SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 55,387
Products 3,194
Reviews 20,559
Views 6,042,412

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« November 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Random Products -
[Razor Blades (Reviews)]


thumb_8549.jpg
Schick Double Edge


thumb_crown.gif
Big Ben Super Stain


thumb_Lucido_label.jpg
Zorrik (Vidyut) Sup


http://badgerandblade.com/reviews/data/50/thumbs/dsc00672cr.jpg
Super-Max


thumb_Extreme_comfort.jpg
Sputnik


Mouchoir_de_Monsieur.jpg
Laser Super Platinu

· more ·
 

» : 20559 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Wed November 19, 2014 1:20pm [ Post a Review
thumb_Sandalwood-for-Men-1892.jpg

Views: 4445

The only reason I even tried this stuff is because my grandpa uses it on a daily basis. I was surprised by just how much I like it, seeing as how most "canned gook" just does not work. This provides a decent cushion between my face and razor, and has a pleasant smell. I'm not going to give up my Proraso Sandalwood tube and Omega brush any time soon, but this is what I use when the brush needs a little time off.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Barbasol Beard Busters" by scarysharp - posted: Thu October 9, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by Many_Vices - posted: Tue November 18, 2014 6:56pm [ Post a Review
image1.jpg

Views: 34

I have been using Layrite's Grooming Spray for about 2 months now and absolutely love it. I know what a lot of you are thinking, that "grooming sprays" are just how manufacturer's market a "hairspray" to men, however, this is not the case for this product. I have tried Crew's Grooming Spray and this is definitely a hairspray, no two ways about it, but this product is described on Layrite's website as "...a light grooming spray, used in the barber shops to create a bit of volume and prep the hair during the drying process for a good dose of our famous pomade" and this is exactly what it does. Mind you, I never use this as a stand alone product. I have always used it on towel dried hair before I wet shave and then I apply pomade when my hair is fully dry after shaving. The pomade really does act differently/better when this grooming spray is sprayed beforehand. I keep my hair cut in a tight businessman's hard-part while keeping the hair on top quite a bit longer so that it gives me a nice amount of volume up front. Barber uses a #1A guard on his clippers around my temples and uses a tight taper going up. While I don't keep my hair in a traditional pomp seeing that I keep the sides and back really short, the top resembles somewhat of a pomp. This grooming spray has really given my hair a ton of volume on top and it has a great scent to boot.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Grooming Spray" by Many_Vices - posted: Tue November 18, 2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00
Last Review Posted by KnurledNut - posted: Tue November 18, 2014 5:53pm [ Post a Review
dsc00617.jpg

Views: 9999

Good value for the money, especially when considering its moisturizing ingredients. Good lather. Provides good slickness for razor. Scent is pleasant and not medicinal. My only quibble is that it's nearly impossible to hold when wet. Grating into a bowl would be a better solution.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Palmolive soap stick" by crackstar - posted: Sun October 1, 2006 - Rating: ******** 8.37
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Mon November 17, 2014 1:37pm [ Post a Review
thumb_Big_Ben_blades.gif

Views: 2467

In my Merkur 38c these blades are nothing spectacular. Pretty darned good, but nothing special. Where these blades shine for me is in my 1920 Gillette 102. Most new blades simply do not work because the razor was made when blades were substantially thicker. In this razor the carbon steel blades are right at home, making the old girl perform just as well as most new razors.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Treet Classic" by americanarmsdealer - posted: Sun March 14, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by dlaroe - posted: Mon November 17, 2014 12:53pm [ Post a Review
displayimageCAMIBGYE.gif

Views: 13364

9.5 rounded up to 10 for awesomeness. Williams was the second shaving product I've tried and its performance has set a high bar for slickness. I will concede that it can be tricky to figure out how to bring together the required product and water to get a great lather. If you take a little product, add lots of water and work it well you can end up with a lot of pretty but useless lather. However start with a well pre-soaked puck, take a wet brush and make a runny, soupy proto-lather on the puck then move to a bowl or your face and work in a little more water. You are rewarded with a slick wonderful lather and a great shave. It will be a little thin and not mounds of meringue. I find the more volume I produce the less slick the lather will be. I wish I could smell like Williams all day but that may be a personal problem. What's not perfect? It comes in a cardboard box, it used to be even better supposedly, there are products that moisturize better and I have heard there are some high end soaps that have the slickness AND meringue like lather AND are easy to use AND smell more decadent. I'll stick with Williams and buy fancy beer instead.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Williams shaving soap" by crackstar - posted: Tue June 20, 2006 - Rating: ******* 6.52
Last Review Posted by dlaroe - posted: Mon November 17, 2014 12:02pm [ Post a Review
184929.jpg

Views: 2276

This is a good all around cream easy to produce a good lather, pretty slick, a little harder to wash off than a good soap that provides a similar slickness. I'd been having problems with chemical sensitivities and saw this on sale. Its a good alternative when my face is feeling abused by other products or the elements. This no scent added cream does have the not-insignificant scent of the ingredients and that has been the only turn off for me. I added some essential oils to KMF in smaller travel tubes and that has really been awesome. I can have a strongly scented cream that I know I won't react to! I will add this to other products that aren't as slick but when added to a soap that is already really slick the superlather gets pretty goopy. I have better products that do a better job but the versatility, price and quick and easy _good_ lather make this a keeper. The pump bottle may work well for a shower or leg shaver but I find it inconvenient. I will look for the tube next time.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Kiss My Face Unscented (Fragrance Free)" by nationalgrantham - posted: Wed December 13, 2006 - Rating: ********* 8.67
Last Review Posted by PhillyB - posted: Sun November 16, 2014 4:49pm [ Post a Review
thumb_Sienna_Bath_Soap.jpg

Views: 18856

These are really quite excellent blades. In my Merkur 38c they provided one of the most effortless shaves I have had to date. They cut smoothly and cleanly. Yet there is something about them that I do not like, but I can't really put my finger on. Nothing really specific, but it knocks them down from a perfect ten to a nine. Damned if I know why.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Astra Superior Platinum" by htownmmm - posted: Sun March 16, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.57
Last Review Posted by Luc - posted: Sat November 15, 2014 12:59pm [ Post a Review
Vintage_Palmolive_Shave_Stick_1.JPG

Views: 73

I originally bought a German travel kit where you have the leather pouch, comb, DE razor, toothbrush and stick holders. There was no toothbrush, the DE was a no name German Tech type razor and I was surprised to see a shave stick in one of the tubes. It was used but barely. So, I removed the cap and took the label off (I took some pictures first that could be found here : http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/258838-Australian-Palmolive-Shave-Stick?p=3768749#post3768749 The scent, like most vintage shave stick, is now gone. I get some a play-doh type of scent. The lather on the other hand is A1. It's very different compared to the current production of the Australian Palmolive and event the Euro Palmolive. This one is much better. It's fairly easy to use and I would quantify this one as a top shave stick. It always make me wonder what was the original scent. It's closer to the Euro palmolive but not quite. I tried it against the other vintage sticks that I have. I used Tabac instead of the Sir Irisch Moos as I always found those two to be equal in performance. I think this one is a notch below the Sir Irisch Moos because of the scent. If you find one, yes grab it! If you don't, well, you could always go for other shave sticks that are equal in terms of performance. More on the shave sticks here: http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/310894-Shave-Sticks-Review-Project

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Palmolive Shave Stick" by Luc - posted: Sat November 15, 2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by Doshii_Tech - posted: Fri November 14, 2014 11:51pm [ Post a Review
thumb_shopcrabtree_2030_191303.gif

Views: 13363

My go-to blade. The best I've found. I shave every other day using pre-shave oil along with a soap puck. This blade gets just close enough in my Merkur 33C, and it always cuts through my rather thick whiskers. The only downside is that it doesn't seem to last too long; I don't even attempt a fourth shave. Considering I'm every-other-day, though, it doesn't bother me. I can get 100 blades for $26 at West Coast Shaving, and that's plenty good for me. I just hope they perform as well in my Slim!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Gillette 7 O'clock Sharp Edge" by OmegaEdge - posted: Sat November 22, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.60
Last Review Posted by Deltaboy - posted: Fri November 14, 2014 1:33pm [ Post a Review
shaving_soap.jpg

Views: 6412

A best buy blade.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "BIC Chrome Platinum (Greek)" by Furex - posted: Fri August 24, 2007 - Rating: ****** 6.11
Next Page »


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.