SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 54,531
Products 3,183
Reviews 20,510
Views 5,915,287

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« October 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Random Products -
[Aftershaves (Reviews)]


thumb_NM-12ES_mn_1_.jpg
SCS Bay Rum with a


thumb_Photo0214.jpg
Bellagio Aftershave


http://badgerandblade.com/reviews/data/42/thumbs/default.jpg
Pinaud Lime Sec Eau


gents_earth_science.jpg
Lev8 by Gents, LLC


thumb_Booster-Mosswood.jpg
eShave Aftershave C


captain.jpg
Captain's Choice Nor

· more ·
 



review2.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Bay Rum Bum
Posts: 2,212
Registered: July 2006
Location: Yucaipa CA

 

Aqua Velva
Reviews Views Date of last review
77 8134 Fri January 10, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $4.06 8.6

 

Description:
What can I tell ya ?

It's a classic.

===========================================

Ingredients

SD Alcohol 40 , Water , Glycerin , Fragrance , Menthol ,

Benzophenone-1 , FD&C Blue #1 , Ext. D&C Violet No. 2


===========================================

This stuff is dirt cheap, you can find it EVERYWHERE

it works great and it dont smell half bad.



My ratings, I hope make some sense.

PRICE at "10" means it costs next to nothing.

No Alcohol Burn at "1" means it burns like the fires of Hell....but only for a second.

The cooling effect then kicks in and feels wonderful.

Dries nicely and doesnt feel sticky or tacky.

If your skin is dry an ASB might also be required.

Scent is a "7"....not bad, but not my favorite. Lasts awhile.



In short....everyone should have some of this around.
Keywords: Aqua Velva

<<
Aftershave11.jpg Aftershave1.jpg

 

Author
rikrdo

Bay Rum Bum

Registered: July 2006
Location: Yucaipa CA
Posts: 2212
Review Date: Wed December 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 9
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 7
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 8
No Alcohol Burn: 1

 
What can I tell ya ?

It's a classic.

===========================================

Ingredients

SD Alcohol 40 , Water , Glycerin , Fragrance , Menthol ,

Benzophenone-1 , FD&C Blue #1 , Ext. D&C Violet No. 2


===========================================

This stuff is dirt cheap, you can find it EVERYWHERE

it works great and it dont smell half bad.



My ratings, I hope make some sense.

PRICE at "10" means it costs next to nothing.

No Alcohol Burn at "1" means it burns like the fires of Hell....but only for a second.

The cooling effect then kicks in and feels wonderful.

Dries nicely and doesnt feel sticky or tacky.

If your skin is dry an ASB might also be required.

Scent is a "7"....not bad, but not my favorite. Lasts awhile.



In short....everyone should have some of this around.

------------------------------
rick
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ouch

2903

Registered: January 2006
Location: NJ & The Fortress of Solitude
Posts: 44097
Review Date: Wed December 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 8
Scent: 7
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 7
No Alcohol Burn: 5

 
Currently using the Ice Sport version, but I really can't seem to tell them apart.



The notion of using Aqua Velva may be anathema to some of the folks here, but it works! For me, it's every bit as good as the 4X as expensive Proraso splash.



This shaving thing tends to get expensive, but it needn't be. A great, cheap one-two punch is Aqua Velva followed by a bit of Brut moisturizing a/s.

------------------------------
Director of the B&B Stjynnkii Membörd Dummpsjterd.

Badger & Blade- the most reasonable place on Earth.

Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ratcheer

Bruce Lee of Wet Shaving

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 3420
Review Date: Tue December 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 9
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 9
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 8
No Alcohol Burn: 7

 
I bought Aqua Velva because I saw it recommended by users on B&B. I was surprised at how much I like it. I especially enjoy the cooling sensation.



A very good product at a great price.



Tim

------------------------------
"Life is like this long line, except at the end there ain't no merry-go-round." - Arthur on The King of Queens
My Shaving Stuff
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tinzien

Moderator Emeritus

Registered: July 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 3020
Review Date: Fri February 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 2
Fights Razor Burn: 5
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 0
Efficacy: 4
Moisturizing: 1
No Alcohol Burn: 9

 
I picked up a bottle of Aqua Velva last week for the first time based on B&B member's recommendations and quite honestly I am regretting the purchase after just one use.



True the product is fairly inexpensive and has a very low burn with a high menthol cooling sensation but my golly does the scent turn to :9898: a minute or two after application!!! The initial scent is OK but once the alcohol starts to evaporate the smell turns into a stinky monster that I raced to wash off!



Unlike my bottle of Old Spice which costs about the same and does (your mileage may vary) more for me, the bottle of Aqua Velva will not be going into my shave rotation. In fact, the only rotation it may go into is the liquid rotating around my sink drain.

------------------------------
Seth
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Nick75

I do lunch with Springs1

Registered: July 2006
Location: Manchester, U.K.
Posts: 855
Review Date: Tue February 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 10
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 7
No Alcohol Burn: 2

 
I must say, I think this is an excellent aftershave. It can burn like the fires of hell when you first splash it on... this quite knocks you back when you first use it....but that's all part of the fun.... Some 5-10 seconds later you'll feel an awesome cooling sensation that takes over, which even puts the great Proraso pre/post to shame. The scent is fairly decent I'd say, and it does seem to have staying power in my experience. And it'll leave your face feeling like a million dollars, as it's toning properties seem to be very good indeed. Doesn't leave any stickiness, and considering the price, this is a must buy product IMO.



An interesting, exciting, exhilarating product... Absolutely superb.

------------------------------
Nick

Nick's Shave Den
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DMS

Beard Preppie

Registered: February 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 80
Review Date: Wed May 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 5
Fights Razor Burn: 10
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 2
Efficacy: 5
Moisturizing: 9
No Alcohol Burn: 7

 






Quote Originally Posted by Tinzien
View Post

True the product is fairly inexpensive and has a very low burn with a high menthol cooling sensation but my golly does the scent turn to :9898: a minute or two after application!!! The initial scent is OK but once the alcohol starts to evaporate the smell turns into a stinky monster that I raced to wash off!




I had the same problem with the scent after a few seconds, tried it a few more times with different shave soaps and creams to make sure I wasn't just getting a bad combination but unfortunately it was the same every time.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JohnD

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 112
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Fights Razor Burn:
Cooling Sensation:
Scent:
Efficacy:
Moisturizing:
No Alcohol Burn:

 
Whenever I shave on a day where I have work to do around the house or yard, I don't like to put on expensive scents. Doesn't make sense if it's going to be sweat off in minutes. One day I decided to purchase some of this stuff for just those types of days. As an aftershave, it worked well. Burned and toned. But then the fun started. I had no idea what this stuff smelled like before I bought it. I suppose I could have sniffed it in the store, but I didn't. This stuff is as vile and disgusting as anything I've smelled in my life. Worse, I couldn't get it washed off. My wife got home from work, came near me, screamed, and ran away. If I didn't throw it down the drain, I would have been divorced on the spot. She said it reminded her of a guy who works on the loading dock at her company. He constantly smears it all over himself. She never knew what the scent was until I had it on my face.

Well, all I can say is, if your intention is to drive away hot girls, wear this on your face. It will do it every time.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FrankB
Beard Preppie

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 78
Review Date: Thu July 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 2
Fights Razor Burn: 1
Cooling Sensation: 3
Scent: 0
Efficacy: 3
Moisturizing: 0
No Alcohol Burn: 0

 
It has very little menthol (nowhere near as much as Mennen Skin Bracer). If I don't use a menthol shave soap I can't feel the menthol at all. And the stuff really stinks and considering it's an A/S not a cologne, and cheap as dirt, the smell lingers all day and doesn't age well. I can stand a little of it now and then, especially if I'm going to be outdoors so the smell has someplace to go other than up my nose.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cubiculum

Lather Learner

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 60
Review Date: Fri July 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
Fights Razor Burn: 10
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 10
Moisturizing: 7
No Alcohol Burn: 9

 
I love this stuff



It's cheap, easy to find, and works very well for me. Smells good, but doesn't linger. Cools my skin and reduces any irritation. I don't really have a problem with alcohol burning my skin after a shave, but I would imagine people who are sensitive to alcohol would hate this stuff.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ajw1976
DE Envious

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 29
Review Date: Sat July 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 4
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 2
No Alcohol Burn: 1

 
Cheap and good. Easy to find. Wife hates the smell (says it smells like an old man). Burns, but leaves a cooling sensation. Can probably be found everywhere; therefore, this is something that I'll always have in the cabinet as a ready back-up.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
badgerman
Lather Learner

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 66
Review Date: Mon July 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 8
Scent: 8
Efficacy: 8
Moisturizing: 7
No Alcohol Burn: 2

 
Men, does this stuff sting! It is astringent and somewhat soothing afterwards, but I still need the balm. Since I always need it, though, there's nothing wrong with this.

Aqua Velva is one of the bottles I keep buying: I will try something new and then get this again. Never bores me.

The aroma is quite manly, somewhere between fresh and spicy, good for a windy late-summer afternoon.

At this price, buy one bottle, that's no big deal.

------------------------------
Mark
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CFMerkury

In M3 Remission

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 24
Review Date: Thu September 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 6
Quality: 6
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 4
Scent: 7
Efficacy: 7
Moisturizing: 6
No Alcohol Burn: 4

 
It's a very nice product! Thanks for all those that recommended it in B&B (not to me specifically, but so what?)



I imagined it would burn a lot more than it actually does. I wouldn't even call it a burn, a milder word should be used for it.



About the cooling sensation, it is fleeting. I don't know why, but sometimes it is there and sometimes it is not. Maybe because I am using it in winter?



It smells good, I like it, it reminds me of blue chewing gum I used to have when I was young.



It is a quality product. I can't assess how much it fights razor burns and how much it moisterizes because I use ASB after it. Even with that, my face doesn't get oily (I have oily skin) so maybe it doesn't deserve a 10 on moisturization?

Well, it is a fine product that has reasons to be this much recommended.

------------------------------
"The truth of a theory is in your mind, not in your eyes." Albert Einstein
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TimmyBoston

Back in Black

Registered: September 2006
Location: Indy
Posts: 20346
Review Date: Wed September 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 7
Fights Razor Burn: 7
Cooling Sensation: 8
Scent: 3
Efficacy: 6
Moisturizing: 5
No Alcohol Burn: 3

 
This is a decent product. It's not great, it's not terrible. It's available everywhere and nice product to have around. The price can't be beat, I picked up a 7oz bottle for $2. For the money, the quality is very high. It fights razor burn moderately well and provides a modest cooling sensation. Downsides are the scent, which personally I can't stand and the alcohol burn. I use an alcohol based splash after every single shave and this is the only product that I feel a noticeable burn.



All in all, I recommend this product. It's a solid performing, low cost product and worth owning.

------------------------------
Tim

HELP SUPPORT B&B

And malt does more than Milton can
To justify God's ways to man.
-A.E. Housman


Have a question, PM a mod. That's why we're here!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jon1944

I used more product..... and it worked!

Registered: October 2007
Location: My bathroom
Posts: 281
Review Date: Sat October 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
Fights Razor Burn: 10
Cooling Sensation: 10
Scent: 10
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing: 6
No Alcohol Burn: 5

 
I love this stuff. It reminds me of my Grandpa, he wore Aqua Velva and Skin Bracer, so those are my two favorite aftershaves. I like Aqua Velva best though, because I think it smells better than Skin Bracer. It really cools your face off and gives you that barber shop feeling. I think every man that wet shaves should try it at least once. And like others have said this is what a real man should smell like, not some overpowering crap from Calvin Klein or Tommy Hillfiger.

------------------------------
Awwww!!! Nothing like a hot towel....ooh, ooh, ooh HOT, HOT, HOT!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
greendyk
Gillette Tech-nician

Registered: May 2006
Location: Vernon, NJ
Posts: 573
Review Date: Tue January 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 5
Fights Razor Burn: 8
Cooling Sensation: 9
Scent: 0
Efficacy: 5
Moisturizing: 4
No Alcohol Burn: 4

 
I bought this once, poured it down the drain after one use, then bought it again, thinking I must be missing something after reading all the rave reviews. Well, it too went down the drain.



I simply cannot get past that (to my nose, anyway) vile scent once it dries. It's not that I don't like the cheapies. Among the aftershaves I use are AV Musk, Clubman, Old Spice, and Mennen. But to me this stuff just plain stinks to high heaven!!



Isn't it amazing how personal scents are?



John
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.