SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 53,109
Products 3,162
Reviews 20,452
Views 5,715,605

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« September 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Random Products -
[Shaving Soaps (Reviews)]


thumb_emshavelogo.jpg
Taylor of Old Bond


shopcassell-wood_1980_64330482.jpg
van der Hagen - Gly


thumb_Gillette_lady_9744_12.jpg
Trumper's Limes Soa


featherrazor3.JPG
Diogenes Club Shavi


thumb_bluebird.jpg
Mama Bear Aromatic P


thumb_n6olr5.jpg
Nana June's Patchou

· more ·
 



thumb_CromaStabil.JPG









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Lather Learner
Posts: 58
Registered: July 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC

 

Pre de Provence Shaving Soap
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 1845 Sun August 25, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $12.00 9.0

 

Description:
I have been working with new soaps for the past month. I started with Tabac soap, working on my lathering technique. I then moved to Mama Bear shaving soap (Sapmoss), and Bigelow Cream in the green tube. For the past two weeks, I have been using nothing but Pre de Provence soap for my shaves. I found Tabac to dry out my skin, but Pre de Provence leaves my skin feeling moisturized. It is easy to create a thick meringue-like creamy lather from the soap using my Savile Row 2824. I have tried both face lathering and bowl lathering using Pre de Provence with Astra blades and my Edwin Jagger DE89L, and have had great shaves either way. This soap has given me the best shaves yet.



Price: More than Mama Bear soaps, but Phil at Bullgoose shaving supplies has it for around $14.00. For a soap over 5 ounces, it is well worth the price and a great value.



Quality: The shea butter really helps my skin, and I have had nothing but great shaves since I started using it. It lathers easier than Tabac, and is very slick.



Scent: Mild, with hints of sage and rosemary. This scent doesn't last long, but will not interfere with a cologne or EdT.



Lather: The soap is practically a solid cream. After a minute of loading my brush, I created a thick lather that was very protective. Great value here.



Efficacy: As I have stated a few times (and it really does bear repeating), the lather is protective, thick, and does not bother or irritate my sensitive skin. I do not know if I will go back to Tabac after working with this soap.



Moisturizing: My skin still needs an aftershave after a 3 pass shave, however it is close. I could probably do without the aftershave and be OK. Far more moisturizing than any other soap that I have tried. It has to be the shea butter.



To conclude: This is a great soap that is a wonderful value. It will last for a while, and creates a lather that is a joy to shave with. Do yourself a favor and at least try Pre de Provence soap. I think that you will be happy that you did, but YMMV.
Keywords: Pre de Provence Shaving Soap

<<
Parlor_ShvSoap-2T.jpg

 

Author
Cloning Jeff

Lather Learner

Registered: July 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 58
Review Date: Tue February 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Scent: 8
Lather: 10
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 9

 
I have been working with new soaps for the past month. I started with Tabac soap, working on my lathering technique. I then moved to Mama Bear shaving soap (Sapmoss), and Bigelow Cream in the green tube. For the past two weeks, I have been using nothing but Pre de Provence soap for my shaves. I found Tabac to dry out my skin, but Pre de Provence leaves my skin feeling moisturized. It is easy to create a thick meringue-like creamy lather from the soap using my Savile Row 2824. I have tried both face lathering and bowl lathering using Pre de Provence with Astra blades and my Edwin Jagger DE89L, and have had great shaves either way. This soap has given me the best shaves yet.



Price: More than Mama Bear soaps, but Phil at Bullgoose shaving supplies has it for around $14.00. For a soap over 5 ounces, it is well worth the price and a great value.



Quality: The shea butter really helps my skin, and I have had nothing but great shaves since I started using it. It lathers easier than Tabac, and is very slick.



Scent: Mild, with hints of sage and rosemary. This scent doesn't last long, but will not interfere with a cologne or EdT.



Lather: The soap is practically a solid cream. After a minute of loading my brush, I created a thick lather that was very protective. Great value here.



Efficacy: As I have stated a few times (and it really does bear repeating), the lather is protective, thick, and does not bother or irritate my sensitive skin. I do not know if I will go back to Tabac after working with this soap.



Moisturizing: My skin still needs an aftershave after a 3 pass shave, however it is close. I could probably do without the aftershave and be OK. Far more moisturizing than any other soap that I have tried. It has to be the shea butter.



To conclude: This is a great soap that is a wonderful value. It will last for a while, and creates a lather that is a joy to shave with. Do yourself a favor and at least try Pre de Provence soap. I think that you will be happy that you did, but YMMV.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tsmba

doing the deed outdoors is best!

Registered: May 2009
Location: Middle of MO
Posts: 1967
Review Date: Mon February 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 6
Quality: 9
Scent: 9
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 8

 
I had a puck of this soap sitting in my closet unused, until I happened upon Ron's review. So, I dug it out, tried it, and kicked myself for the delay! I'd be hard-pressed to come up with any negative comment about this product.



I, of course, had read all the "wonders of tallow" posts, so I focused on trying those soaps. I have a few glycerine-based soaps that are nice, but this is my first shea butter product. It easily generate loads of slick, fragrant lather, shaves beautifully, and washes away clean.



Its a keeper!

------------------------------
Tom S.
Middle of MO

“Much of the social history of the Western world, over the past three decades, has been a history of replacing what worked with what sounded good.”
-Thomas Sowell

"The cost of freedom is eternal vigilance."
-Thomas Jefferson
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
stoopidhead

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: March 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 134
Review Date: Wed March 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Scent:
Lather:
Efficacy:
Moisturizing:

 
i love this soap! the shea butter makes my skin feel great and the price for a puck this size is awesome. plus, i like that it comes in a travel-friendly container. :) will definately be in the rotation
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kg0mz

Beyond the Lime Barrier

Registered: January 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 821
Review Date: Thu July 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 9
Scent: 7
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 10

 
I rationalized buying and trying this by arguing that I needed a soap in a tin for travel. It is a nice tin. It is a very nice soap. SWMBO is familiar with shea butter and thought that would be a good thing to put in shaving soap.



I think I paid under $15. Well, you do get a tin with it, but it is a little more than a number of decent soaps. I've paid more for a puck of DR Harris and didn't bat an eye. A more cost-conscious wet shaver might point out that you can get four pucks of Col. Conk for about the same money.



The quality, in my opinion, is very nice. It looks expensive. It is impressive in that tin what with the birds...cool. They don't last long, the birds, but these guys had a plan to impress and they executed it.



I don't remember being aware of the scent other than it smells like soap, a nice soap.



It lathers nicely. I can load the brush once and build three or four passes in the scuttle without going back to the puck. (Scuttle? No, I haven't actually traveled with this soap, yet). The lather holds up well. I like shaving with it.



Efficacy? It produces the desired effect. I can say no more about that.



Moisturizing may be its strongest suit. I forgo the Thayer's unscented with aloe and go right to the AS. No dry skin with this soap. I gather its the shea butter.



In conclusion: I recommend it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JeffJ

Peer of the Tallow

Registered: June 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2529
Review Date: Sun August 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $12.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Scent, Performance, Packaging
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Scent: 10
Lather: 9
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 8

 
This is one of my top soaps.



Price - Not inexpensive. In my opinion, a good value. The puck is big and hard so it lasts a long time.



Quality - Very nice. The tin is also first rate.



Scent - My favorite French soap scent and top three overall.



Lather - Gobs of thick lather. In my experience very easy to lather.



Efficacy - Good



Moisturizing - Very good

------------------------------
Gear & Wiki - FAQ - Google B&B
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.