SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 48,655
Products 3,103
Reviews 20,234
Views 5,153,352

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_Walgreens_DE_Blades.jpg
Gillette Fat Boy 19


thumb_lustray_bay_rum.gif
Sabi Gen 1 DE Razor


thumb_blue_spice.jpg
1965 Gillette Super


P1040569.JPG
Gillette Sensor 3-b


DSC_0009.JPG
Merkur 11C (Open Com


thumb_ps.jpg
Edwin Jagger DE # 8

· more ·
 



thumb_sw.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Bruce Lee of Wet Shaving
Posts: 3,520
Registered: March 2009
Location: Round Rock

 

Feather All-Stainless DE
Reviews Views Date of last review
34 10723 Fri March 21, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $172.93 7.4

 

Description:
(A discussion thread can be found HERE)

Much has been written (much of it polarizing) about this new offering from Feather and I've already shared my initial impressions. Now that I've shaved with it for a week, I thought a more in-depth review would be helpful.

Many of my friends on the board know I prefer heavy and so-called "aggressive" razors. My daily DE shavers include cooncatbob Bull Mastiffs with NEW or NEW Deluxe heads, Gillette Aristocrats #15 and #21 and a Gillette Big Fellow. But I'm also a big fan of great design and craftsmanship and for this reason alone, I purchased the Feather All-Stainless.

Immediately after opening the vendor's shipping box, I could tell this was no ordinary modern razor. Like so many things our Japanese friends design, the razor's packaging impresses before the razor is even seen. Handsome cardboard cladding surrounds a beautifully crafted wood box in which the razor resides. The razor itself rests in a supportive bed of die-cut foam where a pack of Feather Hi-Stainless blades is also found. Everything I saw at this point oozed quality and craftsmanship, all before I had even removed the razor!

The Razor
The first thing that struck me was its weight. At about 90g, this is no lightweight and it feels wonderful in your hand with very good balance. At every glance, fine craftsmanship abounds and quickly sets this razor apart from any other modern razor I've seen, with the exception of the PILS DE. The razor is made from matte-finished stainless steel that gives off a gorgeous silvery hue that will surprise those who are accustomed to the chrome and nickel finishes so common to other razors. Feather must have invested a lot of money into the production tooling for this razor as every surface and detail is impeccable and without flaw. The handle knurling is deep and exact - one of the best I've used. The cap and base castings are beautiful and include intricate detailing that adds to its handsome design (and likely its function). The only milled surface would appear to be the top of the base plate, which I assume was done to help control the blade gap. This is one of those razors that is fun to just admire and appreciate.

The Shave
Here's where much of the board chatter has centered, in particular because of its three-piece design and similarity to the famous (and mild mannered) Gillette Tech. I'd been using and enjoying Super Iridiums, so I passed on using one of the included Feathers. The first few strokes were so smooth, I first thought the Feather might in fact be the dreaded "mild" shaver that so many predicted. But as I continued, my two days of growth was slicing off with ease and with no irritation. Ah, but how about closeness? Here, the most important test for me is the effectiveness of the razor when shaving XTG and ATG. The Feather passed this test wonderfully and as effectively as any of my regular razors. DFS with two passes (WTG + XTG) and only minor touch-ups. The same setup on my next two shaves yielded the same results.

For my fourth try, I decided to split the shave between the Feather and my Gillette ball-end Tech. It had been some time since I had shaved with a Tech and although a good shaver, I was always unimpressed with how much work was required to achieve a close shave. However, for this purpose the comparison makes sense. WTG strokes with each razor yielded roughly the same result with the edge going to the Feather for its smoothness. XTG and ATG is where the results diverged. As mentioned, the Feather again performed well and easily gave me DFS. But the Tech required multiple passes to achieve the same and I stopped when I felt irritation creeping in. Some of this might be attributed to the weight difference, some to being "out of practice" with the Tech. I was already impressed with the Feather's smoothness, but I also suspected there was a difference in blade gap or exposure.

I inserted used blades in each and measured the blade gap of the Tech at just over .020" [.50mm] (the closest increment in my gage set) which would be consistent with the Wiki's gap of .022" [.56mm]. The Feather comfortably accepted a .025" [.63mm] gage and would probably accept a bit more. This would put the Feather's blade gap in the same range as a Gillette Aristocrat, a Gillette Adjustable set at "3" or a Merkur. Having used all of these at one time or another, this "feels" about right: none possess much "bite" but all are nice shavers.

My fifth shave was with the Feather alone, only now with a Gillette 7O'Clock Yellow. Same smooth results. For my sixth shave and on a member's suggestion, I shaved with my Feather Portable. But first, a blade gap measurement: very similar to the All-Stainless. It's logical Feather has settled on this gap as their standard even though the two razors are made with very different materials and manufacturing processes. A two-pass shave yielded nice results but the strokes felt rougher than the All-Stainless. Here, I think the head design and finish quality of the new Feather sets it apart.

In Summary
I'm impressed. This razor does not announce its shaving presence like my "serious" vintage razors, but it gets the job done almost as effectively. The best words I can think of to describe its "feel" are smooth and foolproof. You know how cartridges are generally safe and care free (never mind their shave quality), tolerating even quick shaves without much issue? That's what I get from the Feather. From the get go, I could shave without any fear of an unexpected bite. But unlike say Super Speeds and Techs, I didn't have to work as hard to achieve the same results. I attribute some of this to its weight but I think its beautiful head design and finish makes a big contribution as well. Is this razor for everyone? Probably not. Am I justifying my investment by offering a glowing report? Maybe. But if you're like me, you'll appreciate its beautiful design and precision manufacturing - all wrapped up in a tool that is both effective and a joy to use. Oh, and it will likely outlast you and your offspring.

A few words to justify my ratings:

Price: Expensive but IMO, a great long-term value.
Quality: Impeccable
User Friendly: Simple, three-piece design - it doesn't get much simpler.
Grip: One of the best.
Ease of Blade Replacement: Only a TTO is easier. No surprises.
Aggressiveness: I'll use the "more aggressive is better" approach. The Feather doesn't possess much bite, but don't let that mislead - it's very effective.
Adjustability: n/a
Balance: Excellent!
Keywords: Feather All-Stainless DE

<<
thumb_12852947930IMG_6906.jpg thumb_Scheermesje.JPG

 

Author
texbilly

Bruce Lee of Wet Shaving

Registered: March 2009
Location: Round Rock
Posts: 3520
Review Date: Wed May 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 6
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 8

 
(A discussion thread can be found HERE)

Much has been written (much of it polarizing) about this new offering from Feather and I've already shared my initial impressions. Now that I've shaved with it for a week, I thought a more in-depth review would be helpful.

Many of my friends on the board know I prefer heavy and so-called "aggressive" razors. My daily DE shavers include cooncatbob Bull Mastiffs with NEW or NEW Deluxe heads, Gillette Aristocrats #15 and #21 and a Gillette Big Fellow. But I'm also a big fan of great design and craftsmanship and for this reason alone, I purchased the Feather All-Stainless.

Immediately after opening the vendor's shipping box, I could tell this was no ordinary modern razor. Like so many things our Japanese friends design, the razor's packaging impresses before the razor is even seen. Handsome cardboard cladding surrounds a beautifully crafted wood box in which the razor resides. The razor itself rests in a supportive bed of die-cut foam where a pack of Feather Hi-Stainless blades is also found. Everything I saw at this point oozed quality and craftsmanship, all before I had even removed the razor!

The Razor
The first thing that struck me was its weight. At about 90g, this is no lightweight and it feels wonderful in your hand with very good balance. At every glance, fine craftsmanship abounds and quickly sets this razor apart from any other modern razor I've seen, with the exception of the PILS DE. The razor is made from matte-finished stainless steel that gives off a gorgeous silvery hue that will surprise those who are accustomed to the chrome and nickel finishes so common to other razors. Feather must have invested a lot of money into the production tooling for this razor as every surface and detail is impeccable and without flaw. The handle knurling is deep and exact - one of the best I've used. The cap and base castings are beautiful and include intricate detailing that adds to its handsome design (and likely its function). The only milled surface would appear to be the top of the base plate, which I assume was done to help control the blade gap. This is one of those razors that is fun to just admire and appreciate.

The Shave
Here's where much of the board chatter has centered, in particular because of its three-piece design and similarity to the famous (and mild mannered) Gillette Tech. I'd been using and enjoying Super Iridiums, so I passed on using one of the included Feathers. The first few strokes were so smooth, I first thought the Feather might in fact be the dreaded "mild" shaver that so many predicted. But as I continued, my two days of growth was slicing off with ease and with no irritation. Ah, but how about closeness? Here, the most important test for me is the effectiveness of the razor when shaving XTG and ATG. The Feather passed this test wonderfully and as effectively as any of my regular razors. DFS with two passes (WTG + XTG) and only minor touch-ups. The same setup on my next two shaves yielded the same results.

For my fourth try, I decided to split the shave between the Feather and my Gillette ball-end Tech. It had been some time since I had shaved with a Tech and although a good shaver, I was always unimpressed with how much work was required to achieve a close shave. However, for this purpose the comparison makes sense. WTG strokes with each razor yielded roughly the same result with the edge going to the Feather for its smoothness. XTG and ATG is where the results diverged. As mentioned, the Feather again performed well and easily gave me DFS. But the Tech required multiple passes to achieve the same and I stopped when I felt irritation creeping in. Some of this might be attributed to the weight difference, some to being "out of practice" with the Tech. I was already impressed with the Feather's smoothness, but I also suspected there was a difference in blade gap or exposure.

I inserted used blades in each and measured the blade gap of the Tech at just over .020" [.50mm] (the closest increment in my gage set) which would be consistent with the Wiki's gap of .022" [.56mm]. The Feather comfortably accepted a .025" [.63mm] gage and would probably accept a bit more. This would put the Feather's blade gap in the same range as a Gillette Aristocrat, a Gillette Adjustable set at "3" or a Merkur. Having used all of these at one time or another, this "feels" about right: none possess much "bite" but all are nice shavers.

My fifth shave was with the Feather alone, only now with a Gillette 7O'Clock Yellow. Same smooth results. For my sixth shave and on a member's suggestion, I shaved with my Feather Portable. But first, a blade gap measurement: very similar to the All-Stainless. It's logical Feather has settled on this gap as their standard even though the two razors are made with very different materials and manufacturing processes. A two-pass shave yielded nice results but the strokes felt rougher than the All-Stainless. Here, I think the head design and finish quality of the new Feather sets it apart.

In Summary
I'm impressed. This razor does not announce its shaving presence like my "serious" vintage razors, but it gets the job done almost as effectively. The best words I can think of to describe its "feel" are smooth and foolproof. You know how cartridges are generally safe and care free (never mind their shave quality), tolerating even quick shaves without much issue? That's what I get from the Feather. From the get go, I could shave without any fear of an unexpected bite. But unlike say Super Speeds and Techs, I didn't have to work as hard to achieve the same results. I attribute some of this to its weight but I think its beautiful head design and finish makes a big contribution as well. Is this razor for everyone? Probably not. Am I justifying my investment by offering a glowing report? Maybe. But if you're like me, you'll appreciate its beautiful design and precision manufacturing - all wrapped up in a tool that is both effective and a joy to use. Oh, and it will likely outlast you and your offspring.

A few words to justify my ratings:

Price: Expensive but IMO, a great long-term value.
Quality: Impeccable
User Friendly: Simple, three-piece design - it doesn't get much simpler.
Grip: One of the best.
Ease of Blade Replacement: Only a TTO is easier. No surprises.
Aggressiveness: I'll use the "more aggressive is better" approach. The Feather doesn't possess much bite, but don't let that mislead - it's very effective.
Adjustability: n/a
Balance: Excellent!

------------------------------
Bill
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
slantman

I Dream of DE

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Sat May 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
By your thorough review I thought your ratings would be higher(quality, user friendly, ease of blade change and grip) so I don't understand the lower ratings in those categories. None the less thank you for sharing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
texbilly

Bruce Lee of Wet Shaving

Registered: March 2009
Location: Round Rock
Posts: 3520
Review Date: Sat May 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 6
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 8

 






Quote Originally Posted by slantman
View Post

By your thorough review I thought your ratings would be higher(quality, user friendly, ease of blade change and grip) so I don't understand the lower ratings in those categories. None the less thank you for sharing.




Much can be explained by my opinion that no item deserves a "10". Beyond that, I'm not even sure what user friendly is intended to mean but I took it to mean the whole experience (blade replacement, balance, weight, ease of shaving) and not just the shave. If I missed this definition, oops. Blade replacement rating is because TTO and (as pointed out to me) two-piece razors are easier. Within the world of three-piece razors, I suppose it's near perfect.

------------------------------
Bill
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Chisholm

Went Back to the Futur

Registered: December 2007
Location: Somerset England
Posts: 105
Review Date: Fri May 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
I purchased an all stainless steel LUX razor from Poland last year for peanuts. A bit of time working on it with jewellers files, fine grade wet and dry paper and a buffer, have brought the level of fit and finish up to feather standards for a fraction of the price. These new super upmarket razors like the Feather and PILS seem drastically overpriced for what one actually gets for the money.

Cheers,

Martin
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kevan

Mmmm ... Old Spice ... Guy ...

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 3996
Review Date: Fri May 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 5
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 8

 
Why are you posting in the review thread if you don't have this razor?

------------------------------
Proud "Weasel" since 2012
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kevan

Mmmm ... Old Spice ... Guy ...

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 3996
Review Date: Sat May 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 5
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 8

 
Price: At $150, it's too expensive. But it's definitely worth a premium, as much as you could argue that the high-end Edwin Jaggers are worth a premium. And it's not outlandish when you consider the prices straight razors go for, or even the highly-sought Gillettes.



Quality: Are you kidding me? Feather went all out. This thing oozes quality....pure stainless steel perfection. From the finish to the little touches, this is an easy 10. It's even got little ridges to make sure the blade is aligned properly and doesn't move. In fact, the head is machined in such a way that the two pieces fit together naturally; no "Parker wobbling" here. Blade exposure on each side is exact and even. The matte "pearskin" finish is impeccable too. The razor just looks and feels impressive, dare I say "perfect." The design is unique enough to make it seem "modern" at the same time as classic. In fact it resembles a medical instrument in many ways. Just too cool.



At 90g, it's also heavier than most DE razors outside the Merkur Barberpole and custom jobs.



User-Friendly: It's mild enough for a newbie to use, but effective as an everyday contender for a veteran wetshaver.



Grip: A deep diamond knurling pattern and two bands of horizontal stripes, top and bottom, make this basically impossible to drop in the sink.



Blade Replacement: Standard 3-piece design, fits together perfectly, as I said above. I suppose it would be easier as a TTO, but I like 3-piece designs more than 2-piece, personally.



Aggressiveness: The two operative words for this razor are "smooth" and "effective." Is it terribly aggressive? No. Is it as aggressive as an HD or DE89L? No. But is it as effective as they are? Absolutely. Speculated as being a "Tech clone" early on, I thought the same thing at first, but with its weight and its precision head, The Feather hits that sweet spot we so often look for. It delivers a smooth, comfortable shave without as much work as a Tech or Gillette TTO. It also may be a tad smoother-cutting than a DE89L. Just a tad. But don't look for it to mow down a week's worth of stubble like a Slant. This is not the razor for that. It's a gentle, yet very effective tool. I shave every 3 days due to sensitive skin, and it dispatches my stubble with no problem.



Balance: It's a bit bottom-heavy due to the solid handle, but not overly so. It presents no problem when shaving.



Overall, this razor is an amazing piece of quality and workmanship that will last you through a nuclear holocaust. It's no world-beater, however. Can you do just as well with a Merkur or Edwin Jagger? Sure you can. But if you appreciate fine workmanship, impeccable design and precision engineering, you can't miss with the Feather All Stainless Razor.

------------------------------
Proud "Weasel" since 2012
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
superspot

Method Maniac

Registered: January 2010
Location: Mexia, Texas
Posts: 379
Review Date: Mon May 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $175.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): A true work of art
Cons: not agressive enough for me
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 10

 
I got mine from Classicshaving.com on Friday the 21st. The initial packaging was first class in the padded wooden box. Upon opening the box, it was a sight to behold in the hard foam and the package of black label feather blades. No damage was going to occur in shipping here unless it got run over. I showed it to the wife, she looked it over and commented on how nice it was, then I hear “how much” she wasn’t impressed when I said $150.00 but I told her “ It’s solid stainless steel and I will never have to buy another razor”. She didn’t believe it either but said ok. But considering the price of the razor, the packaging was a plus. Inspecting the razor it does have some heft from the solid stainless steel which is great. The handle is well checkered so it will not slip and slide around. Looking at the head from both ends it looks like a perfect fit. Taking the head apart is like to old tech but the two lugs where the blade sits and locks in you should never about alignment. The head is wide enough that it completely covers the ends of the blades also. I also noticed a small lug on all four corners of the head to hold the blade at the corners. This engineering work of funcuntional art. Next, how does it shave?



Saturday & Sunday – Put a new Persona Red in and went through my normal prep, I am not going to vary any on the prep during this test. I was excited as kid in a candy store to try this new thing out. I did my normal two pass, once north south and one south north and clean up. I did find out on my second pass I had to use a little different angle than on my Merkur HD. The shave was good but not as close as normal.



Monday & Tuesday – Put in a new Wilkinson, prep and everything else the same as I normally do, seems like I got a little better shave than with the Red Personas.



Wednesday & Thursday – Put in a new Gillette yellow pack 7 o’clock sharp. Same prep as normal, Shave was noticeably better from the first pass, the second pass was even better. No cuts but just minor irritation, nothing I can’t live with but not crazy about.



Friday & Saturday – Put in a new yellow pack Feather. (Lord what am I about to do here this morning) With the luck I have had with feathers in the past I was somewhat leery. Did I mention I take blood thinners and had a bad experience with a slant and feather blades a while back? Normal prep and here we go. No cuts, had to use what I thought was more pressure than normal even with the Feathers. Shave was pretty good but still nothing like I expected.



Overall I would rate this razor as extremely mild and it would make an excellent starter razor or for someone with sensitive skin, as I said earlier it is a “funcuntional work of art” it just lacks the aggressiveness I really like for a good shave. It is going to be for sale.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wil Dorenbos

Forever the Bald-Faced Baron

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 3985
Review Date: Thu June 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
I agree with the previous review. A near perfect razor, but very mild. For some too mild. But if you do not need an aggressive razor, and have some money to burn, this is the razor for you.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SirWhiskers

Hot Lather High Roller

Registered: December 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 2213
Review Date: Fri June 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 5
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
This razor is outstanding in quality. It is a very smooth but effective razor for me. Some call it mild, I call it smooth. It works best for me with sharp blades such as the included Feather. I am not a big fan of the fancy packaging and the high price, I'd be happier to buy a value version that does not come with the box or blades. For my detailed reviews on how the razor performs for me, follow these links:



Feather SS razor + Feather blade



Feather SS razor + Iridium blade



Feather SS razor + Astra SP blade

------------------------------
Have a great shave!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit SirWhiskers's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
kg0mz

Beyond the Lime Barrier

Registered: January 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 824
Review Date: Sat July 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 5
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
Price - Pretty steep. I do not collect vintage razors, but I have three Merkurs and this Feather. I will probably acquire more razors over time. Hey, this is a hobby for me.



Quality - Beautiful stainless steel. The fit and finish of this razor is flawless.



User friendly - This one takes some getting used to. I suggest giving it 7 days or more to adapt to it. The head configuration is different. You have to fiddle with it, but once you adjust to the angle, pressure issues, and the width of the head it feels right.



Grip - The grip is slip-proof in soapy environments.



Ease of blade replacement - Changing blades is a breeze with this conventional 3-piece. The larger head offers an extra measure of protection from mishaps.



Aggressiveness - I'm not sure this is the right question. I think aggressiveness means something different with this razor. Until you find the angle sweet spot you can do some damage. For me, a Feather blade and lousy hearing made for a dangerous combination. I wear OTE hearing aids, but not while shaving. I had to use a less sharp blade to get enough auditory feedback to know what was going on. Also, for me, any applied pressure made this razor quite aggressive (with a Feather blade).



Balance - The balance is correct for this razor, but it took practice for me to get it.



I like this razor more each day. The first shave was rough not knowing what to expect, and not having any auditory feedback. I am still not used to the width of the head when working below the jaw line. I tend to poke myself with the corners of the head, but no harm what with the blade corners covered.



I have a week of DFS and BBS shaves with Shark stainless and chrome blades. I will practice with a few more blades before returning to a Feather blade. That blade is so sharp (smooth) that I get zero auditory feedback. It is like shaving in silence. Without sound I don't know if I'm whacking down whiskers or also scraping squamous epithelial cells.



I am getting closer and smoother shaves with less irritation with this razor. I think it is worth every penny.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ctr

Personna Grata

Registered: September 2008
Location: Shenandoah National Park
Posts: 698
Review Date: Tue July 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 2
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 6
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 1
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
The Feather All Stainless is very much the talk these days, as to be expected with any new razor. Does it live up to the hype? Well yes, and no.



I have used the Feather All Stainless for 2 weeks now with several varieties of blade.



The razor is attractively packaged, no doubt adding to the high cost of this razor. The price however, is not worth the value in my experience. There are better options in this price range, including a number of mint vintage options.



The quality of the materials, tolerances, fit and finish, are second to none. Stainless steal is different and makes a nice option. The finish is very attractive.



I am less impressed with the usability, or user friendliness of the Feather Stainless. The handle is too long for my tastes, and the oversized head is different. Being more of a traditionalist, I like to see the markings on the blade ends.



The grip is excellent and sure. No chance of this razor slipping out of wet hands. The surface is knurled to perfection.



The ease of blade replacement on the other hand is the worst of any razor I have used. Blade replacement is down right scarey. The ends of the blade are not accessible, and the large screw head is a tight fit thru the center whole of every blade I tried. This presents a serious safety challenge during blade replacement. A big thumbs down on this design feature.



The razor is not aggressive in the least, which is a good thing in my book. However, there are other mild options that shave closer. The Feather All Stainless is none the less, the smoothest razor I have every used, bar none. The blade and guard simply glide accross the face like the razor is floating thru air. Very nice.



There is no adjustability on this three piece razor.



The balance between the handle and head are excellent. A true precision instrument. However, this is one razor I would recommend taking a pass on. Simply too expensive for what you get.

------------------------------
TOFLAC-U
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SUNA

Weeper from the Black Lagoon

Registered: May 2010
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 745
Review Date: Tue August 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
I think the Feather is a top notch razor! The price may seem steep...but it will last for 100+ years!



As for the whiners talking about it being too mild...I think that's a subjective comment. IMHO it's a great shaver!



As for changing the blade...turns to head upside down and place it on the counter. I cannot understand why the poster above has a problem with blade changes. It's easy.

------------------------------
CALGARY GROUP: http://badgerandblade.com/vb/group.php?groupid=165
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit SUNA's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Easttexasman

Styptic Addicted

Registered: June 2010
Location: Tyler,Texas
Posts: 1936
Review Date: Wed September 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
Hard to explain to someone who have never used one but the smooth shaves I get with this razor are wonderful.

I used a Edwin Jagger as my first DE and I see now the grip on it was terrible compared to the Feather AS.

The first blade I used in the Feather AS was a Feather blade and there was a instant love affair created.I have not cheated on my Feather since I obtain her and she will be with me the rest of my life.

This razor was a rad killer for me,I do not even consider purchasing another razor and I have sold off 2 razors and have a few more to go because they are not needed anymore.



Paul

------------------------------
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bonusmarple

I'm an Aqua Velva Man

Registered: November 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1643
Review Date: Sun September 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
Price (8): While not terribly expensive for a 3-piece All Stainless, it is a bit steep. I doubt you could get one of this quality for cheaper. I do put a premium on the material.



Quality (10): I could find nothing wrong with this razor.



User Friendly (10): No issues here, I do not deduct points for the 3-piece design except on blade replacement.



Grip (10): Best grip of any razor I have ever used.



Ease of Blade Replacement (8): Not hard, but not as easy as a Super Speed.



Aggressiveness (7): Clearly this razor was built around the Feather blade where less is more when it comes to aggression. However, I think they could have tweaked it up a bit.



Balance (10): Perfect.



Overall a good razor. I would not recommend this razor for a newbie looking for a BBS. While the standard shave is a nice DFS, the BBS is more difficult to get and requires a few advanced moves to get yourself there. My recommendation would be a J-Hook on the neck and blade buffing on the chin and cheek hollows.

------------------------------
"This is Mrs. Bencours, one of my patients. She thinks she's a sheep." - Gene Wilder
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kcaps

With the Grain Wannabe

Registered: June 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 906
Review Date: Tue November 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 6
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 3
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 9

 
I would not have bought this new because of the cost (yet), but when I got a great deal on the BST I had to snatch it up. I understand the razor will last forever, and really if I felt it shaved well, I would be in LOVE with it, but unfortunately that's not the case.



I can NOT get a great shave from it!!! In order to get even a DFS I have to do a ton of blade buffing. I usually load it with a feather, and have tried it with many blades, but it is the same story. I can get a much better shave from half a dozen other razors that together still make up less than half of the cost of my Feather.



I was very disappointed with it. I was anticipating getting rid of most of my razors and sticking to the AS if I loved it, but alas, not so!

------------------------------
Arguing with a lawyer is like mud wrestling with a pig: after a while you realize that the pig actually enjoys it.
-Steve

Calgarians unite! Join the B&B Calgary and Area social group!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.