SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 56,196
Products 3,201
Reviews 20,607
Views 6,184,826

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« December 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_Gillette_Thin_Blades.jpg
Henckels Rapide


thumb_12852947930IMG_6906.jpg
Merkur Alu (also ca


thumb_benjarum.jpg
Parker 73R


thumb_12777370400Merkur_Bakelite.jpg
Red tip superspeed


thumb_414n3ZwW-BL._SL160_SL125_.jpg
Parker 80R


image1.jpg
Maggard MR10

· more ·
 



thumb_12991871920cvs_single.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Peer of the Tallow
Posts: 2,369
Registered: May 2009
Location: Outside Seattle, WA

 

Gillette Tuckaway
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 4029 Wed October 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0

 

Description:
Hidden among the more famous of Gillette's "aggressive" offerings is the humble Tuckaway. Produced in the '20s, the Tuckaway has a shorter handle than other razors at the time, giving it a different balance than the New. This doesn't make it light - this razor has some heft for its size, and the silver plating certainly helps.



The result? This tiny razor actually gives an aggressive shave, more aggressive than many of its cousins such as the New Improved. Twelve hours after a shave and my cheeks felt like they had just been shaven. My neck, a usual problem for even the best razor, wasn't a problem for the Tuckaway.



And irritation? The usual tradeoff for aggressive razors is redness. (Dare you shave with a Red Tip and splash on Pinaud Bay Rum? I thought not.) While I didn't get much redness, I will admit that splashing on the Superior 70 gave me quite a jolt. That's the tradeoff.



The Tuckaway is an attractive razor, and (if you are lucky) comes in a lovely silver case. Silver means it tarnishes, of course; this razor will take a bit more maintenance to keep shiny than one with a nickel finish.



All in all, a wonderful razor, and recommended to those who like open comb razors.
Keywords: Gillette Tuckaway

<<
R41a.jpg DSCF2816_red-tip_small.jpg

 

Author
insomniac
Peer of the Tallow

Registered: May 2009
Location: Outside Seattle, WA
Posts: 2369
Review Date: Thu March 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 9

 
Hidden among the more famous of Gillette's "aggressive" offerings is the humble Tuckaway. Produced in the '20s, the Tuckaway has a shorter handle than other razors at the time, giving it a different balance than the New. This doesn't make it light - this razor has some heft for its size, and the silver plating certainly helps.



The result? This tiny razor actually gives an aggressive shave, more aggressive than many of its cousins such as the New Improved. Twelve hours after a shave and my cheeks felt like they had just been shaven. My neck, a usual problem for even the best razor, wasn't a problem for the Tuckaway.



And irritation? The usual tradeoff for aggressive razors is redness. (Dare you shave with a Red Tip and splash on Pinaud Bay Rum? I thought not.) While I didn't get much redness, I will admit that splashing on the Superior 70 gave me quite a jolt. That's the tradeoff.



The Tuckaway is an attractive razor, and (if you are lucky) comes in a lovely silver case. Silver means it tarnishes, of course; this razor will take a bit more maintenance to keep shiny than one with a nickel finish.



All in all, a wonderful razor, and recommended to those who like open comb razors.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cornishman

Styptic Addicted

Registered: May 2013
Location: Penzance, Cornwall
Posts: 1968
Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): One of the better OC razors
Cons: None
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
I use the Tuckaway on a ATT Atlas handle on most days. In my opinion it shaves cleaner than the Gillette New. It seems to take more soap off your face than the Gillette New with each stroke. It has just the right aggressiveness to be a comfortable daily razor. I believe that this razor should have a better following.

------------------------------
"Badger & Blade is the window to all knowledge"
BOTOC / Voskhod Comrades Club
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
aametalmaster
Whisker Whacker

Registered: October 2013
Location: Salem Ohio
Posts: 47
Review Date: Wed October 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice vintage product that does what it was designed for.
Cons: It will cut you if not used properly.
Price: 1
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
I have a similar 1921 vintage with the same comb just different handle. It shaves great and i really like the balance. I have other DE razors to try but prob never will because i really like the shave from this one..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.