SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 51,967
Products 3,149
Reviews 20,386
Views 5,582,345

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« July 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Random Products -
[Aftershaves (Reviews)]


thumb_Limes.jpg
Lab Series Razor Bu


thumb_bluelinesplash.jpg
St. Charles Shave B


Aftershave11.jpg
Thayers Alcohol-Free


classan.jpg
Crabtree and Evelyn


thumb_SANY2657.JPG
Saint Charles Shave


thumb_Cooncatbob_BullMastiff_01.jpg
The Shave Den Subze

· more ·
 

» : 20386 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by imcndn - posted: Tue July 29, 2014 1:29pm [ Post a Review
thumb_polynesian_red.jpg

Views: 3898

I found this blade to be very sharp... but not very smooth. I read other's reviews that say they take 2 - 3 shaves to smooth out. IMHO, I don't want two or 3 bad shaves from every blade. Definitely good quality, but not a great performer for me.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "7 O'clock Super Platinum (Black)" by deshaveman - posted: Mon January 19, 2009 - Rating: ****** 6.33
Last Review Posted by Reevers - posted: Tue July 29, 2014 12:39am [ Post a Review
thumb_bluebeards-revenge-shaving-cream.jpg

Views: 3638

La Saponeria Artigiana - Sapone da Barba Vegetale alla Mandorla is a "classic" style Italian soap. Soft / croap - Yes! Almond scent - Yes! Reasonably priced - Yes! Great performer?... again a big Yes! With so many Italian soft almond scent-based soaps out there; Cella, Valobra, Vitos, ABCBA, Panama Boellis, why should you choose the offering from La Saponeria Artigiana? Firstly, I think the scent is better than Cella, which IMO is a bit too "sickly" sweet. I found Cella a fantastic scent at first but got tired of it quickly. La Saponeria Artigiana, has a much more balananced scent, the sweetnes is dialled down just a margin to make it a long-term favourite. Secondly, the price of this soap puts it between the cheapest soap (Cella) and all other soaps that are more expensive (from an EU perspective). Amazingly easy to make great performing lather and nice post shave feel means this is a soap you shouldn't overlook!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "La Saponeria Artigiana Sapone a Barba Vegetale alla Mandorla" by Wil Dorenbos - posted: Mon May 30, 2011 - Rating: ********** 9.50
Last Review Posted by Harry The Cat - posted: Sun July 27, 2014 2:52pm [ Post a Review
thumb_merkblue.jpg

Views: 15235

I just got around to trying these, and I'm kicking myself for not doing it sooner. I was out of Feathers, awaiting a new shipment, and found these languishing in a drawer. I've had 10 of these lying around for months, part of one of those "sampler packs" from some guy on eBay. Boy was I pleasantly surprised! Up until now I've been hooked on Feather blades, despite their cost. I've tried a lot of different blades, and nothing really did the job like a Feather. Even the blades that other people rave about just didn't get close enough and some left my face feeling like I'd gone over it with a belt sander. I don't know if it's my beard or my Merkur 47c that is so picky about blades. The first shave with these Personna blades felt every bit as good as my old reliable Feathers. I think the Feathers are just slightly sharper, but if Feather is a "10", these are a "9+". Two passes, and my face felt as smooth as it did the day I entered this world. No nicks, no weepers, no irritation! After four shaves the edge was starting to go away, so I reloaded for the next round, and it was perfect once again. I can usually get three shaves out of a Feather before I have to reload, so these seem to have about the same longevity. At about $0.11 per blade in boxes of 100, and with free shipping, this is my new "go-to" everyday blade! I still love the Feathers, but at four times the price (or more) I'm going with these Personnas until they quit making them!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Personna Medical Prep Blade" by ackvil - posted: Fri September 24, 2010 - Rating: ********** 9.73
Last Review Posted by MiguelATF - posted: Sun July 27, 2014 10:23am [ Post a Review
Elite_GroupWhite.jpg

Views: 5220

This was one of my first shaving soaps - a present from my wife - and it's lasted a surprisingly long time. It took me awhile to get used to its understated positives - a soft, gentle lather which seems to almost envelop my face rather than go on it - a delicate aroma - and a sense of treating your face really well. And though it was a present, it was surprisingly affordable - so price is a plus. Additionally, the metal tin it comes in works well for travel. All in all, a serious recommendation for a product that's not in the main stream.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Pré de Provence Shaving Soap" by Duggo - posted: Tue April 10, 2007 - Rating: ********* 8.78
Last Review Posted by RaleighJazzFan - posted: Sun July 27, 2014 9:10am [ Post a Review
trscm.jpg

Views: 36

The Real Shaving Co. is part of the Creighton's empire, which includes Truefitt + Hill. This cream performs almost as well as Creighton's flagship products, but without the frills. For example, even though "fragrance" is one of the ingredients, I didn't discern any particular scent, good or bad. It's packaged in a run-of-the-mill tube, easy to miss on the shelf among the flashier products. Face lathering: The lather is very moist. Adding water just makes the bubbles larger, so I wouldn't recommend using any water other than a damp face and brush. While this will never replace the experience of my beloved T+H No. 10, for about five bucks, it's hard to beat the value.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Moisturising Shave Cream" by RaleighJazzFan - posted: Sun July 27, 2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by Sam Eagle - posted: Sat July 26, 2014 3:58pm [ Post a Review
Logo60.jpg

Views: 12107

Excellent lather and nice scent - not overpowering. Find it to be very gentle compared to other soaps, would recommend for those with more sensitive skin.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "L'Occitane Cade shaving soap" by crackstar - posted: Sun March 19, 2006 - Rating: ******** 7.75
Last Review Posted by daveinsweethome - posted: Tue July 22, 2014 2:49pm [ Post a Review
b000c0nb7m.01-aduvtloqliaee._aa280_sclzzzzzzz_.jpg

Views: 9683

have two bottles just finished one and always carry one in the car cubbyhole. simple and smells fine. newer to wet shaving and finding joy in others now but will keep this too

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Nivea Extra Soothing Balm/Sensitive skin" by Jim - posted: Fri August 18, 2006 - Rating: ******** 8.41
Last Review Posted by Pocket Weasel - posted: Tue July 22, 2014 2:29pm [ Post a Review
floridawater.jpg

Views: 6199

I bought my first one of these back in 1988, and I used one as my only razor with no complaints for over 15 years. And it's still going strong, so they're more durable than they might look. Back in the pre-internet days these were the only DE razors you could find in the UK, so there wasn't really any choice (apart from a metal and plastic Gillette copy from Boots that ripped my face to shreds!) As a starter razor they are great. OK, they are mild, but they make a good transition from carts. The blade is covered at the sides, making them a bit safer. And the shave is fine. Like I said, I used one for years until I came across a vintage Gillette one day, researched it on the internet, came across this forum and fell right down the rabbit hole to more old Gillettes and finally into straights. I guess you can say the Wilkie was a gateway razor. It seems odd to me now that I shaved for 15 years with just one razor, but I still have a soft spot for it.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Wilkinson Sword Classic DE Razor" by Razorlite - posted: Sun October 15, 2006 - Rating: ******* 7.33
Last Review Posted by mcdig - posted: Mon July 21, 2014 9:22pm [ Post a Review
IMG_0716-1.jpg

Views: 89

I tried the Hyperglide Razor after one day's beard growth in the shower. I used no lather or soap, only lots of water. The razor shaved my cheeks, jawline and neck reasonably well, with no pulling. The reazor performed poorly on my chin, under the chin, and under the jawline. I had go over those areas with too many passes, resulting in some skin chaffing. This might be a good razor for the shower after your shave, just to shave any up missed spots.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Hyperglide System Razor" by mcdig - posted: Sun July 20, 2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Last Review Posted by imcndn - posted: Mon July 21, 2014 11:49am [ Post a Review
logo1.jpg

Views: 2172

This has become my go-to after shave. I love the cooling sensation. I love the scent. I love the moisturizing effect. I love the scent. It’s a great aftershave. There is a bit of a burn when first applied (which is nice) but it fades quickly. The scent lingers throughout the day. The only downside is availability. It can be hard to find. Definatley worth picking up if you can find it.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Aqua Velva Original Sport" by rafikz - posted: Sun July 29, 2007 - Rating: ********* 8.50
Next Page »


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.