What's new

Breaking up Pu-erh?

I just ordered a cake of Pu-erh. This is the first time I have bought loose leaf tea that comes in a cake... I'm basically a fine tea noob.

My question is... do you guys generally break off bits of the cake as you use it, or break it all up when you receive it and store it broken up?

I should add that I plan to drink it daily and not store it for an extended period of time.

Thanks.

I just ordered a cake of Pu-erh. This is the first time I have bought loose leaf tea that comes in a cake... I'm basically a fine tea noob.

My question is... do you guys generally break off bits of the cake as you use it, or break it all up when you receive it and store it broken up?

I should add that I plan to drink it daily and not store it for an extended period of time.

Thanks.

Drybonz, welcome into the world of puerh! Your question is a good one. As with all things tea, there's more than one way to skin a cat. There will be no substitute for trial and error/success and experience. If you want to prepare a tea using all the old masters techniques, read Lu Bu. I personally don't feel tied to any particular traditions, except for respecting the tea and my guests. Even "techniques" are different between old masters, as no humans or preferences are the same.

As for your question, I'd assume that most here on B&B just break cakes as they go, and that is probably the most convenient. But depending on a few factors that may not be the best way to prepare a tea for drinking. The other way (done by all my HK friends), is to store the tea in a tea jar for at least a month, to even out and circulate the tea, and also enliven it before brewing it. This process can enhance aroma, and especially with older cakes you would want to mix the part that has been exposed to air for 10 years with some of the tea from the middle to smooth everything.