What's new

Newbie Hone Question

Newbie Here,

Been wanting to graduate from my Parker Shavette to a real straight. I'm between jobs, so I've been holding off, but as soon I get re-employed, I'm going to get a sight-unseen from whippeddog per everyone's recommendation. The question is coming...

As far as I can tell (from reading the guide on whippeddog) I have 3 honing options
1. Periodic honing (which I think requires some pricey equipment, yes?)
2. Continual honing (for which I would just need a "small finishing stone" or "fine barber's" hone, plus strop)
3. Send it out to be honed by someone else.

Here's the question: Given that I can't afford any pricey gear, could I do option #2? Get 1 stone and just do "continual honing" myself? Is that fairly easy to learn to do? If so, what would be the best thing to get, and how much do they run? Or if I'm going in the wrong direction, turn me elsewhere!

Thanks in advance!

I am not a honer, so I can't speak to the learning curve on honing. I may have to send my razor out to be honed, but that isn't a major concern for me (gives me an excuse to buy another razor) However, as far as a hone setup, Whipped Dog has a Norton rotation that he sells for $60 and he gives honing tips if you choose to take him up on it. Basically, he sends you a razor, you hone it and send it back, he then emails you with tips to make it better, then sends you another razor, and so on. Granted, his stones are cut down to smaller sizes, but they are big enough to get the job done and you can get a rotation for less than one new Norton stone and a lot less than a coticule or Japanese stone. Just something to consider.

Legion

Staff member
Yes, option two will keep you going... indefinitely, if you don't screw it up.

You could also keep going for a long time with CrOx on a flat surface like balsa, and that is harder to get wrong.

Yes, option two will keep you going... indefinitely, if you don't screw it up.