StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 67,068
Products 3,242
Reviews 20,836
Views 7,009,959

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« August 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Random Products -
[Straight Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_DSC_1066.jpg
Thiers-Issard Grelo

[ Straight Razors (Reviews) ]


Carbo_5.jpg
Joseph Rogers "

[ Straight Razors (Reviews) ]


thumb_SANY2037.JPG
Japanese Frameback:

[ Straight Razors (Reviews) ]

· more ·
 



thumb_julian_2-3_months_142.JPG














  • Pin It

Poster Info

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow
Posts: 132
Registered: January 2009

 

Gold Dollar 200 Stailess Steel 7/8

Reviews Views Date of last review
3 3681 Thu February 25, 2010

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
The razor came via mysteryrazor.com. (Thank you, Jay!)



I have heard a lot about great shaving qualities and easy honing properties of the Golden Dollar blades. Well, the razor did not disappointed. Yes, it needed to be honed, but 30 laps on Chinese 12K was all it took to get the balde to the shave-ready condition.



The blade itself is heavy, as any 7/8 should be, and the shaving is smooth. I managed to get to BBS with just WTG and XTG passes. The scales are cheap, plastic red wood imitation, which does not bother me. Pins are tight. The blade/scales alignment is good.



I have not had any prior experience with stainless steel 7/8 razors, but it definitely beats down carbon-based Solingen blades I have or tried. To be objective, I would not take it over TI's Le Grelot 6/8, which is my favorite so far. But people in Solingen should be anxious: Chinese have definitely figured out how to make decent blades at a fraction of the German price.
Keywords: Gold Dollar 200 Stailess Steel 7/8
<<
thumb_KanonWood_BTL_BX.jpg thumb_DSC06424.JPG thumb_julian_2-3_months_142.JPG thumb_parkerSR2.jpg thumb_uplands.jpg
>>

 

Author
Sputnik
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrowRegistered: January 2009Posts: 132
Review Date: Sat January 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 10
Craftsmanship: 5
Easy to Sharpen: 10
Lasting Edge: 10
Shaving Smoothness: 10
Easy to Maintain: 10
The razor came via mysteryrazor.com. (Thank you, Jay!)


I have heard a lot about great shaving qualities and easy honing properties of the Golden Dollar blades. Well, the razor did not disappointed. Yes, it needed to be honed, but 30 laps on Chinese 12K was all it took to get the balde to the shave-ready condition.


The blade itself is heavy, as any 7/8 should be, and the shaving is smooth. I managed to get to BBS with just WTG and XTG passes. The scales are cheap, plastic red wood imitation, which does not bother me. Pins are tight. The blade/scales alignment is good.


I have not had any prior experience with stainless steel 7/8 razors, but it definitely beats down carbon-based Solingen blades I have or tried. To be objective, I would not take it over TI's Le Grelot 6/8, which is my favorite so far. But people in Solingen should be anxious: Chinese have definitely figured out how to make decent blades at a fraction of the German price.
This user is offline
coolbluewater
I found a dead BadgerRegistered: January 2010Location: SeattlePosts: 507
Review Date: Wed February 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Craftsmanship:
Easy to Sharpen:
Lasting Edge:
Shaving Smoothness:
Easy to Maintain:
Just going by the grammar and sentence structure alone, the above "review" is nothing more than a propaganda push and shill.

Gee, I guess those Solingen guys had it all wrong for hundreds of years.
Stainless better than carbon for a straight blade? What planet are you on?
This user is offline
Sputnik
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrowRegistered: January 2009Posts: 132
Review Date: Thu February 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 10
Craftsmanship: 5
Easy to Sharpen: 10
Lasting Edge: 10
Shaving Smoothness: 10
Easy to Maintain: 10
Propaganda is a big word. I hope you are neither a Commie nor a Nazi. In any case, I suggest you try one of GD razors before making snide comments. Judge it for yourself and post a review. People like you sometimes just ruin the forum we are trying to use as a community resource. So, pretty please, with sugar on top, behave.
This user is offline


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.