SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 53,585
Products 3,169
Reviews 20,477
Views 5,802,716

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« September 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Random Products -
[Strops (Reviews)]


DSF5691.jpg
Imperial Shave Pegas


thumb_kells.jpeg
New standard settin


thumb_HR_401-020-00__Merkur_42C_1904.jpg
Straight Razor Desi


thumb_american_crew.jpg
TM Heirlom 2" A


thumb_dus.jpg
3"English Brid


thumb_m_abb32f35eab644e5b8d90b27e13ed452.jpg
Ambrose Custom Span

· more ·
 



thumb_Shave_Set_1.JPG









  • Pin It

Poster Info

In M3 Remission
Posts: 23
Registered: November 2009
Location: Rome, Italy

 

Dovo Prima Rindleder 1 3/4'' (two side)
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 2412 Sun July 28, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $80.00 7.0

 

Description:
Not everything is better, here in the Old World. Sure we have the three T, Harris, Dovo, Thiers-Issard, Filarmonica, Mastro Livi and a plethora of vintage pieces. But there's something we haven't got. We have no quality strops. Sure, we have a lot of industrial made strops, but the difference with a Miller or a Kitayama is simply embarassing. For a lot of us Italians this Dovo strop (or his paddle cousin) is the one and the last we'll buy. Sad, huh?



I have this strop, double sided (linen at the back) and a 3'' Red Latigo Miller Artisan.



Fit & Finish

Not bad, for an industrial made cheap(ish) product. The leather is smooth, the linen is not creased and the metal fittings are well made. There are no screws, everything is pasted and stitched; once damaged, this strop goes straight in the bin.



Amount of Draw

Very very little draw. This, and the reduced width, makes its use quite complicated for a novice (X movements galore, with no pressure at all). Alas, on this side of the Ocean, a strop larger than 2'' is quite difficult to obtain.



Thickness of Leather

Average. Enough said.



Efficacy

Per se, the leather side is not so good, without the linen the rating will be about 3. Use the linen side everyday before the leather, and this strop starts to become a good value for the money.



Overall Value

I think that for a mere "razor user" (one or two hollow ground pieces, bought new and carefully honed and preserved), this can be a good strop. A vintage collector, with many exoteric pieces (wedges, japanese...), should steer clear and buy something with a lot more draw (Russian leather, Latigo or Horsehide).



After I bought the Miller, I recycled this one by pasting the linen side with CrOx (french paste, mysterious brand). Now I use it sometimes, to remember myself why I prefer the Latigo
Keywords: Dovo Prima Rindleder 1 3/4'' (two side)

<<
thumb_m_abb32f35eab644e5b8d90b27e13ed452.jpg thumb_g1000_20001.JPG thumb_Shave_Set_1.JPG thumb_Soap.jpg thumb_DSC06089.JPG
>>

 

Author
Zino Davidoff

In M3 Remission

Registered: November 2009
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 23
Review Date: Tue January 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 6
Amount of Draw: 3
Thickness of Leather: 5
Efficacy: 6
Overall Value: 7

 
Not everything is better, here in the Old World. Sure we have the three T, Harris, Dovo, Thiers-Issard, Filarmonica, Mastro Livi and a plethora of vintage pieces. But there's something we haven't got. We have no quality strops. Sure, we have a lot of industrial made strops, but the difference with a Miller or a Kitayama is simply embarassing. For a lot of us Italians this Dovo strop (or his paddle cousin) is the one and the last we'll buy. Sad, huh?



I have this strop, double sided (linen at the back) and a 3'' Red Latigo Miller Artisan.



Fit & Finish

Not bad, for an industrial made cheap(ish) product. The leather is smooth, the linen is not creased and the metal fittings are well made. There are no screws, everything is pasted and stitched; once damaged, this strop goes straight in the bin.



Amount of Draw

Very very little draw. This, and the reduced width, makes its use quite complicated for a novice (X movements galore, with no pressure at all). Alas, on this side of the Ocean, a strop larger than 2'' is quite difficult to obtain.



Thickness of Leather

Average. Enough said.



Efficacy

Per se, the leather side is not so good, without the linen the rating will be about 3. Use the linen side everyday before the leather, and this strop starts to become a good value for the money.



Overall Value

I think that for a mere "razor user" (one or two hollow ground pieces, bought new and carefully honed and preserved), this can be a good strop. A vintage collector, with many exoteric pieces (wedges, japanese...), should steer clear and buy something with a lot more draw (Russian leather, Latigo or Horsehide).



After I bought the Miller, I recycled this one by pasting the linen side with CrOx (french paste, mysterious brand). Now I use it sometimes, to remember myself why I prefer the Latigo

------------------------------
The monk up there is Ockam. Got it?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Leche

Badger Buddha

Registered: January 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3289
Review Date: Fri March 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 6
Amount of Draw: 7
Thickness of Leather: 5
Efficacy: 6
Overall Value: 6

 
This is my third strop, I also have a TM Latigo and a Vintage horsehide. I bought this to leave at work because it was cheap, small, and available locally.



Fit & Finish: Nothing about this strop says it will withstand the time but it should last reasonably long with some basic care. Components are small and sewn together. The rings are small gauge and the swivel isn't very smooth. The linen is thin and rough and is also loaded with white paste. The linen has a sag to it and is difficult to get tight. The leather though is clean cut and there is no blemishes or scarring. A nice smooth surface.



Draw: At first it almost seemed to be draw-less. Very light but not really in a good way. I worked some stiff Speick lather into it which darkened it up and gave it a nice draw, somewhere between latigo and horse.



Thickness of Leather: This is relatively thin leather, not paper thin but thin none the less.



Efficacy: It is a very narrow strop but I like that a lot. I don't like larger than 2". The linen does a good job prepping the blade and the leather does pretty good after the Speick treatment.



Overall Value: For what I was looking for this strop fits the bill pretty good. I don't expect it to look good and be a display piece but for storing in my locker and stropping a razor it does fine. If this was my daily at home it would probably be disappointing.

------------------------------
~Anthony~
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Luc

Shave Stick Addict

Registered: December 2008
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 37230
Review Date: Sat May 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Fit & Finish: 8
Amount of Draw: 8
Thickness of Leather: 9
Efficacy: 8
Overall Value: 8

 
I didn't use a lot of strops. I didn't went crazy and got a few vintage and modern strops. I started with one and it's this one. I think it's fairly safe to review it today as I used it for more than 6 months now.



Sure, this is a very narrow strop, I hated the X pattern for a while. I got another strop, 3" and decided after a month that I prefer the X pattern, I find the finish to be better. That might be me...



Good starter strop? Yes, that was my first strop and it's what I use today.



Draw? Well unsure but I will go with low as it doesn't pull much. The leather is very soft.



That strop has a good thickness which is great as I nicked it quite a lot. A bit of sandpaper does miracles. It doesn't look pretty but it works!



I'm very happy with that strop, if it would be a tiny bit larger, I think it would be awesome. (2" or 2.5").

------------------------------
Cheers, Luc - My Gear(Wiki) - Have a question, PM a mod. That's why we're here!
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
travisking544

Went Back to the Futur

Registered: July 2013
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 108
Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good for a travel kit
Cons: not wide enough and too expensive
Fit & Finish: 9
Amount of Draw: 9
Thickness of Leather: 7
Efficacy: 8
Overall Value: 5

 
its my first strop, but after I get my second I will only use this for my travel shave bag. its too narrow and it was too expensive. very short too

------------------------------
Cheers, Travis
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.