SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 54,577
Products 3,184
Reviews 20,511
Views 5,922,258

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« October 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Random Products -
[Razor Blades (Reviews)]


ladas.jpg
Ladas Ladas Super St


preshaveoil.jpg
Personna Platinum (


DSC06652.JPG
Ming Shi MP036


thumb_mefas.jpg
Rotbart Extra Dünn


thumb_IMG_1110.JPG
Gillette Super Thin


thumb_wp699745a9_0f.jpg
SOUPLEX razor blade

· more ·
 

» : 20511 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by princeofallthings - posted: Tue October 21, 2014 3:30pm [ Post a Review
thumb_ASLAV100_400.jpg

Views: 9035

I think this will be my last brush, until it wears out which probably will take quite some time

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Omega Boar #49 Professional" by michiganlover - posted: Sat November 21, 2009 - Rating: ********** 9.55
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 2:10pm [ Post a Review
GEMBL5_GEM_Blue_Star_Super_SE_Blades_1_.jpg

Views: 24

These were the first SE blades I ever tried. My initial reaction to the shave was something along the lines of "Holy s**t that's a close shave!" These blades do not disappoint, only falling short in the less than stellar packaging.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "GEM Blue Star" by PhillyB - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 1:55pm [ Post a Review
lucky_molle.jpg

Views: 2427

In my 1940s GEM Junior these blades worked astonishingly well. BBS after 2 passes, and cuts with zero effort. I can hear the blade "singing" as I cut but can feel nothing other than the weight of the razor. The price is a little steep, but since essentially all SE blades in this packaging are the same there are definitely deals to be had.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Gem Single Edge Blades" by GuitarDan - posted: Fri August 18, 2006 - Rating: ********** 9.67
Last Review Posted by georgio - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 12:58pm [ Post a Review
shaving_soap.jpg

Views: 6248

I'm very new to DE shaving so my ratings are a bit unsure . But I am pretty sure that this blade really stinks . It was a tugging affair from the get go , using an EJ DE89 . I'm almost afraid to shave with this blade a second time . How can anyone say that this is a sharp blade ? Or that it gives a comfortable shave ? I am mystified .

Rating: 3
Product Details: "BIC Chrome Platinum (Greek)" by Furex - posted: Fri August 24, 2007 - Rating: ****** 5.75
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 12:58pm [ Post a Review
BB878987YT564_250.jpg

Views: 19575

This was the first stick soap I ever used. The packaging is straight out of the 1940s or 50s, but if it ain't broke don't fix it. Applying it directly to the face and lathering with a brush from there seems to work best as all other methods over-complicate it. The smell is the best of any soap I've used simply because of how basic it is. Soap, plain and simple. It checks every box quite well and I would be perfectly happy to use this and only this if I had to!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Arko shaving soap stick" by rtaylor61 - posted: Sun March 19, 2006 - Rating: ********* 8.63
Last Review Posted by Folace - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 6:57am [ Post a Review
BB878987YT564_250.jpg

Views: 19575

As a zealot of the Kült of Kirko, my review may appear more like a plea to you; I may speak with my heart rather than my reason but it does not necessarily call into question the intrinsic value of the infamous Arko shave stick. When I started wet-shaving years ago, I used to hate soaps. The reason was purely irrational and with maturity and experience I learn to enjoy them more and more at a point where I clearly prefer them to creams. I also tended to give up bowl lathering in favor of face lathering, and this was where my interest in sticks grew on me. Besides, I have been a DE shaver for a long time and I am currently converting into straight razor’s. There were some glide issues that were not that much structuring with a DE safety razor that became critical with a straight razor. My first attempts were kind of painful with the blade stumbling over my hair. Arko shave stick changed literally my life. The lather comes out effortless and so quickly in the face and your brush will provide a luxurious and thick outcome. It would last for several passes if I had not some issues at keeping the lather warm (improving my equipment with a specific brush scuttle mug might be helpful solving that matter). The glide is truly awesome; I don’t have to pull any additional strength to feel the blade sliding along my skin. To me, the moisturizing quality appears pretty decent; at least it does not dry my skin at all. The layout is rather simple: a foil-wrapped cylindrical soap. What genuinely makes the product iconic is that vintage artwork with a stuck-in-time smiling dude that looks like a Turkish William Shatner doppelganger as Captain Kirk in Star Trek TOS, therefore the cunning nickname Kirko that already entered history. Much similar to the scent, the question of the packaging is quite polarizing: the delight of ones is the disgust of others. You probably figured out in which camp I stand. And here we go with the scent now. It is objectively odd –neither good nor bad– just plain odd, for anyone with a sane mind. The scent is kind of hard to describe with words: what comes the closest is an artificial citrus-scented detergent or washing powder. But this is where the magic works: despite its oddness, it is simultaneously a wonderful scent. Arko would not be Arko without that peculiar scent. I always enjoy sniffing it deeply, especially when the warm scent of fresh lather fills the entire bathroom after a shave. I admit being a weirdo but aren’t wet-shavers kind of weirdos themselves in the 21st Century? In conclusion, my humble opinion is that Arko shave stick is a timeless classic that should be included in EVERY wet-shaver’s den. Any wet-shaver should give it a try at least once in their life. If you have never used Arko shave stick, you have really nothing to lose trying it. The price is so inexpensive that if you eventually hate the product, you can still PIF it or throw it away with no remorse. All hail Kirko!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Arko shaving soap stick" by rtaylor61 - posted: Sun March 19, 2006 - Rating: ********* 8.63
Last Review Posted by tumblty - posted: Mon October 20, 2014 6:41am [ Post a Review
9824978.jpg

Views: 39

I have used this soap three times now since I purchased it. For the price, I have found it to be an peerless soap that offers good protection and is very slippery. I was able to do some BB on my neck area with my R41 and the soap kept performing. The packaging is very good. The only issue I have is the scent ( Barbershop) is average. I have a tin of the Lavender Lemon Grass that I plan to use latter this week and the scent in that seems much better.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Babershop Tallow Based Shving Soap" by tumblty - posted: Sun October 19, 2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by Wayne1959 - posted: Sun October 19, 2014 7:50pm [ Post a Review
birsen.jpg

Views: 10145

I have been using Cella for about 6 months. it is the only soap that I use. You can read the other reviews about this soap and know it is a First Class product.I face lather and do not need a pre or post shave oil or balm. I was traveling on vacation when I found it operates at whole new level with Soft water. If you have soft water in your home, I can see this as the only soap you would need. The 6 rating on the scent is definitely not a negative. Once left in the mug the scent fades and it becomes a neutral clean odor.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Cella Crema Da Sapone" by crackstar - posted: Sun April 23, 2006 - Rating: ********** 9.50
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Sat October 18, 2014 4:05pm [ Post a Review
thumb_DSCN4158.JPG

Views: 6169

I'm astounded by the quality for money gotten in this blade. These hold a spot in my top 5, beaten by very few. They shave smooth and last as long as significantly more expensive blades, getting 3-4 shaves per side myself. I would definitely recommend these blades to anybody!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "ASCO Super Stainless" by Stevestan - posted: Fri July 9, 2010 - Rating: ********* 8.60
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Sat October 18, 2014 4:01pm [ Post a Review


Views: 30

I was surprised to see there were no reviews of this before me. The standard story it would seem with these blades is that they came with a razor as a sampler. Mine came with my Merkur 38c, and were some of the first blades I tried. While they were okay, they only lasted 2-3 shaves per side. Nothing really special but perfectly adequate to get the job done.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Rainbow" by PhillyB - posted: Sat October 18, 2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Next Page »


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.