What's new

Honing service in the Calgary area.

Hi all, I am hoping someone can help me out here. I am looking for a honing service in Calgary (or within a couple hours drive), I've searched the forum and found nothing current. The only shop I have seen mentioned is knifewear in ingelwood, but not sure if I trust knife sharpeners to get my straights done properly. Any suggestions?

I have a Henckel model 87 1/4 with a tiny nick near the toe, a Friodur Inox 72 1/2 that has heavy toe bias that I think could be fixed up by someone who knows what they are doing, and a Le Grelot 6/8" that just needs a rehone.

Thanks in advance for everyone's time.

There's a guy on Kijiji Calgary that is offering his razor honing service. I have no experience with him, but may drop off two family hand down straights I was recently given.

Let us know if you find any other options!

I think I'll take one to knifewear tomorrow and see how that goes. I was also thinking that whoever barbers / hairstylists use to sharpen their scissors might be a viable option, has anyone tried that?

So for any brothers in the Calgary area that are reading this, here is what I found... Knifewear in Inglewood no longer hones straights, but they have opened a shave shop across the street. It is called "Kent of Inglewood" and is staffed by some guys that seem to truly appreciate the craft and participate in it themselves. They are a well stocked store with everything you may want to trick out your den; straights, doubles, soaps, brushes, stands, the list goes on. They have some cool bespoke art from a local iron artist, and even some nice battle axes, should the need arise.

They also hone straights, decent price for a regular hone, and just a little more if they need to repair your edge (nicks, chips, uneven wear, etc.). I had them do a couple of mine and will shave with one tomorrow to report back on the edge.

Last edited: