SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 53,081
Products 3,161
Reviews 20,451
Views 5,711,930

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« September 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Random Products -
[Razor Blades (Reviews)]


thumb_merkblue.jpg
Personna Medical Pr


Mouchoir_de_Monsieur.jpg
Laser Super Platinu


thumb_Floid_After_Shave.jpg
Shark... Oh the Sha


thumb_e91031636e10739d63cae1480699fa1a.jpg
Personna Israeli &q


thumb_1a4.jpg
Trac II Blades


default.jpg
Permasharp Super

· more ·
 

» : 20451 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by Unihiron - posted: Mon September 1, 2014 11:32pm [ Post a Review
41mH4KsVC7L.jpg

Views: 9

I like the fact that there are not a lot of chemicals in the soap. I have had irritation free fresh clean shaves every time. My razor bumps and skin have cleared up and get softer healthier with every use. When you use this with a good shaving brush and good razor, you will get an excellent shave. The scent is fresh and dissipates quickly allowing you to use cologne shortly after. I can't really describe the scent but I do consider it pleasant and light. There is still menthol or some other chemical in it that causes a "cooling/tingly" sensation when you use it. It caught me off guard but has become welcome and pleasant event to look forward to. Water/soap ratio is important. You can have a really runny lather or a thick paste like lather if you do not have the right ratio. Its not too much of a complaint since this is always easily corrected. Sometimes after using this soap and rinsing my face off the skin will be left a little dry. The right aftershave will correct that. In some ways it could be a pro because it washes off completely to prep the skin for the next step of your shave regimen.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Shave Soap Sensitive White" by Unihiron - posted: Mon September 1, 2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by Unihiron - posted: Mon September 1, 2014 11:16pm [ Post a Review
7124rANzFaL_SL1500_.jpg

Views: 23

As I start my shaving journey, I have been on the hunt for my first razor that makes me feel like its the one meant for me. Edwin Jagger always caught my attention because of it being different from the very popular (but well reviewed) Merkur. While there are many many great reviews regarding the Edwin Jagger razors, I never was attracted to their handles. A look on Amazon revealed that they make an exclusive custom handle that I really like in partnership with EJ. The handle is grooved and provides excellent wet grip. The razor itself is a 3 piece and shaves close and evenly. Right now, I'm using Derby and Bic Chrome Platinum blades to get a general baseline to measure the performance of the shave itself. My findings have been quite incredible. With the right angle (of course), I can get BBS in 3 passes with both blades. These are not the sharpest blades in my collection and I was really impressed with the results I got! In summary, this has a unique handle that is not widely available. This increases the added personal value of having something different. The razor has a very good and balanced weight and very slick and well done finish. The aggressiveness of the razor is (i would say) middle ground and provides a close but still comfortable shave. My personal score is 9.9 stars (because nothing is perfect).

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Kelvin" by Unihiron - posted: Mon September 1, 2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by Supa Smooth - posted: Mon September 1, 2014 8:02pm [ Post a Review
DSCF2815_blue-tip_small.jpg

Views: 5177

Using my Blue Tip Gillette is something I have only done once, and will probably not do again. Ok, I'm being dramatic. Because of my beard type (thick and coarse) this razor was not able to effectively cut through my hair, even with a Feather blade. Now that I have got that out of the way, I cannot say that I would not recommend this product to someone. It would be great for someone with light growth or thin hair. As far as function of the razor, it is one of the Gillette Super Speeds (well built, last forever, and feature one of the easiest blade changing systems ever built, TTO). It being a lighter razor, also makes it feel a little cheaper to me, but that is part of what gives it a more mild shave. When it comes down to it, it is a great razor to collect, which is why I still have it. I use a Gillette Red Tip most often, which I love for its more aggressive shave. As much as I did not want to say this throughout this review... YMMV.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "Super-Speed blue tip" by Trout Whisperer - posted: Mon June 27, 2011 - Rating: ****** 6.00
Last Review Posted by Supa Smooth - posted: Mon September 1, 2014 7:45pm [ Post a Review
thumb_yhst-16632634487019_2020_1096083324.gif

Views: 4819

I bought this razor at an antique store for $12. I bought a Schick Krona with it and they were both my first vintage razors (my first razor being an EJ3D Diamond Knurl). I quickly got obsessed with shaving and hit up all antique shops in the Norfolk area lol. I now have 5 razors, other than the EJ and Schick, a Gillette Blue Tip and Tech. This Red Tip has been my favorite of all of these. I bought the Gillettes to see if they pleased me just as much, but they are all too mild for my taste. This razor is in great condition after so long and operates probably just as good as it did when it was built. It is as user friendly as could be with the TTO, and balance is perfect to get a good close shave. It is a great razor, but I could not give it a perfect 10 as I still believe that "the one" is still out there.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Gillette Heavy Super Speed (Red Tip)" by k1rod - posted: Sat September 13, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.33
Last Review Posted by Maplobats - posted: Sun August 31, 2014 9:45pm [ Post a Review
BB.jpg

Views: 5004

My experience seems to be a bit different than a lot of people. I would not recommend this as a first razor. It was one of my first, and being so mild there is too much temptation to compensate by adding excessive pressure. After a number of less than satisfactory shaves with it, I stopped using it for a few months and used a number of more aggressive razors. I have recently gone back to it, and find it to give me a very nice shave indeed. The key with this guy is angle. You really need to dial in the exact right angle and then not deviate from it at all (another reason why IMO it is not that great as a starter razor) Perhaps some of the really bad reviews have been from poor products/batches, as a lot of things coming out of this country (China) have quality variance issues from batch to batch...or even within the same batch. Or perhaps I got lucky with a really good one. Or, I suppose most likely, it all comes down to (like nearly everything in this hobby) YMMV. BTW: I use it with personna labs and can get about 75% BBS with 2.5 passes. (3 passes above the jawline, and 2 under with a few touchups/buffings)

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Weishi DE Safety Razor Review" by jpweston - posted: Fri November 10, 2006 - Rating: ******** 8.33
Last Review Posted by Luc - posted: Sun August 31, 2014 7:44am [ Post a Review
erasmicshavesticks.jpg

Views: 16023

This is a classic shave soap IMO. The scent is very mild, light and if your skin can stand the lanolin, it's worth it. I find this product to be a good worker and it provides the right lather if you can figure out the right ratio product/water. This is the main issue for many shavers here with this soap. I would qualify it as more sensitive when it comes to that exact ratio(i.e. It's easy to have bad lather with MWF). I used the puck as is that I wrapped in foil as to simulate a shave stick. It worked very well but the melting bit was quicker than I expected (Oi, hashtag 3017...). The main game turner was when I took my Omega boar brush out. I normally only use a Finest brush and it works really well. I'm not saying that the lather was bad but the boar brush made the lather 1 notch better. Again, the whole idea is not foolproof. It's still possible to get a bad lather with this product. It was, somehow, easier and better to work MWF with a boar brush. Finally, a great thing that came out of this was to use the puck as a stick. No transformation needed. Only a minimum of time and a bit of foil to cover the puck . I will do this for all my pucks from this point (unless it's a croap). For a bit more information, please see the Shave Stick Review project thread : http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/310894-Shave-Sticks-Review-Project

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Kent/Mitchell's Wool Fat (MWF)" by rustyblade - posted: Sat November 4, 2006 - Rating: ********* 9.31
Last Review Posted by cmark2014 - posted: Fri August 29, 2014 10:45pm [ Post a Review
thumb_Floid_After_Shave.jpg

Views: 13051

Did not even finish my first pass with this blade it pulled so badly. at some point i may try another blade just to be shure it wasnt just a bad blade but not ready to feel that pull again. even if the rest of the pack seemed fine i would not buy these again, nor recomend them to anyone.

Rating: 2
Product Details: "Shark... Oh the Shark has, some fine shaves dear," by Topgumby - posted: Sat June 13, 2009 - Rating: ****** 6.30
Last Review Posted by cmark2014 - posted: Fri August 29, 2014 10:40pm [ Post a Review
thumb_WQG-003-2T.jpg

Views: 4390

very surprising buy such a cheaply priced blade but the shave was one of the most comfortable and close shaves ive gotten. a deffinite quantity buy to have pleanty on hand. Have seen them as cheap as 12 bucks US a 100.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Treet Platinum Super Stainless Blade" by SilkySmooth - posted: Wed May 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.20
Last Review Posted by cmark2014 - posted: Fri August 29, 2014 10:35pm [ Post a Review
thumb_polynesian_red.jpg

Views: 4039

first shave very smooth but only lasted about 4 shaves on average before starting to pull. I really like to get at least 6 to 7 shaves out of a blade. I would buy again but not a quantity buy. i like the yellows much better.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "7 O'clock Super Platinum (Black)" by deshaveman - posted: Mon January 19, 2009 - Rating: ******* 6.75
Last Review Posted by cmark2014 - posted: Fri August 29, 2014 10:29pm [ Post a Review
thumb_shopcrabtree_2030_191303.gif

Views: 12644

So far in my quest for a blade to buy my first 100 pack of this one stands out the most. My first shave was fantastic. very smooth glides across my face with no pulling almost felt like i had no blade in at all. tried in both merkur long handle and fatip grande. also used colonel conk bay rum and proraso green shaving soaps. I know ill be buying more of these blades in spite of cost, i just want to have some on hand so i can feel how great a shave they give.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Gillette 7 O'clock Sharp Edge" by OmegaEdge - posted: Sat November 22, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.46
Next Page »


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.