SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 56,194
Products 3,201
Reviews 20,607
Views 6,184,593

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« December 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Random Products -
[Shaving Creams (Reviews)]


thumb_Shaving_Shack_Blade_01.jpg
Dettol Cool Lather


thumb_czech.jpg
Palmolive Shave Cre


http://badgerandblade.com/reviews/data/41/thumbs/416-R8497.gif
Truefitt & Hill


KK6.jpg
Balea shaving cream


thumb_Lider_Active.JPG
Lider Classic


thumb_silverstar.jpg
New York Shaving Com

· more ·
 



68_2.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Surreptitious Brush Sniffer
Posts: 336
Registered: January 2007

 

Tabula Rasa
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 4426 Wed November 23, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0

 

Description:
Today I'm reviewing a great product and easily one of the best shaving creams out there. The "Tabula Rasa" is an unscented shaving cream, handmade from natural ingredients in very small batches in Berlin, Germany and is especially intended for people with very sensitive skin as there are no fragrance oils or preservatives added.



The cream contains mango butter, shea butter, argan oil and a special, natural product called "Stimu-Tex" from a Swiss Company that has a softening, nurturing effect on the skin.



Ingredients (INCI): Aqua, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera Oil, Argania Spinoza Kernel Oil, Hordeum Vulgare Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii Extract, Mangifera Indica Butter, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Borate.



Now for the review:



Price

at 20€ for 90g (27$ - 3,17oz.) it's quite expensive - but worth every cent of it.



Quality

10/10 here - a great product that leaves nothing to be desired.



Scent

Well, you could give it a zero or a ten here - I decided to go for the full score. The TR is unscented and even though there's a slight odor from the ingredients, it's next to scentless which is a good thing when you're making superlather or don't want the shaving cream to interfere with the AS/Cologne.



Latherability

Use very little water and a hazelnut-sized amount of cream and you'll get great great lather in next to no time.



Efficacy / Moisturizing Properties

If you suffer from dry skin you're in for a real treat, the TR moisturizes your face like hardly anything else out there due to the mango- and shea-butter and the arganoil. It's also very slick so your razor will cut through your beard as if it were butter and the thick, stiff lather provides excellent protection for your face.



Packaging

The Tabula Rasa comes in a nice metal-screw container and is additionally protected by plastic foil to avoid a potential (harmless!) reaction of the cream and the tin. In the future it'll come in plastic tubs to avoid this.



PLEASE USE THIS THREAD FOR THE DISCUSSION IF YOU'RE NOT REVIEWING THE PRODUCT!
Keywords: Tabula Rasa

<<
AOS_Cream.jpg

 

Author
moviemaniac
Surreptitious Brush Sniffer

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 336
Review Date: Sun April 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 10
Scent: 10
Latherability: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 9

 
Today I'm reviewing a great product and easily one of the best shaving creams out there. The "Tabula Rasa" is an unscented shaving cream, handmade from natural ingredients in very small batches in Berlin, Germany and is especially intended for people with very sensitive skin as there are no fragrance oils or preservatives added.



The cream contains mango butter, shea butter, argan oil and a special, natural product called "Stimu-Tex" from a Swiss Company that has a softening, nurturing effect on the skin.



Ingredients (INCI): Aqua, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera Oil, Argania Spinoza Kernel Oil, Hordeum Vulgare Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii Extract, Mangifera Indica Butter, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Borate.



Now for the review:



Price

at 20€ for 90g (27$ - 3,17oz.) it's quite expensive - but worth every cent of it.



Quality

10/10 here - a great product that leaves nothing to be desired.



Scent

Well, you could give it a zero or a ten here - I decided to go for the full score. The TR is unscented and even though there's a slight odor from the ingredients, it's next to scentless which is a good thing when you're making superlather or don't want the shaving cream to interfere with the AS/Cologne.



Latherability

Use very little water and a hazelnut-sized amount of cream and you'll get great great lather in next to no time.



Efficacy / Moisturizing Properties

If you suffer from dry skin you're in for a real treat, the TR moisturizes your face like hardly anything else out there due to the mango- and shea-butter and the arganoil. It's also very slick so your razor will cut through your beard as if it were butter and the thick, stiff lather provides excellent protection for your face.



Packaging

The Tabula Rasa comes in a nice metal-screw container and is additionally protected by plastic foil to avoid a potential (harmless!) reaction of the cream and the tin. In the future it'll come in plastic tubs to avoid this.



PLEASE USE THIS THREAD FOR THE DISCUSSION IF YOU'RE NOT REVIEWING THE PRODUCT!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sadowsky

Blade Buffing Berserker

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 356
Review Date: Mon October 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 3
Quality: 5
Scent: 10
Latherability: 5
Efficacy: 5
Moisturizing Properties: 4
Packaging: 5

 
I wasn't too impressed with Tabula Rasa. I do not have sensitivity issues, and for me, a fragance free shave cream is like eating with a cold and not being able to taste anything. But my biggest concern was the lack of a good "glide factor". I found the cream to be very dry while shaving and did not provide the lubrication I prefer in a shave cream. I gave it a 10 for scent because it is supposed to by scent free and it is.



Roger

------------------------------
"You gotta have swine to show you where the truffles are" Edward Albee

www.sadowsky.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Confilo

Peer of the Tallow

Registered: June 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2303
Review Date: Wed April 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Scent: 10
Latherability: 9
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 10

 
First, I usually shave with soap, preferably containing tallow. I do use creams occassionaly with soap to create superlather. This cream was so strangely different that I used by itself.

There is no cream or soap that will make a shave good if you don't care about the use of the razor and there are soaps and creams that can mess up your shave.

Tabula Rasa, on the other hand left me with the smoothest BBS shave. The cream looks like clay and the scent is dissapointing until it is whipped into lather and the ugly duckling turns the scent into an intense version of lavender that fills the room.

Lathering is a matter of a few adjustments, as usual I read the forum to get some ideas on tabula's behavior and used a little water which I adjusted on each pass to keep the lather rich and moist.

The results were out of this world, smooth, moisture rich shave with no irritation.

------------------------------
Paco
Viva el Sebo!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Confilo

Peer of the Tallow

Registered: June 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2303
Review Date: Sun July 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Scent: 10
Latherability: 9
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 10

 
If you like vetiver, this is a must try. Tabula Rasa is sort of a soap /cream with great shaving properties and this particular scent is a gift to the senses. Vetiver with a sweet citrus undertone.

Lee's razors website has a tutorial on how to lather Tabula, I just swirl the brush into the pot and work it out in the bowl, adding water to the tips of the brush as needed. Lots of thick, gliding vetiver/tangerine scented lather for a luxurious gloriuos shave

------------------------------
Paco
Viva el Sebo!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tsmba

doing the deed outdoors is best!

Registered: May 2009
Location: Middle of MO
Posts: 1965
Review Date: Thu October 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Scent: 9
Latherability: 8
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 7
Packaging: 9

 
The longer I use this stuff the more I love it. I read about it on Shaving101 and followed the lathering instructions described there. What a fine product! This stuff offers excellent protection and washes away clean!

------------------------------
Tom S.
Middle of MO

“Much of the social history of the Western world, over the past three decades, has been a history of replacing what worked with what sounded good.”
-Thomas Sowell

"The cost of freedom is eternal vigilance."
-Thomas Jefferson
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
petr

My wife thinks I'm a crazed madman

Registered: May 2008
Location: St Landry Parish
Posts: 2937
Review Date: Tue April 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 9
Scent: 10
Latherability: 7
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 7

 
Tabula Rasa was a bucket list cream for me shrouded in mystery. I wanted something different to try and I got it - this is weird stuff. Forget what you think a cream (or soap) is supposed to look, feel, and smell like. The tub is light and fluffy with the consistency of aerated whipped cream. After opening the tub and sniffing my first impression was of paint. Uh oh. But then again, how many vetiver tangerine creams are there?



Since Lee from Lee’s Razors made a big deal about lathering this stuff I took him seriously and proceeded with caution. With so many extra instructions I had no expectations that it would lather at all. I scooped a quarter sized dollop into an empty wood Trumper’s soap bowl. I shook the brush well and proceeded to work. Added drops of water here and there and after 25 swirls I was in for a treat. As a side, it takes quite a bit more product than a regular cream per shave.



The lather is just as different as the raw cream; light, dense, slick, not creamy as soap, but still holds tremendous cushion. I had tons of lather. The smell explodes in the room and it is not paint, it is GREEN CUT GRASS on steroids. It instantly made me think of Creed Original Vetiver. This scent is nice. My nostrils are full of this for two hours post and that is not a bad thing. I enjoy this most in an early morning 4 am shave. BAM. POW. WAKE UP. It is perfect for my early morning commute. I think it puts me in a better mood.



It’s weird, smells great, but how does it shave? Silky with no irritation. There is protection while still cutting close, but the party here is how well it treats the skin post. I reckon there is something to the secret ingredient Stimu Tex (moisturizing mojo) after all. Personally, I like the shave quality more than the three T's or Castle Forbes.



Highly recommended.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Easttexasman

Styptic Addicted

Registered: June 2010
Location: Tyler,Texas
Posts: 1905
Review Date: Fri July 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Scent: 8
Latherability: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 9

 
GREAT stuff,love the smell and after I shave my face feels like it has lotion on it.It does lather very easily but I lather it in my hand like it is recommended on Lee's site and it is nice and thick lather.



Paul

------------------------------
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Easttexasman

Styptic Addicted

Registered: June 2010
Location: Tyler,Texas
Posts: 1905
Review Date: Fri August 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Scent: 8
Latherability: 10
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 9

 
Absolutely wonderful stuff.Anyone who is serious about shaving should give it a try

1.Price,it is not cheap but it alot less than ADP and SMN,plus it will give a better shave than both of them and I have owned both.

2.Quality,yes it is quality stuff

3.Scent,I had to give it an 8 here because the scent disipates after lathering,I use the tangerine and vetyver

4.Latherabilty,here is where it shines but you have to lather in your hand or it will not work at all in a bowl

5.Efficany,it is fairly dense so a little goes a long way but I always waste alot of the lather

6.Moistrizing,I feel like I have just put lotion on my face after shaving,nothing but a 10 here.

7.Packaging,why even grade this,it is just like everyone else's container,who wants to pay more for fancy packaging.



Paul

------------------------------
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
vegasvics

I'm in the Hall of Fame!

Registered: October 2011
Posts: 242
Review Date: Wed November 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moisturizing and protective properties
Cons: Price
Price: 7
Quality: 10
Scent: 9
Latherability: 8
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing Properties: 10
Packaging: 9

 
I picked up the Vitever-Tangerine version from Lee's. Although Shaving101 recommends hand-lathering, I went ahead and tried to bowl lather in my scuttle. The lather turned out perfect. A fingernail sized amount yielded enough lather for 3 passes with a neck touchup and had plenty to spare. Despite the higher cost, the performance more than makes up for it. I often suffer from razor burn, and have experienced very smooth results with this product. Recommended
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.