What's new

First shave back

Hey guys,

I posted this in the newbie check in thread and it was suggested to repost here as well.

Newbie wetshaver here. I have some decent experience shaving but took a 3 year hiatus with a beard and only edged with a buzzer. I’m a “butcher” for Costco (can’t break down a side of beef and truly only trim mostly stuff that’s already been deboned) so knives are kind of my thing. Only ever sharpened on a grind stone and have used tons of steels but prefer an F. Dick Multi-cut steel. I used to have a nice set of used Victorinox knives but lost them to an act of God, along with my mesh glove and my F. Dick.

I feel like I’m starting over, so I’m trying to learn as much as I can again. I’m extremely new to online forums so I have no idea where to look, what abbreviations mean, or how to “get permissions” to post comments in the buy trade and sell section haha.

Things I really want to focus on learning:
Stropping properly
Honing
And possibly restoration as a hobby

I’m working with a DOVO Best Class No. 95 5/8 Full Hollow Grind (if anyone knows any more about this blade, ie. type of metal, year produced, things of that nature I’d love to hear about it), a DOVO badger hair brush and an unknown soap from years ago. I also have some shave cream from Art of Shaving and another small tube I’ve had for years but haven’t used. I have trouble creating a good lather from the soap and tend to lean on the creams but would like to change this.

I recently purchased a Naniwa Super Stone 12k grit but have no idea what to do with it and am a little worried about messing up my edge. I tried taking a couple passes on the stone and it shaved a bit better than just stropping with my first shave back. I get an okay shave currently but I’m definitely not “shave ready.” Pretty sure I have a very small chip in the edge and some burring at the toe.