What's new

Straight razor in some near future

I'd like to learn to shave with a straight razor. It's not possible at the moment because I am short on finances of any sort. The reason for this is, I'm leaving for college in 4 months. But it doesn't mean I can't request a whole set of things as a parting gift from my parents :). And in the long run(not even that long) I believe that a straight blade razor will save me money when I'm a college student. Not to say that this is the only reason I want to learn this awesome skill. I read the whole guide today to straight blade razors and I'm hooked. I want to learn.

I haven't shaved with anything aside from a cartiridge based razor so I would be a complete newbie at this.

I was browsing classicshaving.com and their offerings(the economical ones mind you :p) and am curious to the quality of the low end DOVO and TI blades. I'm leaning towards the TI for some reason. I was looking at "Thiers-Issard "Le Dandy" Black, 4/8". I'm also thinking that I'll buy a razorless set from thewellshavedgentelman so i'll get all the other things I need. I'm also assuming that the new razor will need to be honed by someone who knows what they're doing even if it comes from classicshaving.com.

So these are my tenative plans. Please feel free to tell me otherwise. Also, if anyone can point me somewhere to get prehoned razors I'd appreciate it also. Thanks B&B, this looks like a great community.

I'm sure others with more experience will chime in, but check out straightrazorplace.com in the buy/sell forum. You should be able to get a decent razor for a starter. That's just my 2 cents. If you go new, purchase the pre-honed option.