SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 48,836
Products 3,104
Reviews 20,243
Views 5,174,460

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Random Products -
[Strops (Reviews)]


d_702.jpg
Tony Miller's Heirlo


DSF5691.jpg
Imperial Shave Pegas


thumb_Soap.jpg
Hand American "


thumb_Shave_Set_1.JPG
Dovo Prima Rindlede


thumb_JC_brilliantine.jpg
Straight Razor Desig


thumb_dkny.jpg
New Ambrose Strop l

· more ·
 



thumb_g1000_20001.JPG









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Lather Learner
Posts: 65
Registered: November 2009
Location: manchester, tn

 

3" black cowhide leather strop
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 1809 Sun May 2, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
this strop is very well constructed from thick cowhide. the strop area is 22" giving plenty of room for longer strokes on the blade. overall length is 32" with the "D" rings(also available with leather handles)

the draw on this strop is in my opinion better than my red latigo. this strop really improves the shave of my straights that i have used on it.

priced at about $50 it is a absolute great deal and will give years of use and satisfaction.

this product made by a true craftsman and member here. i would highly recommend everyone to try one of these well built and great looking strops.
Keywords: 3" black cowhide leather strop

<<
thumb_dus.jpg thumb_m_abb32f35eab644e5b8d90b27e13ed452.jpg thumb_g1000_20001.JPG thumb_Shave_Set_1.JPG thumb_Soap.jpg
>>

 

Author
59caddy

Lather Learner

Registered: November 2009
Location: manchester, tn
Posts: 65
Review Date: Sat March 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 10
Amount of Draw: 10
Thickness of Leather: 10
Efficacy: 10
Overall Value: 10

 
this strop is very well constructed from thick cowhide. the strop area is 22" giving plenty of room for longer strokes on the blade. overall length is 32" with the "D" rings(also available with leather handles)

the draw on this strop is in my opinion better than my red latigo. this strop really improves the shave of my straights that i have used on it.

priced at about $50 it is a absolute great deal and will give years of use and satisfaction.

this product made by a true craftsman and member here. i would highly recommend everyone to try one of these well built and great looking strops.

------------------------------
"
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ControlFreak1

Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: February 2010
Location: In your attic, ....
Posts: 8
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 10
Amount of Draw: 10
Thickness of Leather: 10
Efficacy: 10
Overall Value: 10

 
Yes indeed, a great value for newbies or the old timer who has been through all of the various 'ADs' alike, I would recommend the 'D' ring handles also, it allows me to get a much better grip than the leather handle which is more common on strops and pull the strop nice and taut to have a very nice surface for stropping my straight razors.
Looking forward to Trey getting his new site up and going.

Thanks again Trey, and great craftsmanship,
almost as good as I could do if I really wanted to do such a thing.
(just kidding)(mine would be far superior)

Rod
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
auk1124

For Sale: One Vote (NIB)

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 2755
Review Date: Mon April 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 10
Amount of Draw: 8
Thickness of Leather: 7
Efficacy: 9
Overall Value: 10

 
Have been using one of Trey's full-sized strops for about a week straight.

My only other strop is a Filly, so Trey's strop is my first "big" strop. My opinion:



Fit/Finish: Mine is a 3" black piece of vegetable tanned leather combined with a 3" piece of what appears to be nylon webbing. The strop is put together sturdily with Chicago screws, D rings, and a good strong latch. No imperfections in either the leather or the webbing that I can see. I give it a 10.



Amount of draw: Not as much draw as the Ken Rup Filly, but I can definitely tell I'm moving my blades across leather when I use it. I'll give it an 8 on the draw.



Thickness of leather: Trey's leather is certainly no thick hunk of cowhide like the Filly. But there is a lot of strop here for $55, so it is hard to complain. The leather seems thick enough that it would stand up to minor nicks, but I don't want to cut this thing too deeply, or I might end up with two smaller strops. I'll give it a seven on thickness.



Efficacy: Being a total noob on straights this is hard for me to judge as I do not have a whole lot to benchmark against, but stropping on this big black monster is easy, and I think as a noob it makes my stropping better. Plus I like the webbing as well, it really seems to help keep a sharp edge. I'll give Trey a 9 because his strop is very user-friendly.



Overall Value: Are you kidding? A long, well-constructed 3" leather and webbing strop for $55 delivered CONUS? 10 all the way here. I can't imagine a better deal being out there.

------------------------------
This is what happens when you find a stranger in the Alps!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Nerdman

Weeper from the Black Lagoon

Registered: February 2010
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 758
Review Date: Sun May 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 10
Amount of Draw: 10
Thickness of Leather: 10
Efficacy: 10
Overall Value: 10

 
I purchased the short version of this strop. I am new to straights and stropping and I only have the Larry Andro Strop to base my review on. But I have seen and held many strops, and this Strop is right up there with the good ones. I noticed that it is much easier to hold with the d rings than a leather handle. The 3 inch wide leather makes it very easy to use. The webbed strop is also very nice. For the price you pay you are getting an incredible value. The strop is very well made and it looks awesome! I reccommend this strop to everyone, it will not let you down!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.