StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 64,637
Products 3,227
Reviews 20,765
Views 6,664,268

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


thumb_bellag.jpg
Edwin Jagger DE89

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]


thumb_pd-125ml-Face-wash-HR.jpg
The Art of Shaving

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]


image1.jpg
Maggard MR10

[ Safety Razors (Reviews) ]

· more ·
 



thumb_lustray_bay_rum.gif














  • Pin It

Poster Info

official B&B washroom attendant
Posts: 9,798
Registered: June 2009
Location: Michigan's Thumb

 

Sabi Gen 1 DE Razor

Reviews Views Date of last review
5 1940 Thu January 21, 2010

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
I really wanted to like this razor. I acquired it from Shaveabuck for an intro special of $9.95, price is now $14.95.



The razor is of solid brass construction, which is certainly unique in the modern day razor market.



The overall construction closely follows the build style of a Gillette Knack, but unfortunately is very shoddy at best.



The punched out parts of the razor have jagged edges, and the TTO doors are uneven, with one locking down more, than the other. The TTO mechanism seems extremely loose, and rattles when open.



The uneven doors mean that the blade is not evenly curved when the full pressure of the doors is applied.



The razor seemed to shave fine, but I certainly can't recommend it. The Ming Shi, and Weishi are both at a similar price point, and don't suffer from this level of shoddy construction.



Further discussion of this razor can be found here:



Sabi Gen DE Razor made in Pakistan.



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...r/SabiGen1.jpg



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...PICT0007-2.jpg



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...PICT0012-1.jpg
Keywords: Sabi Gen 1 DE Razor
<<
DE89_Barley.jpg

 

Author
michiganlover
official B&B washroom attendantRegistered: June 2009Location: Michigan's ThumbPosts: 9798
Review Date: Thu December 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 7
I really wanted to like this razor. I acquired it from Shaveabuck for an intro special of $9.95, price is now $14.95.


The razor is of solid brass construction, which is certainly unique in the modern day razor market.


The overall construction closely follows the build style of a Gillette Knack, but unfortunately is very shoddy at best.


The punched out parts of the razor have jagged edges, and the TTO doors are uneven, with one locking down more, than the other. The TTO mechanism seems extremely loose, and rattles when open.


The uneven doors mean that the blade is not evenly curved when the full pressure of the doors is applied.


The razor seemed to shave fine, but I certainly can't recommend it. The Ming Shi, and Weishi are both at a similar price point, and don't suffer from this level of shoddy construction.


Further discussion of this razor can be found here:


Sabi Gen DE Razor made in Pakistan.


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...r/SabiGen1.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...PICT0007-2.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...PICT0012-1.jpg
----------------------------
~~JOHN~~*Founding member of ALPHA Team*
This user is offline
bonusmarple
I'm an Aqua Velva ManRegistered: November 2007Location: Houston, TexasPosts: 1642
Review Date: Sat December 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly: 1
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability:
Balance:
Thin metal doors with a sloppy opening mechanism and crooked blade seating. This thing is pure crap on a stick. I got 2 shaves and then the door fell off when I was changing the blade, so here is my review.


Price (0) : anything more than zero dollars is too much

Quality (0) : it falls apart

User Friendly (0) : it falls apart

Grip (9) : good grip

Ease of replacement (0) : not too easy without a door

Aggressiveness (5) : mild shaver

Adjustability (0) : not adjustable

Balance (0) : it didn't land the way I wanted it when I threw it in the trash, so the balance was off.
----------------------------
"This is Mrs. Bencours, one of my patients. She thinks she's a sheep." - Gene Wilder
This user is offline
felizcortez
In M3 RemissionRegistered: December 2009Posts: 24
Review Date: Wed December 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:
I tried this razor for the first time this afternoon. Please bear in mind this was my first DE shave ever so there is also probably some lack of technique to the shave. Michiganlover was gracious enough to provide this in the PIF contest and so I am hence writing a review.

Overall Construction:
The head of the razor seems to be the weak link in the design. The blade sits slightly off center and the locking mechanisms do not come apply pressure to the blade evenly.

The handle seems to be assembled well up until the screw mechanism that locks down the blade locks. I found it difficult to turn and was uneven in the torque required to turn. This could be due to the uneven locking mechanisms. I did like the brass look of the razor. It is also rather heavy, even though I don't have anything to compare it to. I did enjoy the rather long handle which made it very easy to get a good grip on the razor. The grooves in the handle instill confidence that it won't slip out of your fingers.

The Shave:
I did not notice any issues with the shave. I was able to effectively remove the 3 day growth without any issues. It should be noted, I have a very sparse beard that is primarily concentrated around the chin. I was able to achieve a shave similar to what I get with a 2 bladed disposable in one pass with this razor. Only a few bloody spots afterwards which I attribute to mild acne at those sites.

My face basically felt the same as when I had used a disposable after the shave. My skin was not irritated and felt smooth when going with the grain.
This user is offline
ShaveAddict
J Hooking JunkerRegistered: September 2009Location: MontrealPosts: 1469
Review Date: Sat January 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:
I guess that's what happen when you see: made in Pakistan:9898:
----------------------------
-jon
This user is offline
Pauldog
Fusion FlunkyRegistered: August 2005Posts: 94
Review Date: Thu January 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:
Today I stumbled upon the Sabi selling for $7.99 at shaveabuck.com. (I had never heard of it until 10 minutes ago.) It sounds like I shouldn't even buy it at $1, though.
This user is offline


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.