What's new

Do you watch your money, or just buy on impulse?

A bit of both: I keep a track of all spending on the main accounts, we have one here, one in France and one in UK - an account I opened at Barclays back in 1977(!) They are fairly simple spreadsheets but I know to the penny / cent how much there is. As some of you may know, I am an accountant so not a surprise.

I do splurge from time to time, the other week I picked up some Tiffany earrings for the missus, I had been in the wine bar that afternoon and thought they would distract her... I do generally do a lot of research before buying things but once I have decided, I just do it.

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
Both. I spent most of my life saving for retirement. Most vacations were a couple of nights in a nearby state. Never had a car payment - my first new car was purchased after 16 years of teaching, and I drove it for 10 years (like all my cars). Paid the mortgage off early and always had money in the bank, never paid credit card interest.

Now I'm retired and fairly wealthy by most standards, so you could say it all worked out. But if I had it to do over again I would take more vacations while I was younger and most of my parts still worked. Aside from a trip to Alaska for our 20th anniversary and a week in Disney with the kids, it was a bit to spartan. I'm not scarred by the experience, but I think I could have done it better.

Does it irritate me greatly to see a glass of restaurant wine priced the same as the whole bottle in a local wine shop? You bet it does. But I'm taking a Viking River Cruise to France in May (our third one), and I'm spending money with absolutely no hint of guilt at my planned excesses. I just wish I had enjoyed the fruits of my success earlier.

I’ve had my same trusty 2010 Honda Civic for over 7 years and I still don’t see a reason for upgrade. That’s how I am with everything I own

Except shaving gear :biggrin1: