What's new

Safety razor to supplement straight

I've been straight razor shaving for many years now, but never bothered working on technique or trying to get a "better" shave. Started diving back into it recently with figuring out multiple passes, etc. The trickiest part is my neck, since the hair grows straight down right under my chin to my adam's apple, then swoops out and almost swirls around below that. Really tricky to get a wtg pass with a relatively long straight razor.

I've never used a safety razor before, but I've been thinking maybe I could use one just for the weird neck grains. Any general suggestions? And is there still a learning curve going to safety if I've been doing straight already?

I forgot to mention, I also have trouble with the adam's apple itself. Mine doesn't stick out that much, but it does stick out sharp, if that makes sense. That makes it hard not to nick it or get razor burn. Anyone else have that problem?

If you can shave with a straight, you'll have no problems with a DE.

In terms of your Adam's Apple, mine is similar. I pull the skin across to the left or right, and shave it alongside the protrusion.

For the rest of your neck, do you do a S→N pass? That is how I deal to that part of the shave most effectively. Again, with fairly aggressive skin stretching to flatten out the hollows.

Dave himself

Wee Words of Wisdom
I forgot to mention, I also have trouble with the adam's apple itself. Mine doesn't stick out that much, but it does stick out sharp, if that makes sense. That makes it hard not to nick it or get razor burn. Anyone else have that problem?
Take a gulp and hold it your Adam's apple will disappear until you get the area shaved.

If you can shave with a straight, you'll have no problems with a DE.

In terms of your Adam's Apple, mine is similar. I pull the skin across to the left or right, and shave it alongside the protrusion.