creates a slick lather which 'glides' my Merkur Razors (23C & 38C using Voskhod blades), over my skin with hardly any nicks!

Moisturizing: Rating 9

Again, no drying of my face at all. Skin felt smooth and hydrated and after my shave, I feel very 'pampered'. I really this Soap (what a change from using Deluxe), and my face is softer and smoother.

In closing and in my opinion...it is the best Shave Soap for your money and your face.

“Happiness is the [shaving soap]...that sweeps away the cobwebs of your heart”. Mort Walker

P.S. Also, I add 10 drops of glycerine per puck (and about 10 drops of Clubman Citrus Musk [fortified with Royal Lymes]), before I melt it (nuke), for 'Überlather', extra lubercation, cushion, glide and scent .
----------------------------
Christopher ~ Order of Pinaud, Head & Face Latherers Club United, Alliance of Merkur, VDH Society, Voskhod Comrades Club, Brotherhood of the Boar, Foxhole Shavers Club & the Cult of Arko!
This user is offline
OneBadBadger
I used more product..... and it worked!Registered: October 2013Location: Minden, NEPosts: 287
Review Date: Mon October 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 6 
Pros: Cost Effective, Does Slick your face pretty well
Cons: Doesn't seem to produce as nice a lather as I'd like.
Price: 10
Quality: 7
Scent: 2
Lather: 5
Efficacy: 6
Moisturizing: 8
I will say this was difficult, this soap is all over on the ratings. It will get the job done, but you're gonna have to put some elbow grease into it. I find the most luck if I put a little hot water on top of the puck for about 3-5 minutes towards the end of soaking my brush. Some of it is because I have a little hard water, but not that bad. It is a very hard soap. It likes you to really load up the brush and use a lot of water to get a decent lather. As for the scent. There really isn't too much of one. A very light "soapy" scent for lack of a better term almost scentless. I will say for as much trouble as it is it does slick your face really really well. You just don't get as much cushiony lather and that can cause some irritation. I suppose I'd recommend it as a backup soap to an experienced shaver who knows how to lather properly. I see a lot of bad reviews of guys who just don't know what they're doing. Maybe it will work good with a safety razor but it falls somewhat short for a straight razor.
----------------------------
Mastermind of the 30mm Boar
This user is offline
KCBuck
Whisker WhackerRegistered: May 2014Location: Kansas CityPosts: 54
Review Date: Sat May 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.50 Rating: 8 
Pros: Low price, thick lather, good lubricity
Cons: The smell won't appeal to those who love bay rum
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Scent: 7
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 7
I will start by saying I am still a newbie to wet shaving and double DE razors, but I am sold on this product. Got this as part of the VDH luxury shave kit, but the pucks are right next to where I got the kit, so I have a price reference.


The lather builds rather quickly, which judging from reviews, is not normal, and it almost builds too quickly. The lather goes on thick, as long as water isn't overused, and the lubrication qualities of this are quite good. I can go back on a small touch up WTG or ATG without relathering and not suffer any negative effects. I have noticed the moisturizing breaking down if I leave it on my face for a fairly long time, but it's more than long enough for the shave. I rely on my post shave for long-term moisturization. It won't appeal to those sold on bay rum products, but I find the scent good overall and not overkill like I feared it would be. I scored it below 10 on all but price because I lack a comparison for reference. For the price and performance though, I'm not tempted to try much else.


Wal-Mart SuperCenters carry these for $3.50 a puck, which is incredibly cheap for a very effective product, and they undercut Amazon by a healthy margin on all VDH products. If you have relatively easy access to Wal-Mart, which is true in the Midwest, then the soap is also very accessible.


For reference sake, I have a Merkur 34c (still don't have a blade of choice yet, but have been using Derbys and Sharks), and post-shave includes Witch Hazel (86%) and Nivea Sensitive Post Shave Balm.
This user is offline
AHamilton
Is reformulated better?Registered: May 2014Location: WisconsinPosts: 184
Review Date: Tue July 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.50 Rating: 8 
Pros: Easy thick lather, smooth shave.
Cons: Contains harsh synthetic detergents (SLS)
Price: 8
Quality: 8
Scent: 5
Lather: 8
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 6
A little on the expensive for Van Der Hagen. But it's a decent shave soap, makes for an easy thick lather, and provides a smooth glide for the blade. My only problem is that it contains some synthetic ingredients like Sodium Laureth Sulfate. While the dangers of SLS have been somewhat exaggerated by the health food industry, it's still a harsh synthetic detergent that can be drying to the skin. I would not use this soap in the winter or in a dry climate unless I had to. Naturally, soaps shouldn't contain SLS since they should lather on their own. That makes Van Der Hagen's credibility as a real "soap" somewhat questionable. Overall though, a good product when it comes down to practicality.
This user is offline
Page:  1 · 2


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.