What's new

First experience

C

crank

After reading these forums for a while, I've built up the courage to expose my neck to a straight blade and hopefuly not tear it to ribbons- I can report that as of moments ago my cuthroat cherry has been popped!

With a steady hand, I put my brand new Dovo to work. Whilst it seems to be quite sharp, I would akin the shave to more of a scratchy feeling- pulling the hairs rather than cutting them. I have VERY thick stubble and wonder if perhaps if either it's not sharp enough or more likely it's natural and I just need to keep at my technique (yes I realise it's my first time :001_tt2: ). I considered getting my razor honed before using it for the first time, but living in Melbourne, Australia, I'm unsure of where to get it done seeings that I only know of a single barber that actually gives a traditional shave.

The best part I feel though, is that for the most part I haven't had such a close shave (on my cheeks, the rest was a bit iffy) in a long time. Granted it took me about 30 minutes and I'm not yet ready to throw out the Mach 3 yet, but I'm definately hooked!

Cheers,

Matty

here's a pic of my razor (minus the plaque) DOVO 5/8 black timber handle
proxy.php

You need to turn on your images setting in the CP to show them I think.

Your shave wasn't probably what you expected because your Dovo probably was not properly honed and shave ready...

Cheers

It really pains me to make the following comment, but here goes.

That razor is exactly the same model as one my wife purchased for me as a well-intended birthday gift.

Mine turned out to be a DOG. It was not really shave ready as I received it, and on top of that it was incorrectly ground (it bowed slightly upwards in the middle of the blade's cutting edge).

I have lots of experience with sharpening and honing, so I reshaped it and honed it up. Yet no matter what I did I couldn't get it to hold a proper edge so that it would shave comfortably.