SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 53,672
Products 3,170
Reviews 20,481
Views 5,812,757

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« September 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Random Products -
[Other Shaving Related Goods (Reviews)]


thumb_Pre_de_Provence.jpg
No-Name Tea Pot


thumb_stetson-gift-set-coty-gift-set-men-includes-cologne-spray-after-shave-gel-after-shave569114.jp
Marvy Rubber Mug


thumb_merkur_15c.jpg
Da Vinci cleaning s


thumb_P1050724.JPG
Art of Shaving Unsc


thumb_R_41_1_600.jpg
Muhle Clay Shaving


grps.jpg
The Gentlemens Refin

· more ·
 



thumb_b1605elixerblackwash800.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Merkurious
Posts: 1,421
Registered: February 2009

 

Steve Woodhead Pottery
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 3658 Fri August 31, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $49.00 9.5

 

Description:
Steve Woodhead Scuttles

http://www.studiopottery.co.uk/potte...ile.php?id=174

Recently i got a Shaving Scuttle from UK based pottery producer : studio pottery(Steve Woodhead).

One of the best Shaving Scuttle seller to deal with including worldwide shipping .Price are very good. it was 5.25 Large Scuttle.The Scuttle is a one piece item, the lather bowl is not separate. The bowl incorporates throwing rings, with a deep spiral in the base, giving good purchase on the shaving brush when creating a soapy lather. You can happily pour boiling water into your scuttle, as well as re-heat in to boiling point in the microwave if you want. Scuttles made from standard stoneware clay which they make mugs and ovenware dishes from. I pour 60 C boiled water and The scuttle keeps the lather hot for at least 15 minutes. Built lather very well.its enough for 3 passes..im very pleased with the scuttle. It is a very nicely made, attractive piece of pottery that is as funtional as it is handsome. Colors looks amazing..Strickly advice to see shaving Scuttle made by Steve Woodhead. Dont worry it will broke or something happen to it because Steve always communicate with you until delivered securely.Be sure that if your scuttle have an accident in the shipping steve will cover your payment or sent new one for you. Steve Woodhead is great person to deal with.He is staying behind what he is selling.

Dimensions:

Outer bowl is 5.25" (13.2 cm) wide by 3" (8 cm) high

Lather bowl is 3.5" (8.7 cm) wide by 1.75" (4.5 cm) deep

The scuttle holds 3/4 pint of water ( 400 ml or 15 fl oz.)



Regards

Melyus.
Keywords: Steve Woodhead Pottery

<<
thumb_ASCO_Super_Stainless_.jpg thumb_1445.jpg thumb_b1605elixerblackwash800.jpg thumb_eshave.jpg thumb_Semogue_1470_Natural_Boar_Bristle_Shaving_Brush.jpeg
>>

 

Author
melyus

Merkurious

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 1421
Review Date: Mon May 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: 10

 
Steve Woodhead Scuttles

http://www.studiopottery.co.uk/potte...ile.php?id=174

Recently i got a Shaving Scuttle from UK based pottery producer : studio pottery(Steve Woodhead).

One of the best Shaving Scuttle seller to deal with including worldwide shipping .Price are very good. it was 5.25 Large Scuttle.The Scuttle is a one piece item, the lather bowl is not separate. The bowl incorporates throwing rings, with a deep spiral in the base, giving good purchase on the shaving brush when creating a soapy lather. You can happily pour boiling water into your scuttle, as well as re-heat in to boiling point in the microwave if you want. Scuttles made from standard stoneware clay which they make mugs and ovenware dishes from. I pour 60 C boiled water and The scuttle keeps the lather hot for at least 15 minutes. Built lather very well.its enough for 3 passes..im very pleased with the scuttle. It is a very nicely made, attractive piece of pottery that is as funtional as it is handsome. Colors looks amazing..Strickly advice to see shaving Scuttle made by Steve Woodhead. Dont worry it will broke or something happen to it because Steve always communicate with you until delivered securely.Be sure that if your scuttle have an accident in the shipping steve will cover your payment or sent new one for you. Steve Woodhead is great person to deal with.He is staying behind what he is selling.

Dimensions:

Outer bowl is 5.25" (13.2 cm) wide by 3" (8 cm) high

Lather bowl is 3.5" (8.7 cm) wide by 1.75" (4.5 cm) deep

The scuttle holds 3/4 pint of water ( 400 ml or 15 fl oz.)



Regards

Melyus.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TenorClef

Gillette Tech-nician

Registered: December 2009
Location: UK, Yorkshire
Posts: 593
Review Date: Sun July 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: -1

 
I've also just purchased one of Steve's scuttles, i can't offer a review yet as i only clicked the buy button yesterday. The concept of the design seems solid and visually its a real treat to look at. I will however post back my finding in due course.

------------------------------
Merkur 12C & Simpson Chubby 1 tend to be my main tools.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit TenorClef's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
TenorClef

Gillette Tech-nician

Registered: December 2009
Location: UK, Yorkshire
Posts: 593
Review Date: Tue July 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: -1

 
The Steve Woodhead Scuttle arrived today, its a real beauty. Quite heavy and compact. I can see it fitting the bill perfectly as a scuttle designed to keep your shaving brush warm between passes. Attached are a few photos of my new scuttle. The brush gives you an idea of the actual size.



Update, used the scuttle this morning, Whow what a difference hot lather makes to a shave. It really did feel like one of the bests I've had to date. I've now filled in the ratings for this item. I dropped just a couple of marks for the price of the scuttle but perhaps the scuttle is reassuringly priced? Either way i can't fault the design.

------------------------------
Merkur 12C & Simpson Chubby 1 tend to be my main tools.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit TenorClef's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Darnell

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: January 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN, USA
Posts: 115
Review Date: Wed June 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $49.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very high quality design. Holds heat well. Grooves in the bowl help build lather.
Cons: None
Price: 10
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: 10

 
Ordered via his store on Ebay.

I got a larger sized scuttle on sale, because it has a minor glaze fault. The fault is so minor, I'm surprised he even offered a discount for a glaze fault so little. But it only further confirms that Steve is a total perfectionist. So you can't go wrong in terms of quality in ordering from him.



My scuttle took 13 business days, 20 calendar days to arrive. (There was the Memorial Day holiday during the shipping period.) It was very well packaged, in a large box, that had multiple layers of bubble wrap and foam cushioning.



The scuttle performs very well. I can put water in the heating chamber and the top basin, heat it in the microwave for 90 seconds and take it out with my bare hands. Then walk it upstairs to my bathroom to shave. It keeps things very warm while not being overly hot outside. I then put my brush in to let it heat up and pour the water from the inner basin by tilting it towards the handle and letting the basin water fall out while the heating chamber water remains in its seperate area. This helps me have both a warm brush and warm area to make later.



When making later, I found the grooves in the scuttle help the lather build quickly, along with the fact the heat also helps. So my scuttle was exploding with lather after far fewer swirls than when done in a shaving mug.



I do a 3.5 pass shave daily, which takes around 30 minutes to complete at my pace. I had warm lather the entire shave. I did have to direct my brush towards the lower part of the scuttle in the latter passes to ensure I still got warm later, but the bottom line is I had warm lather for the entire shave.



If you don't like the scuttles available on his Ebay store, Steven can custom make one to your liking.



My Scuttle:

Handmade Shaving Scuttle #2B++



Outer bowl is 6.5 inches (16.5 cm) wide by 3 inches (7 cm) high



Lather bowl is 5.25 inches (13 cm) wide by 2.25 inches (6 cm) deep



The scuttle holds 1/2 pint of water ( 250 ml or 10 fl oz.)



The price I paid was 30GBP + 25GBP Air shipping, 55GBP total. Given exchange rates vary, you have to calculate the cost. At my time of purchase 30GBP was equal to about $49 USA.



You can get ground shipping for less, but that takes MUCH LONGER.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
keithmax
Floris Gump

Registered: June 2012
Location: Seoul, South Korea
Posts: 940
Review Date: Fri August 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): looks great, keeps my lather warm
Cons: non
Price: 7
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 9
Durability: 10
Packaging: 1

 
I have the white version of this scuttle. It looks great and works great. It is huge, but you can order different sizes.



Steve communicates, if very helpful and straight forward. Plus he is international shipping friendly.

------------------------------
Keith
Proud member of BEAST
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.